We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touristy yet fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yuyuan Bazaar

Yuyuan Bazaar
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Essence of Shanghai One Day Private Tour
Ranked #6 of 506 Shopping in Shanghai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Yuyuan is a bustling marketplace set in an old Chinese neighborhood with traditional architecture and shops selling everything from dumplings to kitsch. A great place for people-watching and picking up Chinese souvenirs, and close to the nearby Yuyuan Gardens.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Touristy yet fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

You can find some beautiful and unique handicrafts there, be prepared to bargain hard and know in advance what you are prepared to spend. Be fair without being taken advantage of.
Yu Garden is a little piece of heaven, so quiet and beautiful. Be sure to visit first thing in the morning before tour groups. The fee is 30rmb. There are two temples around to visit as well.
It is touristy, but all places touristy are nice to visit! Have fun!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joco1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    313
    137
    26
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nan Xiang Restaurant is Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

There is a steamed bun establishment (Nan Xiang) which seems to be local favorite in this market as they form a long queue line for the dumpling.

However, don't bother go to their restaurant which is located in second+ floor. Service is horrible (took forever for the order to arrive), place is dirty, and we eventually had to spent 400 RMB for 4 persons drinks (orange juice and chinese tea), 2 dumpling baskets (each containing 6 small dumplings), 4 soups, and small cold fish.

Realized that this is way overpriced when we went to other eateries the next day where we only pay 700 RMB for a feast of 11 persons (drinks included).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank applecart3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to hangout, gardens are awesome, beware of scams”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Yuyuan Bazaar is a great place to hangout, shop, or eat. Lots of people having fun. The gardens are nice way to escape the madness if only for a moment. Beware of scam aritists as it seems as if they are attracted to this place for the sole purpose of taking advantage of unsuspecting tourists. Avoid ANYONE trying to befirend you for no apparent reason other than because you are you. Be smart. Have Fun!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank StandingByZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

As an Expat living in Shanghai for the next few months, I want to get out and do some shopping. This is an excellent place to shop for souviners and gifts for friends and relitives. But do not be to egar to pay the price marked on the item you want, unless money is no object to you. After my trip here in Feb 2013, I was a bit fearful of being taken advantage of, as I was at the Jade Buddha Temple Gift Shop. This time, was different, I was not so "stary-eyed" and better prepared. The garden area opens at 8:30 am, there is a cost to see this garden (goning there Monday with my husband). The Bazaar shops are free, but do not open until 10 am. i had gone to this Bazaar in the afternoon back in Mar (my first visit to Shanghai), it was VERY crowded. This time I went just as the shops were opening, the crowd was much smaller and making my way thru the many shops was a breeze! I used the "willing to walk away" apporach and was able to purchase 6 pair of pearl earrings, a lovely 4 strand pearl necklace (watched as they strun the pearls, GREAT experience) 3 nice silk scarves, a set of wooden chop sticks, a few nice pieces of jade ( one lovely Rabbit key chain for myself), 3 "jade" laughing buddha's and a snack. All at great prices too! I had such a great experience I am planning another shopping trip next week! If you go: go early in the morning, know what you want to pay for an item, be willing to walk away if the price is to high (as there is another shop down the way who is selling the same item), stay away from the street "hawkers" (you can get better quaility and price at most shops), be selective of the shops as not all have quality items, do not allow yourself to be led into any shop you do not want to go, and most importantly do not be afraid to say no. The street hawkers may require several NO's, I had to get very firm with one fellow. Happy shopping my friends, hoping you have a WONDERFUL shopping experience at the Yuyuan Bazaar!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Charla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
376 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
“Big & Bustling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Although this large shopping complex can be extremely crowded, almost to the point that you wonder if you can move through the madding crowd, it adds a unique dimension to a visit to Shanghai. Even if you are not a buyer, there are a wide variety of boutique shops that are interesting to visit just to see the local handicrafts and sometimes demonstrations of how the items are made. If you are a potential buyer, make an offer for any item at about 1/3 of the stated price. If truly interested, be willing to come up a bit from there but never go above 50%. If you start to leave, the seller will usually meet your offer, but if not go elsewhere.

At the back of the complex is the 16th century Yu Yuan Garden. Created as a private garden, it has been opened to the public since 1961 and ranks as one of Shanghai's most popular attractions. It is both pretty and peaceful despite its many visitors. Well worth a visit if you enjoy beautiful garden settings. A fee is charged to enter.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Mikeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuyuan Bazaar also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Yuyuan Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing