We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for a budgeted hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manhattan Bund Business Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manhattan Bund Business Hotel
Ranked #604 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location for a budgeted hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is an affordable hotel with an excellent location.

But do not expect too much as you get what you pay for: rooms are small with tiny windows (some rooms are even windowless). Bathrooms are cramped that you'll find a hard time to turn around inside. The TV in our room did not work at all and it took their staffs half an hour to fix. Air always has a smell of smoke. I went there with my son and I had to call the front desk to make sure nobody was having a cigarette in the non-smoking area..

Overall it's a clean hotel. And location, location, location!! The hotel is conveniently located just 1 block away from the big Bun, 10 minutes walk to the nearest metro station, and a few walks away from restaurants and shopping malls. A good choice for short stay and low budget.

Room Tip: Call to reserve a room with window. You'll need it to let in some fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniferxu29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    127
    71
    15
    21
See reviews for
22
51
58
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Within 100 meter circle you reach The Bund and Nanjing St. and other attractions. The rooms are spacious being an old building, but the hotel lacks facilites. Clean, friendly staff, and location. What could be annoying, some men gather at the entrance promoting massages and sex partners for single men. So, if you are with your family, keep close to them, otherwise, you will be annoyed each time you enter or leave the hotel alone ! Breakfast is poor, but the roof top par where they serve it has nice views of the colonial architecture of the area.

Room Tip: try to avoid the 3rd floor especially if they give you a back facade view. The windows are directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JIHADMAKHOUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed at the Manhattan for a total of 6 days over the course of 2 weeks and I very much enjoyed my stay. The first three nights I stayed in a double which was 179 yuan a night which is about 27 dollars and it was well worth the money. The lobby was spectacular and the room was clean. The tv worked which can be tricky in China. They provided toothbrushes, toothpaste, soap, shampoo and expensive aundry service. The hotel provides concierge services and umbrellas which are a godsend during typhoon season. There is also a breakfast provided for 48 yuan which is expensive and a beer was 25 yuan. This hotel was perfect the second time around. We secured a suite at 74 US dollars. It was a beautiful art nouveau room featured in a magazine. The bathroom was beautiful but there were no views of the Bund. Very clean and comfortable. Location is spectacular. Metro is a short distance and Bund is close. Taxis are readily available.

Room Tip: You should ask staff for a window view and make sure the tv works before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelorisG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed during end of May 2012. Check in was a breeze in spite of a lack of reception warmness at the front desk. ( Low in P.R.) Our room lights were somewhat dim ( need upgrading ), though we got used to it. The build up of the room seem small, however this is to be expected cos ur in prime location. H/keeping was done daily and to our satisfaction. We didn't use the room safe, cos getting to open and close it was a hassle, even the housekeeper has a trying time showing us how to do it. ( Safe was not user-friendly ). The corridors was tastefully done -art decor. It's an old hotel but well maintained. Two PCs on every floor in the foyer, but the lights were horribly dim and that's the max! I had to squint my eyes, typing on the keyboards. Only two lounge chairs at the reception area, clearly not the place to laze or hang around.
Location is excellent, very near the bunds, we were there every night, just taking in the scenery and chilling out. Safety wise, there was noticeable police presence near every place where crowds gather. Felt safe and not intimidated. Just 5-10 mins walk to Nanjing Street ( Pedestrian Mall ) and to the metro station. Very impressed with the public transport. There was a metro train very minute. Fast and economical way to travel and wander around. A variety of food stalls, restaurants around, as you walk away from the bund towards the inner city. Shanghai is rich in history and the old buildings reflect the various foreign countries that had once " muscled in " on this city. A lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okayama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I think this is one of the best hotels regarding value for price in downtown Shanghai. The location is perfect - directly on the Bund and a few minutes away from Nanjing Rd. The style inside the hotel is a bit old but nothing wrong with that. The rooms are clean and the service is ok (Concierge was very helpful!!). The bathrooms are quite small but clean (which is the most important) and also more than enough if you spend most of your time outside in the city!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiperMaru2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

First of all, there probably aren't any hotels in this price class which can beat the location of the Manhattan business hotel. It's right next to the bund, and within 5 minutes walking of Nanjing road.

The front desk staff was friendly upon check in and the other staff I encountered were all friendly as well.

The hallways are nicely decorated and so was my room. It was a 2 person room, which was on the small side. There was one glazed window which couldn't be opened, but I don't see why you would want to open a window in a Shanghai summer anyway. The airco worked very well.

The bathroom is very small but there are plenty of amenities, as well as 2 complimentary 0.5l water bottles that were supplied each day. I could receive WiFi in my room which was reasonably fast.

The cleanliness of the room was fine for Chinese standards. The dry cleaning service was quite cheap and fast, although they failed to get some stains out of my shirt.

The breakfast is a bit pricey at 48RMB but there is a decent selection of food and drinks.

Overal I've had no complaints during my 3 night stay, and for the money I can definitely recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
2 Thank CrimsonNL
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

It's close to the bund, less than 1 minutes walk. the room is normal, but they didn't clean it very well, I saw some trashes in the bathroom but weren't cleaned for two day. Poor sound proofing, the guests in the neighbor room was talking all night and very noisy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
Swatch Art Peace Hotel
Swatch Art Peace Hotel
#328 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,433 of 4,971 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#230 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
The Bund
Bund Garden Hotel
Bund Garden Hotel
#714 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
People’s Square
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#499 of 4,971 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Bund Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Bund Business Hotel

Property: Manhattan Bund Business Hotel
Address: No.81-85 Dianchi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #604 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Bund Business Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Manhattan Bund Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Business Shanghai
Hotel Manhattan Business

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing