We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to go if you want cheap imitation goods.”

Shanghai Temple Of the Town God (Chenghung Miao)
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Private Tour: Yuyuan Garden, Chenghuangmiao Temple and Taobao City Market
Ranked #35 of 1,312 things to do in Shanghai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Every Chinese city once had its Temple of the Town God, the central shrine for Daoist worship. Shànghai's version dates from 1403 when local official Qín Yùbó, who had been posthumously designated as Shànghai's patron town god by the Míng Dynasty Hóngwu emperor (A.D. 1328-98), was finally honored with his own temple, though it didn't take on its present name until 1929.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
195 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“The place to go if you want cheap imitation goods.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Title says it all. Be prepared for crowds, touts and high prices. 10% of the initial asking price should be what your paying to most goods (although sad to say, I would suspect that the opening price will be determined by the color of your skin and how well you speak the local dialect). If you don't get what you are looking for, just walk away and a tout will start hounding you to negotiate. The further you walk, the lower the price. Why? Because there are probably 50 other shops here that carry the same pile of junk who are willing to sell them for cheaper.

* there is a Starbucks located in the interior court yard and fee washrooms in larger restaurants (does require climbing up 3 flights of stairs to access the ones that we found).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mattiasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    316
    143
    22
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Must visit at least for once!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great location for food and sightseeing - great place to take some nice photo. Over price for shopping. Very crowded throughout the day especially weekend. Must visit if you are first time in Shanghai.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Skywalker0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
319 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Cheap shopping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

the main attraction of the temple is actually the shopping area nearby.
Wholesale market n souvenir stalls aplenty.
Prepare to bargain to as low as 10% of indicated price.
All fakes n cheap stuff.
Interesting to observe what is available n the intrresting building structures.

Helpful?
2 Thank merc8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Crowded! But fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a review of the shopping area only. Honestly, it was so crowded on the Sunday morning we visited that it was hard to realize there was a temple there.

Tons of shops, touristy and less so. It was the first place we went in Shanghai after visiting the walk by the river to see Pudong, so the amazing crowds were fun. I think there are places that are more fun to shop (see some of my other reviews) but this is worth seeing because of the water and bridges. We didn't eat here, but it looked to me like there were some good dumpling restaurants. There is a McDonald's if you are feeling desperate.

Do NOT buy camera cards from the vendors there. Mine was a counterfeit. (No kidding, I know.) I was in a bind and was willing to try one. Just save your money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeachtreeMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
Level Contributor
235 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Over crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is situated among shopping area you can buy fake items in this area, be carefull my son bought a headphone (beats) here initialy they said 300yuan after bargain he got it for 30yuan so bargain. There are some good eateries in this area. Temple is very crowded I don't sday this is abest temple but the area is nice yuyuan garden is also closeby

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Aadhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Temple Of the Town God (Chenghung Miao) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Temple Of the Town God (Chenghung Miao)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing