We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Ranked #38 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Liked the place, lovely location. They have a nice Business floor on the 27th floor with a very nice view of the River. Good place to do business. The hotel staff is courteous. The area around is busy with traveler but upmarket. Shopping around is possible by walk of 10-15 minutes. Its also good to walk around the hotel. We tried the Italian restaurant which was very good. Ben was helpful and smiley. the reception staff is a little slow at first but helpful, i think we were being attended by a mgmt trainee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NStar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the great views from our Bund view rooms. I hope you were in your room as the sun sets as that is the best time to see the Shanghai skyline come to life. As you have highlighted, the hotel is surrounded by a myriad of shopping options and access to the hotel is very easy via taxi or subway. We are also walking distance to many major attractions such as the Bund.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,057 - 1,063 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

One of the best hotels to be in shanghai. The metro is accessible from within the hotel so you do not have to walk out of it to get onto the metro. It was raining and I had to go to the airport. Just went into the new world mall from within the hotel and the metro was 5 minutes distance while walking underground. Saved a lot of inconvenience. The location is great as you are surrounded by the people's park on one side and the shopping walking plaza on the other. Staff is great. Breakfast is even better. Rooms are fabulous. I got a room suite with a microwave which eased my food problem since I am a vegetarian.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashwani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased you enjoyed stay with us and found our location, rooms and staff to your liking. As you have highlighted, we are directly above the metro station (3 lines), directly across People’s Square and surrounded by a huge array of shopping, entertainment and dining. We are also on a short walk to the Bund making Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World the best place to base yourself when exploring Shanghai.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed in hotel for 8 days. Location of the hotel is dream come true, right next to metro station line 2. Hotel is next to people square, so you can walk directly to shops, restaurants and even more near than in city center, in metro hall cross the street, there is many reasonable price stores and massage/nail studio stores where you can spend hours.

Hotel itself is luxurious. We took upgrade which meant, we had happy hour in top of the roof once a day. Alcohol, high quality appetizers, refreshments, free WLAN, all what busy business woman can need after hard day. Cherry of the pie is outstanding service you can get from any part of the hotel, especially from upgrade lounge.

Rooms, gym, swimming pools are all luxurious. Rooms has nice big comfortable beds, with outstanding view directly to the Centrum of the Shanghai. Bathroom is also clean, roomy and nice. Rooms are extremely quiet, modern, convenient.
Among others, breakfast is big and tasty.

We enjoyed totally of our stay, no bad word about the hotel. We definitely will come back. This hotel was totally worth of paying and staying.

Room Tip: More top of the hotel, better it gets. Views to Shanghai center are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kibsu30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I believe your review says it all about our location, hotel and services. I am very pleased you took up the option of our Business Class allowing you free happy hour and breakfast plus all day snacks in our Business Lounge. I am sure you discovered the amazing location of the hotel is the best for shopping. Centered on Nanjing Road, the hotel is in the middle of one of the greatest shopping streets in the world. There is something for everyone, from street side vendors up to the most expensive designer boutiques.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We went to the restaurant on the 45th floor. I had shorts on due to the warm weather. Not only where we refused entrance, the staff also laughed at us when we left. We talked to the staff at the reception to speak to management which was ignored. We would have spent several thousands in the restaurant during our stay, but will take that money elsewhere. Would not recommend this. We are staying another week in room 3206 since we pre paid for it, but will not spend another extra dollar here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank egobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I sincerely apologize for the issue which you experienced upon visiting our Epicure restaurant. The restaurant has dress regulations but as you highlighted to our Director of Food and Beverage, these weren’t enforced on your first visit. Obviously this confuses the matter and has caused you to be disappointed. I fully understand your frustration and we have taken steps to ensure the appropriate measures are in place to ensure it doesn’t happen again.

Again, thank you for your review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My first time staying at this hotel, also my first time to Shanghai, which I’m traveling with business purpose.

The hotels location is no doubt in the top that you can choose. With easy access if you have some time to tourist. Good access to the metro and Nanjing Road. Also the Big Bus Tour is right outside the hotel wich is a good way to see som basics of Shanghai.

But! To do some work at the hotel room with the super slow internet is very frustrating. Took forever to download a attached pdf file about 5 MB. That’s NOT OK! And the room are very speaces but have seen their best days now.

So I don’t think I will stay here a second time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FredrikAhnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased you found our location suitable for your hotel stay in Shanghai. I do sincerely apologise regarding the internet speed. We are currently working through a significant upgrade to our network and whilst speeds in China are at times slow, the issue you experienced does appear too severe and an isolated incident. I do hope you give us another opportunity on your next trip to show you the true level of service we can offer.

Again, thank you for your review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed again at this hotel last July for an overnight stay. Great hotel near the shopping area and besides the Madame Tussauds wax museum. Great lobby and very elegant. Service staff just average. Room is good, clean, spacious and big comfy beds and nice amenities. Great breakfast!

Room Tip: Great rooms. But i prefer to have mine on the upper floors to have great views of Shanghai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Abundance16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

As a regular traveler to our hotel I sincerely appreciate your support and your feedback is extremely important to us. As you have highlighted, our location in Shanghai is second to none. The hotel is ideally located on Nanjing Road, directly above 3 subway lines and only a short walk to the Bund. I greatly appreciate your comments regarding the room and breakfast and we will continue to work hard to deliver the best possible service.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed for 2 knights for business on room 2211. The location of the hotel is perfect for business or vacation. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are good organized with all necessities you might need. If you are sensetive non smoker make sure you point this out before the check in. Wifi is free and most of the time very fast. Breakfast is open buffet which is quite good. There is an internal pass from hotel to next door shopping mall New World which has lot of shops and food court.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank Adalki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased you had an enjoyable experience in our perfectly located hotel in Shanghai. Being located on Nanjing Road, directly opposite People’s Square and immediately above 3 subway lines, this is an ideal location to base yourself to experience Shanghai. Thank you for your positive comments regarding breakfast. Our breakfast offers a wide variety of dishes from both China and the rest of the world. 70% of the hotels rooms are non-smoking and we endeavor to satisfy all of our guest’s personal needs.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,751 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,159 in Shanghai
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#62 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,350 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#92 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $129 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing