We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Ranked #53 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is a joint venture between a Chinese group and Equatorial hotels in Malaysia. The location is good for business areas and about 15 minutes walk from a subway station. There are usually taxis around.There are a few bars and an Indian restaurant down the street opposite the Hilton hotel and a convenience store with local snacks ( steamed buns ), beer wine and essentials . Hotel staff are good and speak excellent English . The Cafe 65 has buffets and a la carte , western and Asian. Buffet breakfast is very good although the egg cooking staff seem to think that all fried eggs must be over easy and overcooked. I had to get a waiter to explain a sunny side up under cooked egg. There is a chinese restaurant upstairs that I did not visit. Rooms are quite large , with wired internet and satellite TV, mini bar and all you expect. Laundry did not come back at 7pm on the same day as stated on laundry list so be carefull if you have an early check out next day. Overall I was happy with the value and service of this hotel.

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel opposite Hilton hotel . Front rooms opposite highway are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 630 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Even though I got upgraded to a king club room, you could not say anything more than average. It was clean, tidy, no real problems, but just very average. Breakfast was average to poor and the lunch was similar. Toiletries in the bathroom were more akin to washing up liquid than anything else. The view was great despite the pollution. Not a place I would pay to go back to. The service was very ordinary.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Since i arrived in China more than 20 years ago, i consider this hotel as a good base for travellers that come from abroad. Close to line 2 metro, and to many good restaurats and venues....you bave also a gym ans swimmimg pool, BUT Despite the massive decoration of few years ago, the service is still at state owned organization level.

If you arrive by car, pay attention. The parking costs 20 rmb/h and if complain about the huge cost for such service, I was told " you can change hotel, no problem, in the center the parking is like this". After my strong complain about this, they try to apologize, but the egg was broken, I am really fed up to meet hotel managers that since business is guaranteed but the huge amount of tourist and business men, they are not keeping in mind that they work in the hospitality industry and, even if customer can be annoying some time, they need to understand and find solutions and not expect someone is angry to grant a free service or a discount.

A part this, the coffee shop at first floor is a wase of time to try. I ordered a salad and my friend a well done beef and I got the salad after 10 minutes. I waited another 10 minutes before to start the beef, but I was told that since we requested "well done" coking they need more time. Well..... We got the beef 20 minutes later, means 40 minutes from order. We don't need to say that the meat was like eating stones ....

So I agree what other recension stated: good for sleep, avoid for services and food, and only for short stays.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaroShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My everlasting impression of this place will be the very persistent working girls that are ever present in the lobby and sometimes in the corridors on upper floors. They seem to be good natured and very attractive but totally unnecessary. The restaurant here is average and the staff are not at all engaging, go out for a walk, there are a million better places to eat in Shanghai. The service in the lounge is slow, at times you feel like you ought to order a drink to have while waiting for your drink to arrive. I thought it was quite expensive considering what it was like. The gym was ok for a hotel, don't expect Virgin Active but it's more than acceptable for a decent free weights workout as well as cardio machines.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Perhaps not terribly luxurious, Equatorial is a conveniently located hotel near to Jing'An Temple affording close proximity to most restaurants and other services. The customer service was very good and the breakfast was perfectly adequate with some of the Western pastry items being not too bad (a rarity in mainland China!).

The rooms are comfortable though did vary a little as there were several of us, and we visited twice- it wasn't quite clear whether or not we were upgraded.

The fitness centre looked good, though on attempting to swim, we were informed that we would have to buy US$12 swimming caps if we were to go in the pool which was disappointing, not least given a paucity of evidence as to what swimming caps might prevent.

Internet is available free in the lobby, though notably our VPN connections were blocked.

Overall- can't complain- a very decent hotel at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkqd1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed for 6 nights and found my room to be spacious, clean and a very comfy bed. I booked a non smoking room but the smell of smoke was very prominent in the corridors and foyer. You have to pay for internet in room but there is free wifi in the lobby. It was not far from Jing'an metro station which was convenient for line 2 which took me to all the places I needed to be. Plus, taxis can be hailed at the hotel and are very cheap! Make sure you pick up a taxi card from the hotel as some taxi drivers did not seem to know the area (this may have been bad luck on my behalf!) The only thing that disappointed me about the hotel was the food- the "cafe" consisted of 2 tables in a dark corner and never appeared to be staff, the more casual restaurant was always empty and I could not afford to eat in the swankier bar! Breakfast was really expensive which just seemed ridiculous when you compare prices of food in general. If you're happy to eat out this hotel is great value, it lacks the 5* customer service I found at my conference hotel (Pudong Shangri La) but if you don't need that it's absolutely fine!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleeceylauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here during the Chinese GP in April and what an experience.

The hotel is bang in the City centre and the first thing you notice when you walk out is the taste of the fumes, but don't let that put you off. Shanghai is an amazing city and we had a wonderful time. The difference in cultures is simply wonderful and the people are so pleased to see tourists. What a fantastic city.

The Hotel is great, the rooms comfortable and spacious, has a reasonable bar but the prices are steep compared to local bars that are just round the corner. Food in the restaurant is nothing special especially when you consider that the range of restaurants on your doorstep is magnificent. Eating out in Shanghai is very cheap, if you go local, the cuisine is amazing, the variety equally so, we ate and drink like kings every night and never for more than the equivalent of £60, that was for 4 not per head.

A wee word of warning though for the more prudish of you, turn right out the hotel and there are loads of bars and restaurants, but the bars are frequented by the "love you long time" girls and they can be a bit full on. A swift No Thanks usually works and they go away and pester someone else

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#59 of 5,160 in Shanghai
2,537 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,785 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#175 of 5,160 in Shanghai
211 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,160 in Shanghai
872 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Address: No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $87 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is strategically located at Jing'An in the heart of downtown Shanghai. Known for our warm hospitality and excellent customer service, the imperial hotel offers extensive business, meeting and recreational facilities. Offering stunning city view, the total 506 guest rooms and suites feature just the right facilities and amenities to ensure our guests a relaxing stay. The provided 15 function rooms that can cater to meetings of up to 800 pax. The versatile function and meeting rooms offer a wide range of facilities, services and packages for every occasion. The well-recognized Shanghai International Club Fitness Centre is perched on the 4th floor. The centre offers a top line range of fitness facilities from Life Fitness, a tennis hard court, the Fei Spa and a pool area which boasts a breathtaking view of Jing'An. * As per Implementation Rules of Regulation on Public Places Sanitation Administration, smoking will be prohibited in all indoor areas of this hotel from 01 March 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing