We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rayfont Hongqiao Hotel & Apartments Shanghai
Ranked #2,396 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“disgusting!!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

dont be fooled by their pictures on expedia! the hotel was disgusting!!! they say that there's internet in the room but ours was broken and the restaurant downstairs refused to let us use their wifi. the room was so small and smelled like mold and barf. theres a 24 hr noise from the loud ac unit and a prison sized window that overlooks onto an ugly building. the bathroom was so old that there's rust everywhere. forget about the beds.... they were small and super hard. we thought we got lice from them the next morning. overall.... this is by far the worst hotel ever! its absolutely disgusting and the maids openly talked trash about us because we asked them clean the room again because they didn't do a good job the first time. do yourself a favor and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wilhelmina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    62
    43
    19
    15
See reviews for
11
10
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was horrendous. We arrived to a filthy unit, mold in both bathrooms, dirty stain splattered walls, filth inside cabinets and many many stains on the carpets. My hand was dirty/sticky when I touched the stove. Internet did not work,no kitchenware as promised and no help from staff. Told there was apool - there IS NOT. You could not open the closet as the bed was in the way. Horrible. We moved the very next day. Went to New Harbour Service apartments and its beautiful. Read that review too..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottie96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Rayfont Hotel and Apartments in the Changning distirct is very centraly located for an extended Shanghai business trip. The Hotel staff does not speak fluent English but tries to be very helpful and with a little patience you should do just fine. For stay's over 30 days they will put a washer and dryer in your room at no charge. The rooms are LARGE, by China and US standards, The Kitchen and full sized refrigerator are very nice. The bedrooms are LARGE, but the mattresses are HARD!! VERY HARD. I had them put 3 comforters as cushion under the fitted sheets to make it bearable. Typical Chinese wooden top sleeping platform.

Room Tip: Ask for a large suite, it costs a little more but
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramblinwreck13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Rayfont Hotel and apartment is located near to the city center and is very convenient for travel. The Hong Qiao Airport is just 25 mins by taxi.
The Lobby is ok, not very great but such value at this part of shanghai you cant expect more Rooms are clean, bathrooms look a little old but is ok, The rooms have Free wired Internet. Beds are not so comfortable. i think this is one area they need to improve
They offer Buffet Breakfast in morning, not so great but is ok.
Have some supermarkets and a small cafe just behind the hotel so is convenient. a Starbucks is nearby. the location is central so not far from most places and is convenient to travel.

I think for a business traveler the hotel offers just what they are looking for. overall its value for money

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ2176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkland, wa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

overall, we are satisfied with our stay at this hotel. We are traveling with two young kids and booked a two bedroom with living room and dinning room suite. The room also has a kitechen with refridge. The only pitty is there is no cooking pot or microwave oven. The room was spacious so our kids can run around in the room. It also has two bathrooms - one with shower and the other with a tub so it is easy for us to take a bath for our kids. The hotel is next to the 2 level busy freeway. During the day, you can hear the traffic noise but we are seldom in the room. We don't seem to be disturbed by this at night at all. Always had good sleep here. The bellman was nice and helpful to take our luggages to the room and the cleaning lady was very friendly and has done a great job cleaning our room. There are several restraurants nearby- one chinese fast food called chopstick general is on the first floor- with 3 dollars you can get a set of lunch special: soup, rice,vegetable and small entree dish. The food tasted good. Next door - there is a sichuan cuisine with traditional performance everyday. If you like spicy food or just want to take a look of the performance, you can go there. the restraurant is called Shun Xing. Highly recommended.
Pros: we like the location of the hotel - easy to haul a taxi in front of the hotel to go around; room is clean enough for us, i can allow our kids to touch the interiors. Very convenient and good value hotel which meet our needs
Cons: the front desk was short staffed. So there is always a wait time to speak to the front desk staff. And sometimes we don't get a warm answer from them even though I speak Chinese. The other thing which was nerve racking for us is that we booked the hotel in US from a major travel site. Before we arrive in Shanghai, we try to call the hotel to confirm our reservation. The hotel won't be able to confirm any reservation booked overseas until on the check-in date. We don't like this but we don't run into issues on our check-in date which is good.

Room Tip: pay a little bit more you will get good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waikiki_sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

good service and location, the price of TAXI to hongqiao airport is RMB 30yuan. the room is small, old.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Hotel itself is ok and staff is very friendly despite not being good in English. Rooms are fine but thin walls make everything very loud not to mention the 2 level, 8 laned high way crossing through Shanghai right next to the window. Stayed here while I was looking for an apartment because I got a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
#2,368 of 5,059 in Shanghai
175 reviews
Zhongshan Park
The Longemont Shanghai
The Longemont Shanghai
#99 of 5,059 in Shanghai
810 reviews
Dapuqiao
Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai
Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai
#2,425 of 5,059 in Shanghai
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dapuqiao
Rayfont Celebrity Hotel & Apartment Shanghai
Rayfont Celebrity Hotel & Apartm...
#2,499 of 5,059 in Shanghai
229 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayfont Hongqiao Hotel & Apartments Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayfont Hongqiao Hotel & Apartments Shanghai

Property: Rayfont Hongqiao Hotel & Apartments Shanghai
Address: No.1066 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200052, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,396 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rayfont Hongqiao Hotel & Apartments Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rayfont Hongqiao Hotel & Apartments Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayfont Hotel And Apartments Shanghai
Summit Serviced Apartments Shanghai
Summit Shanghai
Shanghai Summit
Summit Serviced Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing