We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near shops”
Review of The Bund Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bund Hotel
Ranked #119 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Aldershot
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel near shops”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This is good hotel near shopping mall with nice staff. We only ate here one evening in the bar but the clun sandwich was good value for money, Would recommend for comfortable stay. The room was excellent

Room Tip: As with a lot of hotels in China it can be difficult to communicate your needs due to language barri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shotsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    254
    119
    30
    30
See reviews for
70
142
60
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Everytime I come to Shanghai I stay at this hotel. It is very well located in Downtown Shaghai and it is very easy to get anywhere from the hotel.

Rooms are large and the Breakfast buffet is quite OK. Reception staff is professional and competent.

I would even consider it for leisure visits to Shanghai, even with kids.

It is affordable as well, so it is a very good choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gorkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I have recently returned to Australia after spending 3 nights as a guest at The Bund.. As an elderly person, ...I travelled with my daughter... I tend to like my creature comforts.. Everything we could have wished for was available to us at The Bund..Our breakfasts were better than adequate with a variety of choices, and the staff always pleasant and greeted us with a smile. Our room was clean, and neat and warm and the walk in Shower recess was a blessing for me as an arthritic person.. Needing an anti slip mat in the shower is important to me and I used one at the side of the bath tub which was not in very good condition, next day it was replaced with a new mat Full marks for that.. The ATM machine in the lobby was most convenient also.. We did not eat at the hotel, but rather took our evening meals at the most excellent restaurant across the road.. The concierge and staff were first class, despite having a little bit of bother with our Aussie accents.. All in all a very good place to stay

Room Tip: Just go with the flow and enjoy the experience..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nanetterae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Our stay at this hotel can be rated as excellent. Front desk staff and concierge all understood english and were very helpful. Our rooms were clean and neat and relatively spacious. We spent a total of 6 nights here. I would definitely choose this hotel again as it provided good value for money and this property is within walking distance of the People's Square metro station. I would stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Masood75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

A good hotel within walking distance to Najing Road, Peoples Park and the Bund. The rooms are large and comfortable; better than many 4star in China.
WiFi is available only in the lobby!
The only weakness was the dining room/ restaurants. However there is an excellent one accross the road, and a number of choices within easy walking distance. However most have limited english assistance available.
For those wishing to venture further afield, there is the underground. It is functionally excellent, however there is limited english information; and remember most taxi drivers do not speak any english, so take your hotel card with you.

Room Tip: Upper rooms enjoy reasonable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FFadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Just came from a 3-day trip in shanghai over the weekend and stayed at the Bund. Very nice hotel, considering the price range. By staying in this hotel, We were able to save on taxi because everything is close by, the hotel is within 10 minutes of the Old Town, Nanjing Road and The Bund. But also far enough to discover inexpensive shops especially for souvenirs that would cost 25 to 50 percent more in the main shopping districts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank september3ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIRGINIA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during our recent trip and enjoyed the experience. The room was comfortable and the staff very friendly. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast but wish it had been included with our room cost. I liked the ATM style money converter machine in the lobby where I could convert my US$ to RMB's easily at anytime day or night. The hotel is located about a dozen blocks from the Bund area on the river. Lots of shops are lined up and down the roads all around the hotel, which makes it a fun area to explore. I'd stay there again in the future if I were going to Shanghai.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWINGLINE34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#168 of 5,059 in Shanghai
727 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,059 in Shanghai
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#525 of 5,059 in Shanghai
530 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#153 of 5,059 in Shanghai
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bund Hotel

Property: The Bund Hotel
Address: No.525 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bund Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing