We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Value!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel
Ranked #384 of 4,454 Hotels in Shanghai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I stayed at the Oriental Bund Hotel for 3 nights. Arriving from Pudong - I took the Maglev then Metro to East Nanjing Road and walked the 15 mins to the hotel (I got in early so had plenty of time). Found the hotel fairly easily and was able to check in early with no problems. The room was basic but roomy and quite comfortable. It had a plasma tv, free wired internet and I was grateful for the 2 free bottles of water a day. The hotel isn't particularly near a Metro stop but I didn't find this a problem - taxis are so cheap (make sure you take a business card for the hotel when you check in to show taxi drivers). It is very near the Yuyuan Gardens (which I loved) and the Bazaar - both of which are great to look round and find food etc. The Old Street is also nearby well worth looking down for souvenirs. It is also near the waterfront, which is lovely to walk down. I didn't use the restaurant or bar. The hotel was good value for money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canary1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    93
    45
    16
    6
See reviews for
23
43
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
140 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights on our Trip to Shanghai. Rooms are very clean and tidy, bed is also comfortable, my only issue was that the air con appeared to do very little, due to illness a lot of time was spent in the room and this proved to be a real problem.

From a tourism aspect the hotel location is good as it is right on The Bund, however, after exploring I wish we had chosen a hotel on the other side of the river as it is like stepping into another country. The hotel is situated is in a very run down smelly, busy-traffic area whereas across the river it is very modern and cosmopolitan.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ileftmyheartinTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for several days. Luckily my travel companion had been to China several times so we didn't need much tourist help from the front desk. This is a Chinese business hotel and the staff barely speak English at all. One of the bell hops was really helpful in trying to get a taxi for us. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Its in a great location by Old Shanghai, near the Yuyuan Gardens, shops and the metro. Shanghai has a great metro system! There are a few English speaking stations on the flat screen TV. I didn't go to the restaurants, but their room service is limited. There are a lot of outlets in the room. If you are familiar with China, traveling with or visiting friends who are, then you should stay at this hotel. We got a great deal on price. If you need tourist hand-holding and do not speak Chinese, do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moqt48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I've spent there only 1 night, but I liked the place a lot.
Hotel is at a good location - walking distance to the Bund, Yuyuan gardens. You might get a room with riverside view. The room is well equiped and I personaly have to say that I like the furnishings.
The hotel has an interesting atrium which you'll see at least at the time of breakfast, which was by the way also really good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed at the Oriental Bund Hotel for a couple of nights at the end of a 6 week trip.

Took a while for the Taxi driver to actually find it - so make sure you've got the address written down in Chinese - cost 160rmb from Pudong Airport. We booked the day before through Agoda and got a deluxe double room for £36 per night.

Check in was fast, if a little confusing. The room was really nice, similar in style and quality to more well known brands like Hyatt. Loads of toiletries, standard robe and slippers, big TV, sofa, internet and more buttons, knobs and switches than you'll need. Didn't eat there but there we're 3 restaurants and a bar which all looked nice. TV stations didn't work particularly well, but then I wasn't there to watch TV. Aircon and the heating worked pretty well and I liked being able to actually open my own window for a bit of fresh air.

The staff were helpful and courteous where possible but there was the inevitable language barrier - it is in China after all, but there's nothing that can't be sorted with a bit of patience. We checked out about 7:30am, took about 5 mins and the taxi we ordered the night before was already waiting there.

The location is really good for a few night stay. A lot of the major sights and shopping are within a few minutes walk. Bars and restaurants are a little bit further but there's always a cheap Taxi somewhere close buy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obliquegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

While the basics were all okay, the place is not geared to foreign visitors and the service is poor. There was a paint smell in the room; the air-con control is apparently there only for decoration since I was told that the temperature was centrally controlled and I should go and open the window.

The check-out procedure took an unacceptable 50 minutes. While standing in line, I observed a ridiculous Fawlty Towers style exchange in which one of the staff accused a European guest who was checking out of stealing a towel from his room. Neither he nor I could quite believe it was happening. The staff member spent minutes checking and returned to insist that she couldn't find the towel and that the guest should "go and find it". Bizarre.

The staff simply didn't appear to know what they were doing. If anyone in the queue had a flight to catch, they would have been in trouble.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
138 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Its a very good hotel in overall. The location is Great , its near Yu Garden , Near the Bund , and the Yu garden Metro station is 3 minutes walk. so its near enough to Nanjing Lu.
The rooms are Renovated , but a little small for that standard , but clean enough and modern. The breakfast Buffet is good at chinese standard and the staffs are helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
People’s Square
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Swatch Art Peace Hotel
Swatch Art Peace Hotel
#349 of 4,454 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#163 of 4,454 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
The Bund
Bund Garden Hotel
Bund Garden Hotel
#535 of 4,454 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel

Property: Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel
Address: NO. 386 Ren Min Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#88 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#207 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class:4 star — Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donglai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing