We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Nearby Hotels
$188
$113
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$146
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$154
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$208
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$101
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveler rating
215
327
108
21
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
327
108
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjing'an templeswimming capsfrench concessionrenovated roommetro stationnice hotelwest nanjing roadnon smokingwould stay againbusiness tripcomfortable bedeasy accessclub roomstayed here for nightswalking distancelobby areabreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 677 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel almost 10 times in last 7-8 years and in last 5-6 years the surrounding has got a huge face lift . All big retailers are around...Old Navy to Hugo Boss. Famous Golden Temple is just few minutes walk. For Indians , the additional benefit is Indian Restaurant next to that cross road.
Rooms are very clean and spacious but only struggle is managing seat during breakfast....better to reach before 6:30 as after that you may have wait with plates!! Banks and ATM in the same premises makes life comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbirChakrabarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Hotel is in a great location and has a bank conveniently located next door. The breakfast buffet had a great selection of both Western and Chinese options. However, the seating arrangement was limited and all 3 mornings we struggled to find a table. The rooms were adequate size, very clean, and had nice bathrooms and a shower with good water pressure. Unfortunately, the free Wi-Fi only applied to the lobby area. For in-room Wi-Fi, it was a 2RMB per minute charge with a max of 120RMB per day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Near to temple and old navy store, public park i forgot the name and shoping mall located at nanjing main road you only need 10 minutes walk from hotel. And also there's a local restaurant serve good lamb barbeque cross the hotel. Lawson at ground floor good for coffe and relax. Have a nice day!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Nagatimur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay. To provide the perfect and personalized services to every guest of ours and ensure their complete comfort and total enjoyment is always the aim that every staff of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai are trying to achieve. Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Staid at this hotel for 1 week last March on a business trip. The location is superb right next to Nanjing Road with all the shopping malls nearby. Plus just a few minutes walking or by cab you can move around the French Concession where hundreds of restaurants and small businesses emerge in every street or alley.
The room had a decent size and had been recently refurnished, (only for floors 17th and above) but unfortunately the breakfast was extremely local, lack of more quality international products.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

only stayed a couple of nights and in a group of eleven and to be fair the hotel is very good in all aspects, only one issue I had and it maybe down to the fact that UK/Europe hotels are non smoking rooms that I did not think to ask for a non smoking room!
but I was advised by our Chinese adviser that there is not many non smoking rooms in hotels in china, anyway apart from that very good.....

Room Tip: if a non smoker check your room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falkirkbairn1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews