We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Business Hotel”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautifully designed and laid out. The executive lounge has stunning views over the city. The food is really good. Room service is excellent. This hotel has everything you need for a business traveler. I stayed here for two weeks and really enjoyed my stay here. Hotel is in walking distance of down town.
Food excellent
Spa - excellent
Rooms - excellent

Room Tip: Any room on the executive floors are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,



Thank you so much for taking the time and share your review regarding your recent stay with your friends at Tripadvisor.com.



We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall stay here with us. I have shared your compliment to the team and we look forward to seeing you again should your travel bring you back to Shanghai.



Daniel Aylmer

General Manager

Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    893
    218
    66
    41
See reviews for
251
428
173
1,129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The room was clean and great floor to ceiling window overlooking the Bund. Enjoy indoor swimming pool during winter. Loved scent while using wifi in the lobby. Great location 10mins walk to the Bund. Hotel bar at the top floor has pool however it is bit pricey and recommend cafe behind the hotel in a garden which is near the museum.

Room Tip: Higher floor room overlooking the Bund is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillgha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,



Thank you very much for taking the time and share your review regarding your recent stay with your friends at Tripadvisor.com.



We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall stay here with us. Thank you for recognize our convenient location which we take pride in. I am glad that you noticed LM01, the signature scent in Le Méridien hotels which was designed by famous perfume designers. The scent contains notes of frankincense, musk and iris, which vibrate around a central theme of cedarwood, inspired around vintage books.



The team and I look forward to the opportunity of being service again in the near future.



Daniel Aylmer

General Manager

Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at this property for business in June 2013. The king bed I requested was not ready when I arrived which was disappointing. The club level was a large upcharge so I took the two beds because I was tired. The room was fine and the English selection of TV channels was nice. They are all mostly business related channels.
I would ask that they include either or both of free internet and breakfast.
The buffet breakfast was nice and offered many selections.
The Italian restaurant was not particularly good.
The concierge was helpful. They are always happy to write down an address in Chinese characters to assist the taxi drivers.
The hotel backs up to the long pedestrian area. Be careful to not show attention to the many people trying to get you to talk. I was offered a lot of massages!

Room Tip: Lower rooms can be accessed from the elevators from the street. Upper rooms of course have a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,



Thank you very much for taking the time and share your review regarding your recent stay with your friends at Tripadvisor.com.



We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall stay here with us. I have shared your compliment to the Concierge team. But I am sorry to hear that the king size bed was not available upon your arrival. I have brought your comment to our meeting and work on improvements in short time.



I look forward to being of service again should your travel bring you back to Shanghai.



Daniel Aylmer

General Manager

Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel sits right on top of a mall on Nanjing Rd and is right on the Bund. There's so many shops, restaurants and cafes that the hotel overlooks, and the nightlife here is great! The room is a bit small, but very clean and one of the walls is completely made up of glass windows that overlook the city. Don't forget to swim in the pool and go to the breakfast buffet - the balcony outside the pool has a great view of the city and the buffet has SO much variety! And help yourself to some lemonade in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I was quite disappointed with this hotel, I just came from a Westin in Beijing (same SPG category hotel) where I was incredibly impressed by the level of service and facilities. Here I was disappointed. Our housekeeping was awful- at times they forgot to give us toiletries even though we clearly ran out! I had to call many times for complimentary water because after the first call, nothing happened. The check-in and concierge area are understaffed as you ALWAYS have to wait a while to be helped (especially coincerge when some employees would just go about their business - without any other clients- making you wait, which is not customer service in my book). The room is a bit outdated (but still clean)- but very very small. I stayed in room that ended with "24" - its triangle with almost no room to move around and ended up bumping into furniture many times (at night) because its just not properly laid out. The pool and gym are small but nice. Location is amazing though - close to subway and right on the main shopping street, fun to walk around at night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0rldTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,



Thank you very much for taking the time and share your review regarding your recent stay with our friends at Tripadvisor.com.

We are terribly sorry to have let you down on so many aspects. Thank you for listing out all the details of our shortfalls needing improvement. I have shared your experience earlier today and I will personally make sure necessary improvements are made in the near future.

The team and I sincerely hope this would not cloud your choice of hotel selection should your travels bring you back through Shanghai. I look forward in the opportunity of being service again and once again, our apologies.



Daniel Aylmer

General Manager

Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great views from the higher floors. Hotel room was sizable, but the layout was a little strange with the bathtub visible from the bed, and the sink in the room.

Location was next to People's Park and two, maybe three, subways.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezraulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with our friends at Tripadvisor.com.

It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your overall stay here. As you mentioned, the hotel is centrally located at the famous Nanjing Road and the metro line 1, 2 and 8 station is within 5-minute walk.



The team and I are all looking forward to the opportunity of being service again when you travel back to Shanghai.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had booked a presidential suite. Its great. Quality is amazing. Service is very good. Breakfast buffet is enormous. Its truly international. There is also a section for Indian dishes.

This hotel is right in the heart of business as well as intense shopping zone. There is a subway near it too.

Gym here is good too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer,



Thank you very much for taking the time and share your review regarding your recent stay with our friends at Tripadvisor.com.



We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you for mentioning almost all aspects that you liked about our hotel, we feel humbled to receive such a positive feedback.



The team and I sincerely look forward to your next visit should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.



Daniel Aylmer

General Manager

Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#40 of 5,059 in Shanghai
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#42 of 5,059 in Shanghai
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#118 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing