We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fitness centre under construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Ranked #52 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Castellon de la Plana, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fitness centre under construction”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice hotel,centrally located,undergroud station very close...fitness centre and swimming pool undr renovation, but they dont tell you when you make the reservtion.I booked via intrnet directly with the hotel...they never mentioned the renovation they were undergoing sinceFEBRUARY!!!!! They dont even mention it in their website, i dont think it is fair especially when the pool and the fitness center were two of the main reasons why i book a room in this hotel

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juan1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    281
    94
    19
    5
See reviews for
35
54
53
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a nice business hotel located in the Puxi, Shanghai in the junction of Yan'an Road and Huashan Road. In the heart of CBD walking distance from the office towers, shopping, ample food variations and an fascinating temple. The MRT Line 2 and Line 7 station at Jing An Temple is a 5-7 minutes walk.

The rooms are at par with star rated business hotels with an wide breakfast buffet offering. Around the corner [walking towards Huashan Road side] is Lawson, a 24 hour convenience store.

If all of these was not enough, there are few pubs accross the street on Huashan Road to destress after a days work. The pubs are open late till 2 am. There are good choices of girls to cozy up with lady drinks.

Couple of massage parlous around. The one behind the hotel is a good one.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Yan'an Road. The view will be better than the back, looking at some roof to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FunFunny999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Equatorial is in a good location for someone who doesn't know Shanghai. There is a lot near the hotel to walk to and a great park and temple just steps from the front door. The staff is friendly and the rooms are nice. I would stay again on business. Our event was in another hotel close, but am glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieM248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is a joint venture between a Chinese group and Equatorial hotels in Malaysia. The location is good for business areas and about 15 minutes walk from a subway station. There are usually taxis around.There are a few bars and an Indian restaurant down the street opposite the Hilton hotel and a convenience store with local snacks ( steamed buns ), beer wine and essentials . Hotel staff are good and speak excellent English . The Cafe 65 has buffets and a la carte , western and Asian. Buffet breakfast is very good although the egg cooking staff seem to think that all fried eggs must be over easy and overcooked. I had to get a waiter to explain a sunny side up under cooked egg. There is a chinese restaurant upstairs that I did not visit. Rooms are quite large , with wired internet and satellite TV, mini bar and all you expect. Laundry did not come back at 7pm on the same day as stated on laundry list so be carefull if you have an early check out next day. Overall I was happy with the value and service of this hotel.

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel opposite Hilton hotel . Front rooms opposite highway are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
310 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Even though I got upgraded to a king club room, you could not say anything more than average. It was clean, tidy, no real problems, but just very average. Breakfast was average to poor and the lunch was similar. Toiletries in the bathroom were more akin to washing up liquid than anything else. The view was great despite the pollution. Not a place I would pay to go back to. The service was very ordinary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Since i arrived in China more than 20 years ago, i consider this hotel as a good base for travellers that come from abroad. Close to line 2 metro, and to many good restaurats and venues....you bave also a gym ans swimmimg pool, BUT Despite the massive decoration of few years ago, the service is still at state owned organization level.

If you arrive by car, pay attention. The parking costs 20 rmb/h and if complain about the huge cost for such service, I was told " you can change hotel, no problem, in the center the parking is like this". After my strong complain about this, they try to apologize, but the egg was broken, I am really fed up to meet hotel managers that since business is guaranteed but the huge amount of tourist and business men, they are not keeping in mind that they work in the hospitality industry and, even if customer can be annoying some time, they need to understand and find solutions and not expect someone is angry to grant a free service or a discount.

A part this, the coffee shop at first floor is a wase of time to try. I ordered a salad and my friend a well done beef and I got the salad after 10 minutes. I waited another 10 minutes before to start the beef, but I was told that since we requested "well done" coking they need more time. Well..... We got the beef 20 minutes later, means 40 minutes from order. We don't need to say that the meat was like eating stones ....

So I agree what other recension stated: good for sleep, avoid for services and food, and only for short stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaroShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My everlasting impression of this place will be the very persistent working girls that are ever present in the lobby and sometimes in the corridors on upper floors. They seem to be good natured and very attractive but totally unnecessary. The restaurant here is average and the staff are not at all engaging, go out for a walk, there are a million better places to eat in Shanghai. The service in the lounge is slow, at times you feel like you ought to order a drink to have while waiting for your drink to arrive. I thought it was quite expensive considering what it was like. The gym was ok for a hotel, don't expect Virgin Active but it's more than acceptable for a decent free weights workout as well as cardio machines.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#57 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,404 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,686 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#49 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#163 of 5,059 in Shanghai
201 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#17 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Property: Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Address: No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is strategically located at Jing'An in the heart of downtown Shanghai. Known for our warm hospitality and excellent customer service, the imperial hotel offers extensive business, meeting and recreational facilities. Offering stunning city view, the total 506 guest rooms and suites feature just the right facilities and amenities to ensure our guests a relaxing stay. The provided 15 function rooms that can cater to meetings of up to 800 pax. The versatile function and meeting rooms offer a wide range of facilities, services and packages for every occasion. The well-recognized Shanghai International Club Fitness Centre is perched on the 4th floor. The centre offers a top line range of fitness facilities from Life Fitness, a tennis hard court, the Fei Spa and a pool area which boasts a breathtaking view of Jing'An. * As per Implementation Rules of Regulation on Public Places Sanitation Administration, smoking will be prohibited in all indoor areas of this hotel from 01 March 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing