We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting and somewhat unique”

Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.00*
and up
Private Tour: The Face of Modern Shanghai
Ranked #16 of 1,318 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really interesting and somewhat unique”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I didn't know what to expect, but I was just told to go there, so I did. Really happy I did. There are a number of different aspects to this, but for me the model of the city was just amazing! Its not all of Shanghai, but its a lot of it. They literally attempt to model building by building in some areas. Really impressive (and there's a day/night sequence worth catching every 10 minutes or so).
See the past, see the future, in a very unique way!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    427
    117
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Actually pretty good”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I'm not a very big museum goer but I actually enjoyed this exhibition hall. Good amount of information and exhibits about the history and future of Shanghai but the main attraction for me was the model of the city.

I can't remember if there was an admission fee but I don't think it would be very much if there was one.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“interesting exhibits well presented”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

the exhibition is huge and takes hours to go through if you are interested in shanghai's history, architecture and urban planning this place will be heaven. I liked the one in beijing slightly better but this one still very good, well presented and lots to see. perfect for rainy day or if you're on a longer stay. skip it if you're in a rush or don't like museums.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jetsetqueen54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic primer to the past, present and future of Shanghai”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Yes, the ticket price is steep, but well worth it. So much about contemporary Shanghai defies imagination. This exhibition puts the city into context and provides fascinating insight into where this city has been and, just as interestingly, where it's likely headed. The enormous city model is worth the visit alone, but make sure you stay through the entire night/day cycle (about 5-10 minutes). Also, don't forget to visit the black and white photo exhibit (on the top floor?) for the opportunity to compare today's Shanghai with the city only 20-30 years ago. It's nuts.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
659 reviews
297 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Interesting place to learn about shanghai history and the explosion of Chinese development”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Not a place I would ordinarily have come to visit, but I was not disappointed. First few floors showcases historic shanghai with a lot of archive photos featuring how it has changed through the different eras. 3rd and 4th floor are most impressive that tell about modern china and the technology that went into intel development; planning strategy for the city, neighborhoods, airport, 2010 world expo, etc.
The scale model is really an impressive testament to this city of 23 million (official, unofficially much higher)

Helpful?
Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing