We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for biz or holiday trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #37 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good location for biz or holiday trip”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

First time stayed at this hotel. This is all could say about the hotel:

Location: couldn't be better as it is linked to the subway line 1,2 and 8 via an underpass beside the hotel. Line 2 will get you to Pudong Airport. The station name is called People's Square. Beside the hotel is the famous pedestrian shopping street called Nanjing Rd East. The hotel is surrounded by shopping malls, offices and restaurants. You can get a lot of local products at the shopping street.

Hotel: the room is decent and clean, corridor is bright. I was given a normal room but its good enough for a short biz trip. the bathtub and rain shower is side by side, toilet separated. There's a separate lift which serves between lobby and ground level. It's a busy lobby as its located within a busy street. Bed and pillow is very comfy.

Generally, I am very satisfied with this hotel as its so convenient. I will probably stay at this hotel again on my next visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Moomeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Le Royal Meridien Shanghai and for taking time to share your review on Tripadvisor.com.

It is such a great pleasure for us to know that your overall stay with us has left you a memorable impression. Yes, we are sincerely looking forward to your next visit in the future!
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    893
    218
    66
    41
See reviews for
251
429
173
1,132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall the hotel is good. Went with family of holiday. Great location across from People's Park and on Nanding rd. staff is very helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. But the food is over priced (even for hotel ) and average quality. The pool is indoor only. We used spa treatments -- good but not great.

Room Tip: Get a king room high up --- the views are great. Ask to face Pudong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_C_Exp_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to write your feedbacks on Tripadvisor.com!

We are so glad that you had a good stay experience with us. As to the food quality, I will share this information with my Food and Beverage team to make sure that we do enhance the quality and variety of food so that we can offer you a better and exquisite dining experience next time. Looking forward to of service again in the near future!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel has very nice rooms and you are located in the heart of Shanghai. I recommend to ask for a room on a high floor. The view over the city is fantastic. I also recommend trying out the bar on the top floor for a drink. As long as it is not foggy the view is spectacular. The breakfast is good and offers a lot of variety. I tried also the buffet dinner, however it was not outstanding. Overall a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relssog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor.com!

It is always a great pleasure for us to learn that our guest is satisfied with our hotel. We are proud of our location as well as the stunning view on high floors. Thank you for your comments and suggestions and we will improve our service to meet your expectation.

Thank you again and we sincerely look forward to being of service soon!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The room decor and the quality of materials used are both terrific (I may borrow some ideas for my next house). Very comfortable room in every way. I had an upgraded room on a high floor looking toward the Pudong area, and the views were terrific, especially at night. Plus, it had some extra room -- a sort of living room area next to the large flat panel TV. The closets in this place were stunning -- about the best I've seen among hundreds of hotels I've been to.

Staff are all pleasant, even charming, and extremely helpful. I want to make special note of the terrific concierge staff -- I wanted a custom made piece of Chinese calligraphy as a gift, and they got it done in less than 24 hours and at a very reasonable price. So, a big Thank You to the wonderful concierge staff!

The breakfast buffet is simply excellent and offered in a beautiful setting. Vast selection, and all top quality. Very helpful, friendly service, too. Very impressive.

The spa is excellent. Had a first-rate massage -- indeed, the entire experience was a bit different that I've had elsewhere, and thoroughly relaxing.

Location is very convenient -- right on the main pedestrian mall that will take you to the Bund on the waterfront in about a 10 - 15 minute walk (a very pleasant walk).

My only issue with the hotel is that the lobby is on the 11th floor -- so you need to take an elevator on the ground floor to the 11th, then switch to another to get up to your room (and, of course, repeat this process to exit the hotel). Sort of like having to change planes in Atlanta or Chicago. But that's minor compared to the extraordinary place that this hotel is -- in so many, many ways.

Overall, a truly enjoyable stay -- and one of the rare times when I truly regretted having to leave a hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room and get one one a high floor facing the Bund. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WheelsOnFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing review to share your feedbacks on Tripadvisor.com.

It is such a great pleasure for us to see a full score and thank you for your positive review! We are always offering high quality service, caring for all our guests with sincerity. Hope to see you again when next trip bring you back to Shanghai!


Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great location next to People's Square and the shopping precinct on Nanjing Pedestrian road with easy walk to Bund. Had a nice spacious room with a view to People,s Square, loved the generous breakfast and evening buffet menues. We would stay there again staff were friendly and accommodating but experienced one disapointment when realising after checking out on way home that a ladies watch placed in a toiletery bag (not in hotel safe) had gone missing.

Room Tip: Rooms level 30 and above with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on our hotel website. We are delighted to hear that you had an overall good stay with us.
I am sorry to hear of the incidents you encountered and apologize that there was no follow up on such an important matter. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly and assist.
I hope this experience do not cloud your future expectations of our hotel, and we look forward to you next visit.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Emelie Dolp is fantastic! Assistant Manager in the Executive "Royal Club" lounge on the 44th floor of the Royal Meridien in Shanghai. Always with a smile on her face and willing to help with any obscure request a guest has the nerve to ask. She goes out of her way to make sure her guests want for nothing. Always pure charisma. She makes the lounge at this hotel my favorite in the whole world.

-Nelson
Anchorage, AK

Room Tip: A Bund view room from a high level floor is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

For business this hotel have it all. Very well situated.
The rooms are spacious and they have a different style of shower/toilet/washbasin. Breakfast was very nice and if the weather is good you can sit outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with our friends at Tripadvisor.com.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the guest room layouts. The team and I are happy to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Looking forward to being of service soon!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#43 of 5,059 in Shanghai
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#40 of 5,059 in Shanghai
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#119 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing