We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #430 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Cool location next to the Bund, and walking distance to markets and shopping. The rooms are a bit dated, but at least they're clean, large, and fairly comfortable.

But that's about all this place has to offer.

The service here is terrible! For check in, things were frustrating. We asked for an extra bed, and they guy laughed at us. Partially because he did not understand English, which goes for most the staff here. Broken English at best throughout this hotel, and quite a few people who work the lobby and restaurant who don't speak English at all!

The staff here is poorly dressed, disheveled uniform, and seems as though you are bothering them when you ask for something. I believe half of them take their breaks in the lobby during the night, because people are asleep on the lobby couches during late hours.

Wifi Internet only works in the common areas, not in the rooms, but even then it's a hassle. We were never given the login info! We literally had to walk our computer over to a staff member, who would enter the login, and make sure they turned your computer so you could not see!

Decent price, but I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 835 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Been at this hotel twice. Both times in a business king suite. It is a bit tired and dingy, but hotel well located. Fairly clean. A good in and out hotel, but not 5 or 4 stars. Always a lot of smokers in the hotel.

Note that the business king suites do not have bund views. That was I was told.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Booked an executive room and was alloted a room on the 27th floor with a bund view. I thought it was the best view possible in Shanghai Puxi area. We just loved the view. Both at the sunrise and the night view was awesome. Breakfast has good spread. It was a mix of western and chinese food with some very good fruit cuts and juices. It was tasty. I think they improved upon the breakfast with the feedback from various guests. Nanjing road metro was just a 10 min walk. Lot of shopping in this area. The Bund is walkable and about 15 mins. Always have the visiting card or a paper with the hotel name written in chinese while traveling on taxi. Overall its a very good stay.

Room Tip: Go for executive room with a bund view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UVtravlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel has the benefit of a great location & awesome views of the pudong skyline from the room & 32nd floor bar. Easy walking distance to the bund, people's square, yuyuan garden and subway stations. The hotel is a little past its prime and you can see that it was once a very grand establishment. The rooms are so huge, we had a bedroom, sitting room and large bathroom with massive spa. But the little things are lacking such as even though we requested a non smoking room, the room had the lingering smell of cigarettes and the bathroom needs some maintenance. The concierge at the hotel was not as friendly or helpful as I would expect, but we did find out what we ended with some persistence. The breakfast was very good at this hotel. The ATM in the hotel lobby was also useful.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kymkymkymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms at this hotel are mini suites and quite spacious. The style is French empire and a bit faded grandeur. But OK.
The lobby continues the empire style...marble abounds. The weakest aspect of the hotel is the breakfast buffet which by modern standards was poor. There was quite a bit of choice and an omlette station but the quality of the food on offer was poor. 600 meters from the Bund and 4 small blocks to Nanking red so not badly situated.
There are quite a few very cheap eating places close by.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Salvo has a great location - we love to walk, and were able to walk from here to many different interesting places around Shanghai. It is close to the Bund Center, a very tall building with a flower shaped top, easily visible from many places around Shanghai and so we found our way back 'home' relatively easily. It's also just down the road from The Bund and the view of the lights look great from the hotel at night. Best of all it's on the same street as M on the Bund, a gorgeous restaurant with a great view of the river and all the goings-on, and the most delicious food - expensive but well worth it.

Breakfast is, as many have said, not great. But if you are happy with some fruit, an omelette and a coffee you can find them and most of the basics there, and then go out and eat some of the lovely food to be had around Shanghai.

The room was clean (except that both carpet and window needed a thorough scrubbing) and the bed comfortable. Staff seemed pretty helpful though we didn't need much from them.

Room Tip: High up overlooking the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanishkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location as near the Metro and Nanjinglu Shopping center. But the staff needs to be trained in simple courtesy and basic English. They are rude and they seem not to understand English when we are asking for directions. Simple directions like, "How do we get to Shanghai Expo?" Blank stare. A simple, I am sorry would have made things acceptable. But by ignoring us and pretending we do not exist is not only rude but unacceptable in any decent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#160 of 5,161 in Shanghai
750 reviews
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#419 of 5,161 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#125 of 5,161 in Shanghai
575 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#1,199 of 5,161 in Shanghai
300 reviews
Starr Hotel
#136 of 5,161 in Shanghai
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvo Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvo Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.339 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#226 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#283 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $62 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salvo Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Salvo Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvo Hotel Zhongfu Shifuhui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing