We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shanghai Science and Technology Museum
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:15 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Unbelievably great bargain marketplace for just about anything

I explored the somewhat hidden marketplace below the metro line at the Museum. Great place to get... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
kjowusu
,
Accra, Ghana
via mobile
Best attraction we never made it too

Although our intention was to visit the tech. museum, when we exited the train we found the best... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
mauitr0pics
,
Kyoto, Japan
Read all 512 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Shanghai
from $73.00
More Info
from $61.54
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
from $78.99
More Info
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
59
107
70
45
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
107
70
45
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stuffed animals human body interactive activities animal section kids and adults huge building bargain shopping rainy day underground market metro station great for kids asking price ticket price interesting museum few hours robot imax
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I explored the somewhat hidden marketplace below the metro line at the Museum. Great place to get just about anything for cheap. Be careful as most things sold here range from just slightly standard quality to downright knockoff. Got a few sports hats and a neat pair of gloves for next to nothing.

Pro Tip: Always ask for the price of anything first. Sellers always double or triple prices but are willing to sell for half or a third of their first asking price. So counter with that and don’t budge. They almost always take your named price (I reckon it’s almost impossible for them to sell an item at a loss)

Also, be careful some sellers can be rude and hostile to foreigners while some others are just there trying to rip off tourists.

Thank kjowusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best market in Shanghai!

Catch metro Line 2 Shanghai to Science & Technology Museum near Jinxiu Lu.
There are just isles and isles of stalls as soon as you step off the train. If you’re wanting knock off bags, shoes, clothes, software, gifts etc then this is the place to go.

Bargain hard and walk away to get the best price. Once you’ve figured out the price you can go to multiple stalls to purchase the same item.

Thank hayleenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although our intention was to visit the tech. museum, when we exited the train we found the best bargain shopping underground mall in Shanghai,,,Bargains galore and when I say bargain ...well be careful and be ready to name your own price. My TUMI bag was $499 USD at teh SHanghai airport but I paid $60 in the bazzar...Under Armour jacket was $12 bucks, Seahawks hat $4 dollars...Electronics, clothes, bags jewelery...what a fun couple of hours...in the end, we never made it too the museum but have no regrets!

Thank mauitr0pics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Other reviews pretty accurate. While the building is interesting, the exhibits and flow is off. Maybe I just miss the point - but having the section of animals from around the world seems out of place. Hands on exhibits worn, some broke, nothing exciting. It's an ok place to spend inside on a rainy day. Reasonably priced at 45RMB, and conveniently off a metro stop.

Thank TR_Plus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

First of all never visit on a national holiday. Even with just 90 minutes left before closing we queued for 10 mins to get in. If you go with kids you may have a good time but if not do not expect it to be anything like the London equivalent. Its all a bit tired and mostly hands on interactive stuff for dim adults or children. They do have a number of 3d and 4d films showing which being a national holiday were all fully booked. On the plus side everything is translated into English although I do wish the Chinese would use an English person to do the translation. Those of you have visited China know what I mean. Also on the plus side hence 2 stars is the building itself. Well worth a look. Strange to see animals from Africa and gallery devoted to spiders in a science museum. Best go to the natural history museum for these which is a far superior museum.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Only good for school trips and if you go with children, but not interesting for adult. Was a bit of a disappointment.

Thank michelelS2382GJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Dropped in here to just to see what it was like. Its a unique experience to experience and to see how another culture express their achievements. Well worth a visit, if only for the fact that it offers a break from the AP Market, located next door, where you can just about buy anything.

Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

As with lots of attractions in china be prepared for everything in Chinese. Displays had English descriptions but everything digital (movies) or electronic wasn't. They have a little bit of everything here, from nature, animals to technology etc. Interesting walk around but this place is old and dated. Needs a revamp but I suppose it was relatively cheap to visit so it's all relative. By far the most annoying were the 500+ school kids screaming and shouting tearing the place up. The next thing was that every teacher had a portable loudspeaker around their necks to shout over the screaming kids. They seem to love these devices as loads of people have them. Otherwise an ok morning out.

Thank PaddySA1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Shanghai Science and Technology Museum - Not just for kids alone to enjoy even grown ups can have fun here too!

Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Is a very interesting building. but that's all. old technology (i think that from 4 ou 5 years ago). maybe for kids, but not for adults. don't waste your time.

Thank WEidJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews