We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, Amenities are EXTRA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Ranked #54 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, Amenities are EXTRA”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour so everything was booked and included in the price, but I imagine it was pretty reasonable, since our tour was a great deal. On the whole I was very impressed with the Equatorial. It is in an excellent location within walking distance of Nanjing Rd (popular shopping area) and barely 5 min from the metro. The lobby is beautiful, and I was very impressed with our room. We were high enough to have a nice view too. Breakfast was included in our stay, and it was quite expansive with both western & Chinese choices. Because we were on a tour and our guide checked us in etc, we didn't have a lot of personal interaction with the staff, except the breakfast waiters, but from what I saw the service was excellent. They even packed us little lunches since we had to leave at 5:40am to catch our flight home on the final day, and would miss breakfast time.
I'd say for the value this hotel is amazing, and I'd definitely give it 5 stars/excellent rating, except for one thing which annoyed me. They nickel & dime you (well in this case, perhaps quarter & dollar is more apt) for the amenities. If you want wifi in the rooms, the charge was somewhere around $25/day, according to the exchange rate at the time I was there. They do offer it for free in the lobby which is nice, but then you just have tons of people congregating down there to use it so the couches & chairs are usually taken. Also, I was all set to go to use the gym and later on, the pool, until I got down there and realized they charge for that as well, and it's not cheap. It's as much as a monthly membership at a cheap gym in the States - roughly $34! I don't mean to make a big deal of the little things because the hotel was overall quite fantastic, but I found this rather irritating. I wouldn't mind paying a small fee for certain amenities like these, but I just couldn't justify spending $34 to get a quick 30 min workout before starting my day.
(On the other hand the spa prices seemed pretty reasonable, and we did try to book a massage but they were full at the times we had free.)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank operaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    284
    96
    19
    5
See reviews for
35
57
53
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

it takes a "crisis" to really see how the service of a hotel truly is. i had already left the hotel and could not find my passport. i called the hotel and housekeeping immediately sent staff to search my room. they could not find it. i returned to the hotel and the housekeeping staff accompanied me into the room and helped search for my passport. they tried their best to calm me down and accompanied me as i opened up my huge luggage. turns out it was inside. the housekeeping auntie was fantastic. as was the guy in charge of helping guests get cabs. he tried to get me one immediately, as he sensed my urgency. that made a huge difference to my stay. because of that, i'm not an advocate of equatorial.

the other winner is the swimming pool, which is newly renovated. it's perfect. the water is a warm 29degrees. really enjoyable swim, with a view. please note you need swimming caps.

location is fantastic too - 5 min walk from jing'an metro station.

apart from that, the hotel is all right. slightly dated but they try their best. one thing i really don't like is that they are still using shower curtains, which just doesn't seem clean and modern in this day and age. check in and out slightly slow. also, my room key deactivated after the first day because they said i had insufficient deposit, which wasn't true.

glitches here and there but superb service. i would return to equatorial if i'm looking for a hotel in that price range due to the service and the swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel in a great location. 5 minutes to the metro. Beautiful decor but no free wifi in the rooms which is a shame. Great breakfast buffet which had both western and Chinese picks. Nice, clean rooms. Would recommend it to those staying in shanghai.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Would definitely recommend this, staff are very friendly, location is impeccable, room is clean and well serviced. Only problem is wifi is free only in lobby area, cost is fairly high in the room. But overall, definitely a wonderful experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is defiantly worth considering if you go to Shanghai. It has an excellent location just 2 minutes walk to Jingan Temple and the metro station. At check in they were very efficient and friendly and the room was what I would consider to be a good solid 4 star hotel room with everything I needed. Breakfast is a good international buffet.

For a hotel of this quality and location in Central Shanghai the value really is amazing. The only drawback being that the deal I had didn't include internet and to get internet for a day costs 120 RMB, but as the room was so cheap I consider it an acceptable price to pay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toasty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a clean and comfortable hotel with a great view! There is free wifi in the lobby and a good complimentary breakfast. Plenty of places to visit within walking distance. I enjoyed sipping a coffee and looking out at the city view as the sunset.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor with a city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PremmyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

,Very comfortable since you enter the main gate until you leave,
you feel that you are respected
beside the story:
I forgot about 600USD in the safe and checked out the hotel, they called me and
were very nice and polite handling me the exact amount .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadIII2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,701 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#58 of 5,069 in Shanghai
2,434 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#163 of 5,069 in Shanghai
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#51 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,135 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Property: Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Address: No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is strategically located at Jing'An in the heart of downtown Shanghai. Known for our warm hospitality and excellent customer service, the imperial hotel offers extensive business, meeting and recreational facilities. Offering stunning city view, the total 506 guest rooms and suites feature just the right facilities and amenities to ensure our guests a relaxing stay. The provided 15 function rooms that can cater to meetings of up to 800 pax. The versatile function and meeting rooms offer a wide range of facilities, services and packages for every occasion. The well-recognized Shanghai International Club Fitness Centre is perched on the 4th floor. The centre offers a top line range of fitness facilities from Life Fitness, a tennis hard court, the Fei Spa and a pool area which boasts a breathtaking view of Jing'An. * As per Implementation Rules of Regulation on Public Places Sanitation Administration, smoking will be prohibited in all indoor areas of this hotel from 01 March 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing