We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel of the Travelsphere tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Land Jiulong Hotel , Shanghai
Ranked #162 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Banbury
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best hotel of the Travelsphere tour”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Reviews for this place (now called the Greenland Jiulong) seem very variable, but it was the first hotel on our Travelsphere tour and we were expecting much worse. The room was spacious, well furnished and clean and the bed wasn't too hard. Very well located too, an easy walk to the Bund - although if you turn right out of the hotel you'll soon encounter the seedier side of Shanghai with ladies plying their trade.

Breakfast was OK, a reasonable Western style buffet. Did get a bit ripped off for the drinks at the welcome buffet on the evening of arrival, though, by far the most expensive beers of the whole trip.

The hotel struggles a bit for lifts - there are only three fairly small lifts, and as the hotel is a tower it can take a very long time for one to arrive.

All in all we were pleasantly surprised, we'd expected something far more basic and seedy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obarmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    132
    60
    14
    12
See reviews for
22
78
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We have just returned from a Travelsphere tour, staying two nights at this hotel. There were forty in the group, and the only 'complaints' I heard were very minor, nit-picking ones. Yes this is a budget hotel, but we were not planning to stay for two weeks ! The windows could be opened a little for ventilation in our room (not necessary, although we are fervent non-smokers), and we had complete control of heating and air-conditioning. There are almost always signs of damp in hotel bathrooms - after all they are always wet, and the power goes off when you remove your room key - as it should to reduce unnecessary energy usage.

Our room was entirely satisfactory. Yes the beds are more firm than one tends to find in the UK - but this is China. They do it their way - we do it our way. Both are quite right, and the bed was a sprung divan, not a slatted or solid wood, as you often find in other countries.

There is a bank of three Mitsubishi lifts - swift, silent and very smooth. It was patently obvious that they would be busy, so we allowed extra time to get to where we wanted to be on time. The lifts appear to go either up, or down. They do NOT change direction on a whim the way they do in the UK ! Therefore they are actually very efficient, and we never waited very long, even on the breakfast rush hour ! Even if someone presses a button and walks away, the delay is very short - you can use the 'Close Doors' button too.

Breakfast was the only meal we had there, and it was entirely satisfactory and comprehensive. Chinese, Continental, cooked (eggs to your taste in front of you), fresh fruit as in whole bananas and apples - what more DO people want ?

Shanghai has to be seen to be believed - both in size and pace. This hotel is entirely satisfactory, and if you have a problem with your room, and are polite and smiling, I am quite sure it would be addressed accordingly.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel - just remember you are in CHINA !

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed here as part of a tour with Travelsphere. This was by far the worst hotel of the tour and possibly the worst hotel I have EVER stayed at.
Our original room had black mould on all walls, the bathroom was covered in mould and the bath had rust marks running down the sides.
After complaing to reception we were allocated a different room that was only slightly improved, however the mould on the bedroom walls had been replaced by ink marks where a child had written all over the walls.
The room had not been cleaned very well as there was an opened shampoo sachet of a previous occupant on the bathroom window, there was also something disgusting on the shower curtain! This bathroom was again covered with mould.
During the evening a few of the tour group met for a drink in the bar, there were other customers in the bar who were 3 local men and two very young girls. The girls appeared to be very drunk and were falling and sat on the laps of the men, the men were openly groping these young girls in front of other guests and in full view of the hotel staff. One of the girls then vomited all over one of the sofas in the bar area. An unfortunate member of staff cleaned up this mess but at no point were these people asked to to tone down their behaviour.
If I had not been part of an organised group and had needed to endure this place for more than the two nights we were booked for, I would definitely had checked out and moved elsewhere at my own expense.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKLWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The rooms that were for myself and another couple were dirty, the bathrooms were damp with mould around the baths.my friends insisted on moving to another room but this was little better.We were a part of a Travelsphere group many of whom had the same problem.
The breakfast tables were not cleared, and left wtih food all over the table.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inside36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed there with three kids and have mixed feelings. Big drawback is that people smoke eveywhere. China is a smoker's paradise anyway, bur this was the worst hotel smokewise on our 3 week long China trip. Staff speeks little English, which is the general rule in China, but maybe even less than other places. On the positive side the gym was ok, and location is also quite good. You can easliy walk to the Bund. Great seafood restaurant across the street is a must (they have a huge "non smoking" sign on the wall, but they all smoke).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevberget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed here as part of an organised tour. We were delighted by our room: large and roomy, and the extras you could hope for, flat-screen TV, wonderful view, comfortable seating area complete with footstool. The bathroom was luxurious, with a bath and a separate excellent roomy walk-in shower. There were robes and slippers, and lovely toiletries. The extremely weird touch was the large window between bathroom and bedroom - luckily this could be curtained off when doing what we came to call a "curtain-closed job". The room was lovely and clean.

The staff turned down our comfy (yes, a bed in China that wasn't too hard!) bed and left chocolate at bedtime. Breakfast was the usual buffet of assorted things.

The hotel is very well situated - about 20 minutes walk from the Bund, and there are interesting streets to explore right outside the hotel.

I was delighted by this hotel except for one thing. Obviously there wasn't enough money when building to put in an adequate number of lifts. After waiting a long, long time one morning, we decided to use the stairs. These would also be the emergency exit in event of fire etc. After climbing down 21 floors, we found we couldn't get out at the bottom. The emergency exit had been blocked with large bags of cement, builders' rubble etc. Classic! We had to go back up and out through the second floor. In case of emergency, this hotel would probably be a death-trap.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Boraxwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I stayed here for two nights with my husband as part of our honeymoon tour around China.
Location is good, we walked into town and to the Bund and we could see the Pearl TV tower from our room. At night Pudong was lit up and looked lovely.
Our room was very nice, quite luxurious and we had lovely fluffy bathrobes. The was also a plasma screen on the wall at the end of the bed. My only critisism is that the room was quite narrow, so the end of the 6ft bed was quite close to the wall. The bathroom was lovely too, marble tiled. There seemed to be a drainage issue in the area though, as you could smell sewage in the bathroom and out on the street.
Breakfast was nice, with a large choice of Western and Eastern food.
We had cocktails at the ground floor lobby bar one evening, that wasn't cheap, but the bar was nice, very trendy and had a large fish tank.
On the whole this was a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellaz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#71 of 5,105 in Shanghai
254 reviews
Hongkou
Ocean Hotel Shanghai
Ocean Hotel Shanghai
#99 of 5,105 in Shanghai
286 reviews
Hongkou
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
#79 of 5,105 in Shanghai
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Kingtown Hotel the bund Hongkou Shanghai
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#167 of 5,105 in Shanghai
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Land Jiulong Hotel , Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Land Jiulong Hotel , Shanghai

Property: Green Land Jiulong Hotel , Shanghai
Address: No.601 Liyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanghai
#105 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#143 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Land Jiulong Hotel , Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms at Jiu Long Hotel give superb views of the Huangpu River or Oriental Pearl TV Tower, while letting you indulge in other in-room comforts, such as a spray-jet bathtub, mini-bar, and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Green Land Jiulong Hotel , Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiu Long Shanghai
Hotel Jiu Long

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing