We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Ranked #36 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Like I said, if you want a best location for your stay in Shanghai, this is one of the place for you. Metro station is accross the street, so is the Day tour bus and abundant bus stops around the hotel. Night shopping and the Bund is to your left in East Nanjing and to the right is West Nanjing. There is 24hr bakery about 50m from the hotel, so it's nice you have a late night craving. There is also Madame Tussaud next door for you to explore.

Apart of that, the hotel room is just okay, I seen better 5-star hotel with the same price range. The concierge team are nice and pretty helpful to assist your needs, but they need to work more on receptionist area... not sure to put unanttended trainee staff as receptionist during busy check-in time is a good idea. l'd have a little trouble to communicate my needs with her limited english and knowledge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyco_igoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,235)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 2,235 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great service from all the staff, clean and accommodating rooms, fantastic location. It was perfect for my two week business trip. The concierge was extremely helpful in always writing where we needed to go in Chinese on a card for us, and everyone was very friendly. The (included!) breakfast was beyond expectation with everything you could possibly want to eat. Amazing top floor bar with good service - although the nightly entertainment was a little interesting. Only downside was the food from the rotating restaurant, you can do way better outside the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krissy2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very nice hotel in the right location for exploring Shanghai. I stayed in a room in the tower. Very good, I think it was an upgrade, I had a small office as you walked in and then a large bedroom with ensuite. You get free wifi, robes and slippers. Shower is big enough for 2!. plenty of space in the bedroom. The hotel has a rotating restaurant at the top of the tower and bar. Excellent fitness suite and pool. There are other restaurants and a lobby cafe. It is located right next to the main shopping district of E Nanjing Road and adjacent to People's Park metro. You can walk to the Bund waterfront in 15-20 minutes depending on the crowds. Lots of shops and places to eat. Single guys watch out, I got propositioned many times for sexy massage. If it is your thing okay. But you soon spot them and a hand up saying bushi bushi stops their banter. That means no no. Back to the hotel you can buy gifts at reasonable prices. I bought 2 silk scarves for about €12 or £10. The only thing I did not realise was that when I booked the hotel I had not chosen breakfast. This was 200Yaun, or about £22 so I did not bother. There are plenty of places to get food nearby. Overall, it was great value for money for a top class hotel, at around £110 per night. Great location and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardopronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Radisson

100 %Satisfaction guaranteed.

At first I thought seriously ? But while staying for business and pleasure and take what a hotel should provide it sure does it well.

Check in
As you'd expect nice and simple. Luggage arrived in the room after 5-10 mins.


Room
I had an executive room on the 28th floor. Nice spacious room with a study area, TV, Tea area. Good size bathroom. Overall a big room. Clean and well kitted out. Sleep quality is good meaning no noise and nice soft bed.

Breakfast
As you'd expect in 5 star hotel. Food quality is good; with a great selection of choice. Staff very attentive and on the ball.

Sky Bar
Well worth the visit; great live music. Really nice way to unwind and chill. Great views and service.

Staff
People generally are nice in China. And all of the go the extra mile. "Sky" at the concierge desk was very helpful in getting taxis this guy was a hard worker. "Apple" from the spa gave a very good massage and does go the extra mile to make you feel relaxed.

Excellent staff who are committed to providing 100% Satisfaction.

Spa
Didn’t use the pool. But the facilities are good and a little expensive. Good facilities. The service was very good from a lady called “Apple”.

Location
Great location
Taxis are cheap. Only big downside is outside you have “Nasty men” offering you cheap massage services etc. The hotel should do something and get rid of these nasty people. A friend took up the massage offer and got really stunned in a nasty way.


Overall.
I highly recommend this hotel; location is good; staff is excellent; service is excellent; truly 100% Satisfaction guaranteed.

Room Tip: Try getting a room with the Peoples park view. Also do use the SPA massage facilities. Get a lad...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am living in Shanghai for a few months and dividing my time between this hotel (Friday, Saturday, Sunday and public holiday nights) and the Radisson Century Park in Century Park (closer to work) - 7 weeks in, it's time for a review (of both). There is no comparison between the standards and level of service between the two hotels in the same chain. Each Friday, i look forward to returning and am always sorry to leave on a Monday.

Radisson New World is perfectly located right on busy People's Square, within an easy walk of many of Shanghai's main tourist sights, main shopping streets and some excellent restaurants (though to be honest most good restaurants are in the nearby French Concession, a quick and inexpensive taxi ride away - or a decent walk if you're up to it during the day.) Only downside is fending off the touts as you walk out the door, but ignore them (or pretend you don't speak English) and they'll quickly give up.

Service in the hotel is excellent - reception, (concierge in particular) and in the breakfast room. Check in is almost always hassle free and quick and with a smile. Housekeeping and the breakfast team are always courteous and obliging, as are the team at the gym - and seem sincere in their effort to please - for instance, housekeeping offering that extra bottle of water or an extra chocolate. The concierge team and guys at the door deserve special mention for being (without exception) so friendly, attentive and helpful - ready to grab a bag, recommend restaurants, both close by and in the French Concession, write in Chinese addresses and direction for taxi drivers, week in and week out for me.

It is worth noting that the staff here both speak and understand English, which makes things so much easier, in contrast to other places, where basic English is spoken - but not really understood.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well cleaned - king beds, multiple pillows and duvets super comfortable, bed is turned down nightly with chocolates and a newspaper each morning - all small touches, but appreciated. Rooms on the upper floors offer fantastic views over Shanghai - on the days that it is clear enough to see more than a few hundred metres!

Breakfast is a buffet with a wide selection of hot and cold choices, fruit, cereals, breads, pastries and made to order omelettes, some Asian choices along with other hot (and cold) options in a nice (large setting) - service is attentive. Coffee is also made to order and is acceptable. Tables by the windows are particularly nice.

The gym is good (once you've found it on the 8th floor!) and has a good selection of machines - no external windows, but that's no big deal in the scheme of things.

Living in hotels for several months has its challenges and I have appreciated that this particular hotel (and its staff) from the outset have been so welcoming on my return each week (and throughout my stay) and the rooms so comfortable.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Shanghai for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is in a great position as noted by previous posts. The room was clean, comfortable and a reasonable size. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was ok with a reasonable selection. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank min_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is at the inter junction of West and East Nanjing road. You can't have a better location if you plan to stay in the Puxi area of Shanghai. No complaints about the hotel. Very good and neat room. Excellent staff.
Sky dome bar on the top floor is a bit disappointing but if any Indian is staying there he should definitely try the veg Indian platter. It's better than what we get in India.
I would definitely stay there when I go to shanghai next time

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Kshitiz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,664 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#51 of 5,112 in Shanghai
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,298 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,112 in Shanghai
834 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#106 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $132 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing