We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #353 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our son directed us to this hotel. It was not what we expected - but much, much better. The hotel is in a great location close to Nathan Road and the metro. It also is easy to find. The hotel itself is a little off the main roads which lessens the potential road noise. When you arrive at the airport take the Maglev train to Longyang Station then Metro Line 2 to East Nanjing Road Station and walk to the hotel - no more than ten minutes (this will save you money). The 32km Maglev journey is an event in its own right; the speed of the train has to be experienced. The shopping along Nathan is both interesting and frustrating take the time to visit the market building near the people's Square.

We enjoyed our stay at the Salvo Hotel and we will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the bund
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
There are newer reviews for Salvo Hotel Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 833 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Shanghai was one of our best travel locations, and our one of our best experiences. The Salvo Hotel was within walking distances of major attractions - The Bund, The Pearl Tower, The subway, Nanjing Road, Yuyuan Garden and we could even walk to our aerial acrobat show "Kaleido". Staff were not as friendly as perhaps those in Malaysian hotels and their English not well understood, but we got along quite well even so. Breakfast was good- more food than we could eat and the room above average. The location was more than we could have asked for and we delighted on venturing out each day for more adventures. We had no tours booked here in Shanghai but we loved our day trips and we used the subway and bus to get to all major attractions. There is more to see than you can get to in a 2 day stopover, so spend a few days if you can.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked two Executive Business suites. We had booked into a hotel nearby but checked out and moved to the Salvo hotel the following day. Funnily it t seemed to be cheaper booking online than at reception, and actually booked online in the lounge of the hotel and received a huge discount after been offered an exuberant amount from reception. We had two business executive rooms high up and had a stunning view over the Bund form our bed. The rooms were huge with a large lounge. In is very close to Pedestrian street 5 minutes walking and close to the city Hop on and hop off bus which was great. Reception staff were unfriendly they seemed very rushed and let you know that. There is no wifi in the rooms you need to get a router but it is provided for free (just a deposit) so not too much of an issue. After showering our bathroom smelt really bad. I thought it was only our room but our friends bathroom stank too after they showered. I am not sure why as I left the ventilator of. After some air conditioner it came right and we got used to it. I would stay there again due to the proximity of things and that it was clean and big, but for no other reason.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is located perfectly and the service is very good if you take into consideration most Chinese people speak no English. The Deputy Manager could help us in times of need and the breakfast was good as well. I will definitely stay in that hotel again.

Room Tip: This is a hotel with 30 + floors- we were on the 15th and we were happy with a large room. My hubby...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry-WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

3 nights in this hotel and some points below:
-Nice location (10-15 minutes by walk to People Square, but terrible streets view around is guaranteed if you don't know the right way to go)
-English speaking stuff, but not so friendly and helpful, as I usually saw in China before.
-Nice room size (for suite)
-Nice furniture
-Poor lighting in the room
-Poor breakfast and dirty in breakfast area (I saw a cockroach)
-Bad hot water pressure (18 floor) and I was waiting 10 minutes while the cold water become the warm water in the hot-water tap
-I have shower and bath in my room, but shower doesn't work and in the bath I can't stay on my legs straight, cause it's low-ceiling in the bath (I have just 183cm)
-Taxi is also not so easy to catch in this place, so be sure you have 10-15 minutes for this.
-Terrible placement for electricity sockets. Don't fixing the European plug in the electricity sockets (I've checked 4, and the only one was OK)
- Noisy air conditioner (like i'm in the plane)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory_msk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed for a week in a Executive Business suite, it was huge with a large bed close to the window and a good view over the Bund, slightly delimited by other high buildings.
I booked a suite with a view over the Bund because of the low price; they seem to have a lot of discounts making the prices attractive.
The bathroom had a shower and a Jacuzzi, overall very clean. The breakfast was included but barely OK, at least it got me started for the day. Good working internet connection during my whole stay which is important to me.
About 300m to both The Bund and the Metro, means a good location for sightseeing.
The staff could be a bit more friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanStenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

OK as part of a long trip across China with a party of 7 one a wheel chair we finished in the Salvo. The good parts: great location typical Chinese alleys and small shops across from hotel. Do try eating in the Chinese restaurants in the street, cheap, good quality and plentiful food. The river front is close as is the east Nanjing road shopping area. Find 580 West Nanjing road which is what the Beijing Silk Market use to be like.
The hotel is reasonable, and while the rooms are large(we had suites) and well equipped they a bit tired. A refurbishment would make this highly recomended, but after the sofitel Nanjing and the Inner Mongolian Grand Beijing this one was third on the like list. A bit of a shame as location makes this a great base for exploring Shanghai and should be not written off; location and price can make up I believe any small let down in the rooms.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank petefrompreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#182 of 5,111 in Shanghai
303 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#1,319 of 5,111 in Shanghai
545 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,111 in Shanghai
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#402 of 5,111 in Shanghai
63 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#497 of 5,111 in Shanghai
293 reviews
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#124 of 5,111 in Shanghai
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvo Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvo Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.339 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#212 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#250 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $69 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salvo Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Salvo Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvo Hotel Zhongfu Shifuhui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing