We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ship” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The M/V Oriana

Skipton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely ship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our cruise last week on the Oriana, to the Norwegian Fjords, was a first for us both and we would happily cruise on her again.
P&O's organisation at our Southampton embarkation was first class and we were aboard and sitting by the pool sipping drinks by 11.30am.
When we got to our cabin (outside with balcony), we were delighted with the space and furnishings. Our cabin stewardess, Mary, was a delight. She kept our cabin spotlessy clean and anything we asked for appeared without delay.
The meals were excellent and our waiters in the Peninsula Restaurant were first class. I have a few dietery problems and the head waiter sought me out on the first evening, and then came to see me every evening to discuss my meals for the following day. I couldn't have asked for more.
We also ate in the Conservatory, at times, which is self service and offered a range of meals, all of which were just as good as in the dining room.
The entertainment was superb especially the very professional Headliners who performed most evenings. We also favoured Chas Burnett who played his guitar and sang in the Crow's Nest and The Lord's Tavern.
The only negative was that the organised excursions were VERY expensive and we have learnt by experience that one can do the same trips independently for approximately half the price.
All in all a first class experience and we will certainly be cruising with P&O again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fjords Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

A 7 day cruise that almost delivered.

The plus side: The room, meals and service were excellent throughout.

We arrived in Southampton at noon and were on board and dining by 12:30. P&O have boarding off to a T.

The destinations were Stavanger, Alusund, Geiranger and Bergen. It was so tranquil, fantastic scenery and you could actually smell the fresh air.

Unless you want to further than the towns then all of these destinations are an easy DIY.

Oriana is excellent, love the decor and layout. I would recommend her to anyone. However, overall we felt that there was no life at night. Oriana is an Adult only ship and with this we think P&O are stuck in a time warp.

We are two young 60 year olds and the problem we had was the Disco started at Midnight every night and if it was not for the Lords Tavern bar and Serendipity (resident group) there would not have been a lot for us.

Harlequins was empty most of the night, the maximum we saw in there was 12. Whilst next door the Lords Tavern was full every night and anyone coming in after 10pm was pushed to find a seat.

Crows Nest at night had either a classical concert or a Cocktail pianist.

Pacific Lounge broadcast a live feed from the Theatre every night followed by a either a quiz or game show. The midnight disco was held here.

P&O should remember that Adult ships have over 18's on them and even the 60 and 70 year olds were brought up on Rock and Roll, The Beatles etc, and not on Classical music, ballroom dancing although these seem to be the norm every day and every night.

Overall

Except for the entertainment. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the cruise. We would recommend this to anyone and we will be looking at going here again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oriana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Did a Baltic cruise in late June. The ship was exactly what we expected from P & O in every respect. The food, service, cabins, staff, entertainment were all excellent.

Our only complain is the P & O's habit of encouraging people to book (and pay) early with pretend advantages but then to sell off at massive discounts near to departure. The real annoyance is that people who book late also tend to get upgraded whereas early bookers get stuck where they are first allocated. Sort it out P & O!!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank nellya377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Faultless 3 Night mini cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We travelled from Southampton to Brugge, to Le Havre and back to Southampton. This was our first cruise break although 3 other couples that we travelled with had cruised before. From the moment we boarded the service was absolutely fantastic, from the waiting staff, spa, gym and the food was second to none!
We boarded at around 1.00 on the Friday and a bar-b-que was being served. Then afternoon tea came out at 4.00! We had specifically asked to be seated in The Penisular Restaurant near a window at booking and this is what we got. Food was fabulous. The second night was a black tie event and everyone looked absolutely fabulous. The on board entertainment was first class and we all had a brilliant time and the weather even shined for the first time all May.
If you have never been on a cruise then I fully suggest you try it. you won't be disappointed!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BraddersEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2006

We travelled on the P&O Oriana for the Summer Break cruise in June 06 which visited Amsterdam and Brugge.
The ship was very clean and the cabin was comfortable. We found the cost of drinks to be very reasonable on board and the entertainment was good.
My main grumble was the food. Having travelled on a number of cruise ships, I was disappointed to find a lack of quality and choice with the food offered. When we first boarded in the late afternoon, we were offered finger sandwiches (content very poor) and soggy sausagerolls! Afternoon tea pretty much consisted of much of the same. Breakfast was limited in its offerings in comparison to other ships.
Dinner, however was very good although the service was not up to scratch.
I would not travel on the Oriana again.

Helpful?
12 Thank frankie104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The M/V Oriana also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to The M/V Oriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing