We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel - Ideally located for visiting WaiGaoQiao”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #89 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent more than a week there while working in the WaiGaoQiao Free Trade Zone. Hotel is ideally located for work. It is NOT a hotel for tourism because it is in a working part of Shanghai, so do not stay there if you want to be near tourist sites.

The hotel itself lives up to the standard you would expect in any Crowne Plaza. Great staff, clean, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, OK restaurants. Easy to get a taxi to/from the hotel. Concierge staff is always helpful.

There are several great local restaurants within walking distance of the hotel for variety and there is one Sichuan restaurant directly across the street that has good food and a very entertaining performance the wonderful and mysterious Chinese Face Changing.

Room Tip: Any room I suppose. Mine was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Chuck B,

Thank you for sharing your favorable comments about our facilities and service on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it very much and have shared your comments with all appropriate departments and staff.
As you known, our hotel is an ideal choice for those who is on business in Wai Gao Qiao free trade zone and thanks again for your tips around our hotel. We look forward to exceeding your expectations again sometime soon.


Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 354 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Crown Plaza for 3 nights. The location is not the best if you are visiting as a tourist, cause its far from the main attractions and it does not have anything intesting around. We stayed there because of the business, it has a Free Tarde Zone nearby. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, big windows give a lot of light. Stuff speaks very good english, they are polite and helpful. Breakfast buffet is very good, a lot of western style breakfast dishes. If you are planning on doing business in that area, this hotel is best choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Esperanzalima,

Thank you for sharing your favorable comments about our facilities and service on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it very much and have shared your comments with all appropriate departments. As you have mentioned, our hotel is the best choice for business travelers frequenting the Waigaoqiao area in Pudong, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

as a Platinum IHG member i usually like the CP chain so i ordered this hotel for one night stay, I arrived 8 pm there was nobody to help me with the luggage waited for ten minutes outside in the heat until i got someone to take my luggage, at the check in counter there was no one home finally when someone appeared they were busy doing office work so check in took ages,
The room smelled of mold and the carpet was filthy, the air condition didn't work properly and light fixtures in the room didn't turn on, and to my surprise there were no hangers in the closet, so the room was dark and smelly and with a filthy carpet, these things are usually typical for Chinese chain hotels and not for the CP. the furniture look tired, the bathroom bare and filthy.
after speaking and complaining to the manager on site it seemed as if she couldn't care less. so my recommendation is do NOT stay at this hotel until they get their stuff in order.
Should have tried the Sheraton across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mashgiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Mashgiach,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay. It was upsetting to hear that your stay failed to meet your expectation and we shared your comments with all appropriate departments to address concerns that are relevant.

Please be assured that your experience will be used to further improve our service.


Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 5 nights.

We were visiting Shanghai as tourists.

The hotel itself is excellent. The rooms are very spacious, very clean, beds are comfortable and huge. Above all, the staff were all extremely polite, courteous and helpful.

As tourists, the place is a little away from the Bund and Nanjing Road. However, the hotel had shuttle buses free of charge into the main places every morning (about 30 mins). So for us, this place definitely worked as tourists. We travelled around Shanghai all day long, and it was good to come back to a beautiful hotel in the evening. (It is also about a 7 minute walk to Hanjin Road metro station). And for finding information about various places, the staff were extremely helpful.

So, yes there are better locations to stay as tourists, but for the sake of an extra few minutes of travel in the morning, it is definitely worth staying in this high level of comfort. There are also a few restaurants and shops directly outside the hotel (we found Dio Coffee pretty good).

I suppose the only negatives I would have are the cost of the laundry. We only got the room, so no breakfast or laundry included. (In fairness the cost of room only was still excellent value). It was charged for each item, and I think it was around 25RMB for a pair of socks - it would be more cost effective to buy a new pair of socks instead!

Overall though, very good.

Dave

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Dave B,

Thank you for sharing such a favorable comment about our facilities and service on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate it very much and have shared your comments with all appropriate departments and staff.
I would suggest you try our breakfast & laundry package to make your stay perfect. Thanks again for the detailed commentary and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 4 nights and found it to be a nice comfortable hotel. It's near they WGQ Free Trade district and handy if you need to be in that area for business (this is not a suitable location for a tourist to Shanghai!)

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed and in line with a 4.5-5 star rating. A few English channels on the TV. The hotel has an indoor pool and a reasonable gym. Breakfast was good and it was possible to get a pretty good steak off the grill in the evenings. A nice little bar with a good Philippine duo playing too,

Now here comes the "but"...

The service from most of the restaurant staff is basically clueless. They have an iPad menu to take orders but the way it works (or rather doesn't) is a debacle. There were sometimes more staff than partrons in the restaurant but getting someone's attention was almost impossible.
To top this off one morning they'd made all of the breakfast pastries with sour milk! Not a pleasant experience at all!!! I spat a muffin across the table.

So. Comfortable. Good food in the restaurant (pastries aside). Good service from the Front Desk....asleep service in the restaurant. Would I stay there again? Probably. Would stick to a breakfast omlette though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Richard H,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay. It was upsetting to hear that your restaurant experience failed to meet your expectation and we already shared your comments with all appropriate departments to improve our service.

Thank you again for your detailed commentary and it will help us to make our hotel better in the future.


Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Business travellers refer to people who want a decent bed, clean toiler and shower and that's for the minimum. That's exactly this hotel is perfectly fit. And a spacious breakfast restaurant. Acceptable breakfast. Just kind of far from the town center. Perfect for business travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boss527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Boss527,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it very much and have shared your comments with all appropriate departments to improve our service. As you have mentioned, our hotel is a good choice for business travelers so thank you again for your comments, and it will help us to make our hotel better in the future.



Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The fact is that the only reason to stay here ifs the price or close proximity to a business that you may be working at. This place can be used by tourists to save money if they are willing to use the train system to get around. But fact is this is simply an average crown in a business area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QCWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear QCWilly,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel on TripAdvisor. As you have mentioned, our hotel is a good choice for those who conduct business in the Wai Gao Qiao free trade zone . Our hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle bus service to meet expectations of those who like to get downtown, this is a popular choice for many of our guests who don't wish to take the train.


Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Caoyang / Zhenru
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#75 of 5,206 in Shanghai
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
#102 of 5,206 in Shanghai
687 reviews
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
#99 of 5,206 in Shanghai
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.1000 Yanggao North Road, Pudong New District | Near China Pilot Free Trade Zone Gate 3, Shanghai 200137, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Waigaoqiao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#86 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $68 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong is an upscale business hotel that truly understands and fulfills the needs of the frequent traveler. Located in the CBD of China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone in the New Area of Pudong, east of Shanghai. The hotel is easy access to the Pilot Free Trade Zone Administration, Waigaoqiao International Exhibition and Trading Center for Wine & Beverage, SUNLAND Waigaoqiao International Ecological Port City. Enjoying the stunning views of whole Pilot Free Trade Zone with our extensive Club Lounge. Just 35 minutes drive from Shanghai Pudong International Airport and Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport, we are an excellent support base for business travelers. Hangjin Road subway station is 10 minutes' walk away, with easy connections into Shanghai city centre. Also just 10 minutes by driving to Golf Course, Rugby Club and Bingjiang River ParkWe offer not only a comprehensive range of meeting services and comfortable rooms, but also attractive leisure and entertainment facilities to refresh yourself after a hard day’s work. To ensure your event is a success, we offer on and off-site catering and a fully professional meetings support team. Whether on business or pleasure, Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong is the right choice when TRAVELING FOR SUCCESS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing