We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #229 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Cape Coral, Fl.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A gem in a great location”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Some travelers might find this a bit retro, but the rooms are very comfortable and for a reasonable price, you can get a "business suite," which has a separate living room area with desk and a second TV. I even hesitate to recommend it, because I don't want it to be booked up the next time I come. I've stayed here last three times in Shanghai--twice with hubby--and it was great every time. Depending on the deal you get, breakfast is included and it's a typical grand buffet on the top floor. Staff is very nice and competent. Location is unbeatable, walking distance to People's Square, the Bund and East Nanjing Road. I always book through a travel web site, as those sites seem to have the best deals. Forget going to the beauty salon on the second floor--it's pretty grungy. But here are plenty of other nice spas nearby.

Room Tip: go for the business suites...worth the extra $10 or even less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margovince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    434
    141
    45
    38
See reviews for
86
180
67
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Looks flash, but its the cover thats looks great. The service was pretty average. No wifi available in rooms so the inconvenience of going to 31st floor or the lobby frustrated me. Breakfast was distasteful. not much on the menu. The room had leaky bathrooms. when i waas checking out, the housemaid couldnt even find the second hand towel and they were so willing to charge me for it. had to go to the room and show her it was sitting on the chair where i told the concierge it was. A massage to the masseuse means i am there for happy ending and not a therapeutic massage. not even professionally trained.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter where you stay in the hotel, PLEASE BE AWARE OF THE GUYS STANDING AT THE FRONT DO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Challenge you to find a better location, slab dab in the middle of Shanghai, five blocks from the walking mall.

Rooms were excellent for what we paid $95/night. Separate sleeping area and sitting area. Bathrooms nicely done. Restaraunt and bar costs were ridiculously high so suggest you go outside for that.

All in all a nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The rooms are decorated in retro Chinese style and quite large. I like the design where the bedroom is separated from the study area by a wooden screen. For the price I paid its very reasonable considering how expensive hotels are in Shanghai. The location is very convenient and within walking distance to most of the sights and The Bund. You also have convenience stores and restaurants just across the road. However, I found that the bathroom fittings are old and my bathroom door couldn't close completely because the door frame had warped due to moisture. The TVs are also the old CRT type, although it does go with the retro decor. The hotel should renovate. The breakfast is intercontinental and spread is reasonable. They don't show you to the table so you have to grab whatever empty tables are available.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thexder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahus
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have stayed many times at this well located hotel. Service and standard was much better before but still is ok. Salvo lies only a few blocks from Nanjing pedestrian street and the Bund where bars and restaurants with spectacular views of the Pudong skyline. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolfieTough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Salvo wasn't the nicest hotel we stayed at in China, but it was wonderful for the price. The rooms feel a little dingy, but everything is very clean, and they are HUGE. Breakfast had lots of options, both Western and Chinese, and was a nice way to start the day. There was easy access to the subway, and one can even walk to the Bund (though its a 15-20 minute trek). We had great views of Pudong from our window. The hotel staff was pleasant, if not very enthusiastic, and arranged our taxi to the airport. Overall, not an exceptional hotel, but at the price I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meg7134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was very suprised when I checked in to my room as it was much larger and more elegant than I expected. It was decorated with traditional chinese art and the sleeping are was separated by a sliding door that was artistic in design. The rates couldnt be beat and the location is close to the subway and in the Bund district. Serivice was ok at check in and the breakfast was included in teh already cheap price. Only issue I found was that breakfast was a free-for-all as there was no one seeting guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEZARSTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#244 of 5,105 in Shanghai
63 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#50 of 5,105 in Shanghai
820 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#178 of 5,105 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#124 of 5,105 in Shanghai
546 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#470 of 5,105 in Shanghai
293 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#158 of 5,105 in Shanghai
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvo Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvo Hotel Shanghai

Property: Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.339 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#223 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salvo Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salvo Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvo Hotel Zhongfu Shifuhui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing