We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Ranked #37 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

When looking at what hotel to book in Shanghai, we were overwhelmed with the available choices and heavily relied upon TripAdvisor reviews. The Radisson turned out to be a great selection. We got a really good deal on the rate by booking in advance through an airline website. Hotel is well maintained and clean, as was the room. Had an excellent view of the city. Really convenient location to the rail station. Staff was courteous and helpful. No one was trying to sell us anything (i.e. pushing tours, add-on hotel amenities, etc.) No surprises at check-in and check-out as has been the experience in other travels. In fact, we arrived a day late because our flight was cancelled and there was no problem in adjusting the reservation. If we return to Shanghai, we will definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cactusgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed stay with us and the hotel was flexible in regards to your change of dates due to your flight cancellation. As you have mentioned, the hotel’s location is very convenient on Nanjing Road, directly above 3 subways lines and a short walk to the beautiful Bund. We hope you also experienced some of other facilities such as our amazing Epicure on 45 revolving restaurant with 360 degree panoramic views over Shanghai.

Again, thank you for your positive review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    795
    182
    37
    31
See reviews for
282
439
157
863
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in May. Paid to upgrade for additional 10 Yuan a night to have a room on 31st floor with great views of the Bund. Room fine, big bathroom and an office area we didn't really use. Wifi intermittent.
Didn't eat in hotel but went to Sky Bar- thought we had vouchers for BOGOF drinks but only applied to 2nd round. Drinks pricey but view very good.
Scammers in People's Park opposite- ask you to take photo of couple then they ask where you are from then try to get you to go to tea room. Had breakfast at Jamaica Blue just off Nanking Rd which was good.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a higher floor with view of Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the great views from your room overlooking the spectacular Bund. With our superior location on Nanjing Road, we are only a short walk to the Bund as well.

I am so glad you experienced our Sky Dome Bar on the 47th floor with our talented musicians playing 7 days per week. This is a great place to enjoy a cocktail and wind down in the evening. Equally, I hope you have the opportunity on your next visit to try our amazing Epicure on 45 revolving restaurant with panoramic 360 degree views of the spectacular Shanghai skyline.

Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Shanghai.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

First time in Shanghai so I didn't know where I needed to be, this hotel proved to be in a place where I could access everything.

Although the hotel seemed slightly dated it delivered where it needed to, good breakfast and friendly staff.

I was there over Easter weekend so it was quite busy but this didn't prove to be a problem at all, although the only issue I had was the hotel staff kept saying just take a taxi, to be honest the subway was far more efficient and cheaper not that cost means anything when it's 60p a journey.

If I return to Shanghai I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank onthepiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. As you have highlighted in your review, the hotel has an amazing location on Nanjing Road directly opposite the People’s Square. We are directly above 3 subways lines, surrounded by dining and shopping and only a short walk to the Bund. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy our Sky Dome Bar on our 47th floor with panoramic views across the Shanghai skyline with its live music 7 days per week.

Your tip to take subway is a great one and they are very cheap, timely and efficient. I will speak with my Concierge team to ensure they also advise guests of this mode of transport rather than offer taxis which are also relatively cheap on an international standard.

Again, thank you for your positive review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Shanghai.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Staying in this 5-star hotel to end our 4-day family trip was a surprisingly welcome treat. As frequent travelers to other Asian cities, Radisson Blu manages to impress us all with its impeccable hotel interior design from the lobby to the coffee shop to the room accommodations, as well as its efficient hotel staff. Rooms are very clean and all details in the rooms are very well-thought of to meet the comfort of the guests. After having tried other so-called 4-star/5-star hotels in China, no hotel comes close to this hotel, which proves to be the most deserving of its 5-star rating - truly at its finest! The revolving restaurant on the 45th floor and Skybar were awesome! Dare not miss the talented Filipino band performing in Skybar, 47th floor. Hotel is perfectly located, overseeing the heart of Shanghai, very convenient to stores, restaurants, train station. All hotel staff are warm, friendly and helpful from bell boys to reception desks, to restaurant managers all the way to their GM Mr. Clive Murray, who's very visible around the hotel. What a wonderful hotel experience! Best hotel in China! Two-thumbs up to Mr. Murray and his team!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are the best to see the park or city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am immensely pleased we impressed you with great service and a great hotel product. Our team are charged with delivering our "Yes I Can" service philosophy and this is what truly makes the hotel so special.

I am glad you discovered our amazing Epicure on 45 revolving restaurant with panoramic 360 degree views of the spectacular Shanghai skyline. Equally impressive is our Sky Dome Bar on the 47th floor with our talented musicians playing 7 days per week. This is a great place to enjoy a cocktail and wind down in the evening.

Your words about myself are very kind, but the true heart of the hotel are our amazing team and I will ensure that your kind words are shared with them all.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samut Sakhon, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location.Shopping Mall's and restaurants all around.Easy access to subway and taxi's. The breakfast buffet is very big and has for everyone something. I enjoyed the small but nice Sauna (dry and steam) to relax and clean my body. Would without hesitation stay again there.

Room Tip: Rooms to the backside of the hotel may have the noise of the garbage collection in the night. Room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would without hesitation return to this amazing city.

As you have highlighted in your review, our central location directly opposite People's Square on Nanjing Road and directly above 3 subway lines is a great place to base yourself to explore Shanghai. I am glad you discovered the amazing shopping this city has to offer, and we even have an internal link to the New World Shopping mall.

Our fitness facilities you have mentioned also include a full gymnasium and large heated indoor swimming pool.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was apprehensive of my visit to shanghai but the hotel played a major role in making me feel comfortable. It is at a great location facing people's park - a lovely place to enjoy and relax. I was thrilled to be given a room upgrade - a beautiful corner room with separate study area which was very useful for me as everyday I worked late into the night. My office, shopping, eating, a walk at the park was all within a radius of a 10 minute walk. The hotel is very well appointed with all comforts. It has a shopping arcade with reasonably priced articles - convenient to pick up quick gifts. Overall a very homey experience in a very large hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susmita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. The Deluxe room you were given are great when you need that little extra space, especially when having to work late in the evenings. As you have highlighted, the hotel’s location is second to none. In the middle of the city of Shanghai on Nanjing Road, directly above 3 subways lines, a short walk to the Bund and surrounded by dining and shopping, this is the ideal place for a hotel in Shanghai.

Again, thank you for your positive review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Shanghai.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel was a great location to most places within Shanghai, our room had a view over peoples park which was lovely.
Our room was massive with a seperate office and dressing area, the bath was also lovely!

The Skybar although very pricey was a lovely place to sit and look over the top of shanghai.

We had an early morning flight and was very happy when they let us check in at 7am.

The staff never really made any attempt to talk to us but that was fine with us.

Probably wouldn't class this hotel as 5* compared to other hotels we have stayed in but still a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased you enjoyed our Park View rooms, and yes they are very large with an amazing view of People's Square.

As an international hotel, we understand the need to be flexible with early flights and if we have rooms available, we aim to ensure you get rested well before discovering this amazing city.

As you have highlighted in your review, our location is the perfect place to base yourself in Shanghai. Located on Nanjing Road and directly opposite People's Square, the hotel is a short walk to the Bund and directly located above 3 subway lines. A truly convenient location in the heart of Shanghai.

I do apologise for our staff not interacting with you more, and this is an area we should focus on to ensure we achieve 5 star hospitality.

Again, thank you for your review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,543 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#41 of 5,059 in Shanghai
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 5,059 in Shanghai
807 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing