We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Ranked #393 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good location, near Xujiahui but tucked away on a nice, quieter street. Tacky decor, glass bathroom wall (why?), but room size more than adequate. However, terribly stuffy and HOT - it was cold outside when we visited, but the room temperature only seemed to rise and rise. Had to call the reception 2-3 times before someone was sent to our room to fix it. Room also smelled like cigarettes. No wifi in my room (not even if you pay).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heartquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Shanghai Tianping Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 67 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Trip date: Mid-November 2012
Length: Five nights

Tianping Hotel bills itself as a boutique hotel, yet its Chinese name (上海天平宾馆) belies the true class. A "bing guan" is at least one tier, if not two or three, below a full-fledged hotel, and this becomes apparent once you walk through the door.

Decor - Someone looked up "chic" in the Dictionary of Cheese and applied it liberally to this establishment. Marble, glass, and grossly out of place art bedecks the building. Pretty typical for an ostentatious Chinese hotel, but it feels even more conspicuous here. One thing that was noticeably missing though was heat. Most common areas of the building, especially the lobby, were kept at a brisk 17-20 degrees Celsius. The front desk staff wore long coats and gloves...The hotel was also inexplicably dry, resulting in waking up with cracked hands and chapped lips. We had twelve people in our week-long business conference, and they all mentioned the same thing, so it wasn't just me. There must be a very powerful dehumidifying unit hooked up to their HVAC system. For what purpose, I don't know.

Internet - No wifi available on the 16th floor where I stayed, though someone kindly left their personal network unlocked. Spotty wifi in the meeting room floors. Wired connection in room was unusable due to snail-like speed.

Food - Unbearable. I usually like Chinese hotel breakfasts, as the local fare is usually reasonable. Most of what was available at breakfast was inedible, even by bad hotel standards. My goal by the second day was to get the omelette guy to say good morning, thank you, or anything besides rudely gesturing at the line of cold fried eggs he'd made ahead of time to save him from having to do any actual work. For lunch, our party of twelve was placed on the seventh floor, in the ping-pong table room since the restaurant where breakfast is held serves no other purpose than breakfast...

English - Little to none, even at the front desk. Non-Chinese speakers beware.

Service - Breakfast wait staff is alright, taking five minutes to fetch a half-cup of coffee (I have no idea why they refused to fill up a full cup). The Egg Guy was downright unpleasant, and I never did get him to say anything. Business center and conference staff tries hard, but are not up to international standards. Not surprising given that this is a state-owned hotel.

For the price, the hotel is not good value at all. Though centrally located in the Xujiahui District, it is incredibly difficult to catch a taxi due to its placement on a small side street. There are high-end shopping centers within a 1.5km walk and decent restaurants and fast-food options inside, but not much on the street where the hotel sits.

Tourists, beware. Business travelers, don't expect a the fast and competent service you desire.

Room Tip: Little street traffic noise. Some rooms have recently been renovated. 15/F seems to have wifi, but...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dub L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at this hotel during my recent working trip. Found them on Agoda so I decided to give them a shot. Paid approximately RMB 400 for a night and was given a room without windows. Decor was decent, some might call it modern but I personally find it too Chinese for my liking. The rooms were quite clean and the toilet was spacious. TV doubles as a computer but there weren't any internet wifi connection given in the rooms. Only the lobby had them which I found quite annoying as I would need to sit in the lobby to download my emails and respond to whatsapp messages. Breakfast was alright. Had a wide selection of items. The hotel is located close to Xujiahui shopping complexes and walking there will take only 10-15 min. However there aren't any convenience stores nearby so getting knick-knacks after hours may be a challenge. No massage/reflexology outlets around too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandercritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

spacious room with ok decoration .. color of bath water is a weird color as blue .. breakfast almost the same but the location is good ...

Room Tip: somehow the kingsize is better decorated than the twin ...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kakunamatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Stayed for 5 nights in a standard room - which was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast were Chinese/Western and adequate - buffet range of hot and cold foods. We also ate a formal lunch banquet which was excellent.

Location is good if you need to be away from the city centre - yet it is only 5 stops on metro, and 10 to 20 minutes by taxi (20 - 25RMB) to Bund/Peoples Square/Yu Garden etc. Near the hotel is a very pleasant park, a supermarket, two department stores and two large shopping centres, a branch of Silk King.

Best thing is value - we paid about 450RMB per night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canary2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

We booked a standard room but when we arrived at the hotel, apparently the room we booked was not available and instead the man told us the only available room is the Superior Suite which cost like 4 times what we are supposed to pay for. Since it was around 12mn and we are tired from a flight, we grudgingly got that room until we get another smaller room (we are about 4 people). The Superior was huge but has seen better times in my opinion. There were 2 huge bedrooms, 2 huge WC, a dining room, a small bar and a living room with a flat panel TV, the promised computer isnt available... The bed is stiff and the couch looked like something out of a cheesy porn film. The following day we transfered to a smaller room. Also, on our last day, the washerwoman was banging on our door just to ask if we needed anything to be laundered- It was about 8am - and we went home around 4am! She was very rude! The breakfast is just pathetic. I wont be going back to this hotel unless I needed to.

Hotel is 11.5kms to Hongqiao Airport, 51kms to Pudong International Airport. Try to arrange a coaster going to Pudong Airport, and you shouldnt pay more than 250RMB. The cabbie who dropped us at the hotel from Pudong charged us 280RMB.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled on business
1  Thank usausaruke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
#170 of 5,111 in Shanghai
268 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#139 of 5,111 in Shanghai
318 reviews
Former French Concession
Anting Villa Hotel
Anting Villa Hotel
#141 of 5,111 in Shanghai
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#173 of 5,111 in Shanghai
188 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#69 of 5,111 in Shanghai
456 reviews
Xujiahui
Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel
Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel
#482 of 5,111 in Shanghai
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Tianping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Tianping Hotel

Address: No.185 Tianping Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai Tianping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Shanghai Tianping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing