We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great perspective of a city plan”

Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.00*
and up
Private Tour: The Face of Modern Shanghai
Ranked #16 of 1,318 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great perspective of a city plan”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I am an architect so this stuff interests me. But I think even people who just want to get a sense of what the central planning of China is thinking for the future would like this. I applaud the government for such a forward thinking exhibit... Some of the exhibits are a little simplistic, the huge model of the city is impressive. definitly worth the time and money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bethfboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    427
    117
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I visited this to get out of the searing heat and fell in love with it. A most fantastic exhibition detailing the history and growth of Shanghai. If you visit nothing else go here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aberkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not your typical tourist 'must do', but well worth the visit”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Brilliant few hours. This was included in a day tour of Shanghai. We worried it would be boring...the planning office??? I have to say it was brilliant. We had a fantastic guide and she knew her stuff. To see the way Shanghai has changed in a few years is amazing. There are different floors in the building with different themes. The 3d experience was fantastic and the scale model of the city proved how it is definately worth touring. Fantastic and well recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrendaR946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great to get oriented with Shanghai”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The centre is good to visit for 1 to 2 hours.

The model of the city is excellent and a great way to orientate yourself with Shanghai.

Other exhibits are also interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank melbourne505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“it is best exhibition in shanghai!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

it is really great! I was there 3 times in last 4months and i can go again! if you want to get feeling how this city is build you have to take it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ablonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing