We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The location is very convenient, 10 mn to go to the Bund and the walk is interresting. The lobby is very crowdy but always acceptable; The rooms dominate the Shanghai Streets and after the 30 th floor the landscape is beautiful may more by night. The breakfast is continental and huge . A lot of choice. A good compromise to stay in Shanghai.

Room Tip: With Bund view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GABRIEL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear GABRIEL J,

We are happy to hear of your recent experience with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We look forward to your quick return to Shanghai!

Have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    913
    225
    67
    43
See reviews for
261
443
174
1,176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Hotel is perfectly located close to the pedestrian area downtown, with easy access to the Bund and the Metro. Nice rooms with modern fancy bathroom. Lobby and Concierge are well structured to match the 5 star hotel. What I really found deeply disappointing was the personnel at entrance, in charge of managing the taxi.

On Wednesday 30th July at 18.10 I was sitting in the taxi and showed Jack Liu and his colleague the address and the website of ERA acrobatic show. They were not able to understand English, could not tell the taxi driver the address. I had to go back to concierge to get the address written in Chinese. Once back the queue for taxi was much longer, Jack Liu asked me to show the address, said "ok" and did not tell us to restart the queue. In my understanding since I lost my turn because:
1. he has unacceptable poor English to work in such an international hotel
2. Doesn't know one of most famous event in his town
3. I was risking to loose my show, booked well in advance from Switzerland
Only when the first taxi came he told us, even in an arrogant way "go back to the queue" so meantime we lost other 2 turn since more people came.
While his colleague was trying to understand Mr.Jack Liu was quite arrogant, maybe feeling quite powerful and strong treating badly a mother with her daughter.
I really want to protest with management of this hotel because of what happened and this employee behavior. Instead of being cooperative since we lost time because of HIS lack of professionalism, he was quite arrogant. As a matter of fact we were late at Era show.
I think personnel working in high level international hotel should be more kind and well prepared either in English or in their town most known attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristinaroccofoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Cristinaroccofoti,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. It is always wonderful to know that our city centre location was advantageous to you and your daughter during your time in Shanghai! We were extremely disappointed to learn about your experience in the taxi queue. This is most definitely not the experience we wish to offer our guests nor does it reach the standards we have set for our team. We have discussed this incident with our entire concierge team because we believe that this can help to improve the experience for you and all our guests in the future. We are greatly appreciative that you have brought this to our attention because it enabled us to address this incident specifically. We do hope that you and your daughter enjoyed the ERA acrobatic show and your stay in Shanghai, as it is a beautiful city. Travel safe and we look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai!

Until then,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

A huge hotel with hundreds of rooms hence difficult to get a personal feel. The scale and lift logistics make the experience of moving around timely and can be confusing at the outset. Rooms, (Executive Club Room) could do with updating. Mattress in room was slanted and very uncomfortable. However when I asked for it to be looked it the service by the Royal Club Lounge was excellent and they replaced it straight away. The Royal Club lounge itself is comfortable, with excellent attentive service, however the food is less satisfying in terms of quality. will try another hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Pete2105,

Thank you for taking the time to leave for us your feedback following your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. It is true that we are a rather large hotel, but we do continue to work diligently to provide for each of our guests a level of service that is very personal. We are happy to learn that your experience with our associates in the Royal Club Lounge was positive and that they were able to provide for you a more comfortable mattress. We have communicated your comments regarding the food quality with our Executive Chef and he will look into this matter right away. We do hope to see you again during your next visit to Shanghai!

Travel safe,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a VERY nice modern hotel. Comfortable rooms and great friendly service. I have stayed here a few times and always happy to come back. They also have good food with menus items to satisfy taste buds from all around the world. There morning Buffett seems to have something from all continents. Location is perfect. You are in the middle of everything and can just get out and walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deedeelbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Deedeelbennett,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback following your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. We are always happy to hear from our guests and most especially to learn that you enjoyed your time in the city! We look forward to your return to Shanghai in the near future!

Travel safe,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

A 5 star hotel, well worthy of it's rating, in the centre of Shanghai. Suberb room, and breakfast.
Within easy walking distance of the Peoples' Park -fantastic -and the local shops and cafes. In-house shop, and other facilities.

Room Tip: Higher floors have wonderful views and above traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Bazchic,

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai! Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai in the very near future!

Until then,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great rooms, great food. Perfect location - right on the main pedestrian shopping road in downtown Shanghai.
The feel was of a very modern and estangred hotel - lacked the personal touch that makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room viewing the TV tower, and hope for a clear day :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nokipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Nokipa,

Thank you for leaving us your feedback following your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. Feedback from our guests is what enables us to continue to improve the experience we offer our guests. We are of course happy to know that our city-centre location was of utmost convenience for you and that you enjoyed the modern design of our property. On the other hand, we are disappointed to know that you didn’t feel a personal touch from our team as we realize this importance of this and we work diligently on this aspect. We will continue to stress the importance of personalizing the experience for each of our guests because we do realize how much of a difference this makes for you and all our guests. We do hope to see you again soon in Shanghai!

Have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Le Royal Meridien is at a good location close to Nanjing Road, the Bund, and other attractions. The rooms are small and a little dated, but perfectly clean with great views. We had a room with two twin beds, which were surprisingly small beds! The elevators up to the rooms can be confusing. There are two sets of elevators from the street level lobby, and another set on the lobby level. Depending on your room floor, you can take the street level lobby all the way up to your room. On higher floors though, you'll have to switch at the lobby or another floor. It's a bit of a hassle.

The staff was attentive enough, especially the door staff who were helpful with directions and translations. Taxis are difficult to come by at peak hours though, so expect to wait or take the metro. The only little issue we had was with one rude front desk staffer, who seemed bored and uninterested in helping us with a couple questions. Nonetheless, our overall stay was pleasant enough. The hotel doesn't feel very personal, but all the standards of a 4/5 star are there. I would stay here again, but I would also probably check out other nearby hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear chris_butler_uk,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. We do have a very centralized location and it is always good to know that this is convenient for our guests. We are extremely proud of the views we offer from all points of the hotel, Shanghai is such a beautiful city! We hope to welcome you again to Shanghai in the near future!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#48 of 5,105 in Shanghai
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#63 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#140 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing