We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #426 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were very happy with this hotel with its location, great views and beautiful suite. Right outside is an interesting neighborhood with lots of small shops and street life,then just a short walk away is the famous Bund area of Shanghai. The room was large, well appointed, very quiet, with a very comfortable bed and a great shower. Served on the 31st floor, breakfast was excellent with amazing views of the city. There is also a bar and restaurant on the 31st floor for enjoying the neon at night. The staff was friendly, patient and efficient and all spoke workable English.

Our only negative experience was with the "gym" which was located in a low-ceiling hotel room-sized space with 6 machines, three of which were broken.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank st329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 835 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a business suite and had a good price with Expedia including buffet breakfast and free wifi in the room. We were very pleased with the spacious bedroom and separate lounge area, both with TV's. The king size bed was comfortable and the room was very clean and well maintained. The buffet breakfast was adequate with plenty to choose from.
The reception staff were very busy, but gave an acceptable level of service.
We liked the location, walking distance to the Bund, People's Square and the Nanjing Road East Station.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank eluned73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We chose this hotel based on price and once again were delighted with the value for money. Just a couple of blocks from the Bund and main shopping area it proved to be a very central location. The views were delightful especially at night and the room was very generous with a separate lounge area off the bedroom. Totally recommend.

Room Tip: Non smoking a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherryO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights (Executive Business suite/ 25th floor/Bund view – very impressive) in this hotel. Ground floor reception staff directed us to the executive lounge at level 31 for the check-in (as our reservation was for a business suite). Most of the staff could speak adequate English and some of them did their job as they are behind a railway ticket counter.

The suite was spacious and well furnished. The bathroom was equipped with a shower unit (with hydro massage jets) outside the bathtub. The bathtub is far too big for the bathroom. It looks to me that some areas in the room are not properly maintained/cleaned for sometime, especially bathroom.

If possible avoid having anything at the restaurant in the 31st floor. It looks like no maintenance work done for sometime. We had one meal (dinner) on the night we arrived Shanghai but never again. I can’t understand why the management is not taking some efforts to refurbish this place and offer some decent food. Also I have to mention that the restaurant staffs were more interested about watching TV than serving the guests.

Wired Internet and breakfast (buffet) was included in our room rate. There were lots of dishes but nothing (except the fruits) is worth mentioning.

The reception staff told us that the free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby area. You need to have a login username/password. I got at least 2 sets of usernames/passwords but none of them worked correctly. Room internet connection was fine (as it was wired but also required a username/password).

Hotel location is great as you are close distance to Bund, Peoples Square and Nanjing road. The view at night is really amazing.

Room Tip: High floor rooms facing bund have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel and we love it.

It is 5 minutes walk to Nanjing east station. We booked city view room this time where our room is on the 20th floor and also facing the harbor.

Breakfast is great, a variety of food which is plenty to choose from. Table is limited so come early.

Checked in in on the 31st floor, check out in on ground floor. There is cable Internet in room. Bed is hard, however relative to the many hotels that we stayed in China, it is the best one. So no complain there.

Most room is huge, separate lounge and bedroom. There are 2 TVs in the room, however the TVs are analog which is my only complaint.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global_travel7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It is an average hotel but location is great, nice clean room. We stay in 25th floor with band view and suitable price for the service
It is just short walk from hotel to Nanjin Road which is only a good shopping pace in Shanghai. The breakfast served from 6 to 10 am with buffet and Chinese food. Language is a big problem considering the hotel status few staff shall be these to speak foreign languages especially English. Language is a big hardly you will find anyone from their staff could understand English

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed in the Salvo hotel for three night after coming back from Juizhaigou in Sichuan. I initially booked two nights in a business room then booked another night on the virgin travel site in an executive room.

Upon arriving, i checked in to the executive room at the executive check in counter on the 31st floor and found out i had booked two types of rooms. As i had payed the same thing through the virgin website, i expected that they could then just let me stay in the same room. They weren't prepared to do that and i had to pay an extra $40 a night to upgrade the other two nights to the same room so i wouldn't have to move.

Once i got to my room i was impressed with the room, which was more like a small suite than a regular hotel room. The room was clean and the view of the Bund was impressive from the 27th floor.

The breakfast was included but was not impressive. Eggs and cereal were on offer but the food was not very appetising. The restaurant was a bit dated and the level of cleanliness in the hall wasn't what you expect of a 5 star hotel.

The location was excellent however, near all the major attractions in the city and a five minute walk to one of two nearby stations. Old town is also very close by and well worth a visit.

Overall, the room was comfortable and good value as i got it on special with breakfast included through the virgin website. The service and breakfast were as expected in China - not great.

Room Tip: Book an executive room if you can. Check out the nearby old town shopping area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#160 of 5,161 in Shanghai
749 reviews
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#413 of 5,161 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#124 of 5,161 in Shanghai
575 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#1,160 of 5,161 in Shanghai
300 reviews
Starr Hotel
#132 of 5,161 in Shanghai
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvo Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvo Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.339 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#279 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $62 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salvo Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Salvo Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvo Hotel Zhongfu Shifuhui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing