We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in”
Review of Sisu Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sisu Guest House
Ranked #2,446 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I spent one month there and really enjoyed it,

Staff members were really nice even though they didn't understand english.
The reception was helpful and there were most of the time at least one person speaking english.
The beroom lacked of room if you want to work in it but despite this fact, everything was good. got good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank seb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Sisu Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you are a student looking for a place to stay for a semester, please rent a hotel for the first few nights and look for an apartment. You will regret staying in the Guesthouse for a long time.
I have stayed in the Guesthouse for a semester and I am not happy about it.
First of all, it is way overpriced for what it offers. Remember that you’re in China and that cash is king. Upon arrival they make you pay for the whole stay (whole semester), IN CASH..There’s no way you can use your credit card there, at least not for foreigners. At a ridiculous rate of 4200 RMB a month per room, you'll need to fork out 16,800 RMB for a single room or half of that if you’re sharing. You read that right, you'll need to give them 168 bills of 100RMB. How convenient. After all this you would think the internet is included..well it is not. They will ask you to pay 480 RMB for a semester. The internet is a joke at the Guesthouse, on good days it will top 0.3MBps. Expect the internet to fail for an undetermined amount of time about twice a day on average. It is slow as hell.
There is no WIFI, so they also make you purchase an internet cable.
Moving on to the room. I have to say that it is fairly clean, except for the carpet. You will only realize how filthy it is when you go in the shower and the water washes the bottom of your feet.
The cleaning ladies come in once a week to clean your room. Expect them to not clean the mopes from room to room and make your bathroom dirtier than it originally was.
They say there is a kitchen, but what they really mean is that there is an electrical heating plate and a sink. There is also a big refrigerator, which is always full, with rotten meat, milk and eggs. The first time I opened the refrigerator, I almost threw up from the nasty smell coming from the green gooey liquid dripping down on lower shelves. Each floor has a washing machine and a broken drying machine. On my floor, the washing machine broke half way into the semester and nobody came to fix it.
On to the staff. There`s only one person that speaks English and she`s not there too often. The staff is mostly ignorant about everything and really not friendly. For example, the night before a friend was going back to her country, she went to the reception and asked whether they could call a taxi at 6 in the morning. To which the guy replied that this was not a service offered to students. Seriously?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I spent 6 weeks in the guesthouse. It could of been a whole lot better. They don't speak English at the front desk. Its very hard to talk with them. They don't offer anything for your bathroom (soap, towels, tissue). The internet sucks and there is no Wi-Fi. The maid comes once a week and they hardly clean anything, no dusting, all they do is change the bedding and sometimes its dirty. The water sometimes comes out the faucet brown. The toilets clog easily and the drain sometimes smell like the sewer. The highway is right outside of the windows and so is the train. I had to get used to hearing it ALL THE TIME. There is a mini kitchen and mini fridge on each floor. No stove just a microwave and a hot skillet. The dryers don't dry so hanging your clothes up all over your room is the best option. The beds are really hard. When I first arrived at the guesthouse I thought it was nice until the third day when it set in how things were. I do not think I would stay there anymore.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank topnotch05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I spent about 1 month in this guesthouse and I'm not happy with it. The staff was busy, no problem, but either unfriendly or ignorant. If you have questions they don't feel responsible or better: they don't know what to do. Chinese speaking foreigners should try to listen what they say in Chinese to each other, might be helpful...

The rooms are cleaned once a week but you don't see big differences. So, don't expect too much comfort! The kitchens... don't expect too much comfort (and bring/buy everything you need with yourself!). Attention with your lingery, the washing-machine ruined some of my clothes. Try to wash by yourself, serious!!!

Good things: The view is typical for Shanghai but you can also see something from the Bund. They have telephones for different manners, one for the guesthouse and one for local or international calls. Don't buy telephone cards directly in front of the guesthouse... They have an own shop and hair-dresser. Not the best ones but they do have own in the house. If you have an ATM-card, you can use it in the lobby as well. I didn't test the restaurant but it is also difficult to get out something about the guesthouse, there is a small information gap (website yes, infos no... especially not in English).

The rest... hum.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kinga35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I stay here for about 5 month because I studying at Shanghai International Universities. Actually the 4-13th floor is the dorm for international student,the 14-18th floor is for hotel. I stay at 18th floor, got the single queen size bed. Maybe this is the superior room. The toilet is clean and the facilities at room is in average. Got TV,refrigerator, etc.
Because I'm studying here and stay longer(about 4-5 month) I only had to paid 130 rmb/day,the regular price is about 400 rmb/day.
Close to Chi Feng MRT station,about 10 minutes walk,close to Hongkou MRT station (interchange station). Nearby got a lot of restaurant, have a lot of choice of food (korean,japanese food, chinese food, snacks, milk tea) and the food is cheap.
If you want to go around by bus, in front of Chi Feng MRT station there's a bus station. It also easy to get a taxi in front of the guesthouse.
But the service is a bit uncomfortable for me. When you complaining about something,there's take a lot of time before they fixed what you complaining about. There's some of their staff is not friendly but average,its ok.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ling_meliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfonso D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Номера на левой стороне обладают более удачным видом Номера на верхних этажах имеют холодильник
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vladacanglong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Hongkou
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Hongkou Football Stadium
Hongkou
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Chifeng Road)
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Chifeng R...
#1,134 of 5,112 in Shanghai
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sisu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sisu Guest House

Address: No.189 West Tiyu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200083, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,446 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $46 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sisu Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 412
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Sisu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sisu Guest House Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing