We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in shanghai ”
Review of The Bund Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bund Hotel
Ranked #124 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel from oct 19 to oct 30 / 2013
In general it's a prefect place to stay
Good location
Very clean
Close to market
Staff very nice
Room comfortable
Easy to reach it
Close to nanjing road
Close to subway
Free internet wifi in the room
Daily top room cleaning


I will stay in it again

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank alishajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 575 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

Maybe all of the city rooms here are loud but it was hard to adjust to the noise level here. The rooms are clean and spacious and breakfast was ok. Beds were crazy hard and the a/c didn't help much, just opening the window was better minus the smog. The pedestrian road and the Bund are both easy walking distance, as is the shanghai museum.

Room Tip: Higher floors to clear the lobby noise; beds are hard so be prepared!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JspencerCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at The Bund hotel recently. We originally booked for 3 nights but due to a family emergency we had to leave a day early. Not only would they not give us any of our money back they laughed at out situation! We had to quickly change our flights which we tried to explain which they for some reason found amusing!!

To add to this the two nights which we did stay we got woken up at 7am by deliveries outside our hotel room, which we complained about and again got laughed at!

I would not recommend anyone to stay here, worst service I have ever experienced!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Jess_E_127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Maybe I was spoiled because I had an upgrade but the hotel is first class, with easy reach of People Square Metro Station, the main shopping areas and of course The Bund riverside is within easy walking distance, don't leave it too late if your walking alone though unless your looking for certain 'services'

Room Tip: I'm not sure about other rooms I was on the 16 floor but the Air Con was like a whisper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel has improved on the issues pointed out during the last stay i.e. the mongers outside offering massage do not exist any more. It feels a lot more safer now.The rooms are brilliant and the bathroom huge. Breakfast is a feast for non vegetarians however vegetarians are still left without any choice.Dont waste time with the rude receptionist but head straight to the highly helpful concierge. Concierge is smarter than the receptionist. Location is amazing with proximity to People square,Bund,Metro station etc. Dont forget to have one meal at Paris Baguet right opposite the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aman-Tekriwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As others have said, the location is convenient to walk the pedestrian shopping street. The hotel itself has large marble lobby. Room decor is pleasant. Bathroom was huge. As with most asian beds...very, very hard. Breakfast was good. Plenty of options, to order eggs, breads, meats, asian dishes. Service was sporatic. Hotels are never as clean as you would like, but we did not have a bad experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjjj43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Bund was the final hotel in our 2 week visit to China.
In comparison with our experiences in previous hotels, it was, quite frankly, disappointing.
In it's favor, the hotel is well located with respect to the main sights in Shanghai and does retain much of its original art deco elegance but, when you get to the rooms that "elegance" has definitely faded. We failed miserably in getting the hotel to sort out the saturated carpet outside the bathroom that we found when we arrived. The mattress on the bed was so hard that a Fakir would have felt completely at home (Aside from the lack of nails)
In itself that would not have been sufficient to warrant this poor review.... however, with the exception of one or two individuals, the attitude of the staff certainly does,
Their attitude was uniformly aloof and arrogant - bordering on downright rude. The serving staff at breakfast, whether it be the waiters or the "omelette chef", carried the art of ignoring guests to new heights - attracting their attention to get tea became a battle of wills.
The bar staff in the lounge bar were likewise surly and obviously felt that they were doing us a favour in serving us.
Location, price and decor notwithstanding, we wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H2038PKbrianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#159 of 5,160 in Shanghai
749 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,160 in Shanghai
872 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#151 of 5,160 in Shanghai
361 reviews
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#205 of 5,160 in Shanghai
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bund Hotel

Address: No.525 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $72 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bund Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing