We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"MADE IN CHINA"”
Review of Yuyuan Bazaar

Yuyuan Bazaar
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Essence of Shanghai One Day Private Tour
Ranked #6 of 506 Shopping in Shanghai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Yuyuan is a bustling marketplace set in an old Chinese neighborhood with traditional architecture and shops selling everything from dumplings to kitsch. A great place for people-watching and picking up Chinese souvenirs, and close to the nearby Yuyuan Gardens.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"MADE IN CHINA"”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place is packed, mostly with Chinese. Beautiful restored buildings, a temple, buzzing athmosphere, everything from "junk" to gold and jade. Bargain and bargain if you want to purchase, you could get it for a tenth of the asking price!!!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1MARYMARY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    318
    140
    26
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bargains galore”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This bazaar is next to the lovely Yuyuan Gardens. It has some great bargains, and was a useful last stop on our trip for buying souvenirs. I especially loved the cloisonné Christmas tree ornaments that I got sets of 10 for 100 yuan - a lovely gift plus a set for me. Pearls were reasonably priced too, and there were the usual guys selling 5 Rolexes for ???? Genuine, I am sure. Good food stalls too

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank OscarTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A fun place to visit but just be aware”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Yes, it's not the shopping mecca of the world but it is a fun place to visit to see all the kitschy, touristy stuff. Sometimes, it's fun to bargain and yes, the prices are generally on the high side but for little trinkets and souvenirs for the kids, I don't mind. The place is very crowded and it was so hot and humid during summer so not so fun then. Also not so fun to see locals allowing their toddlers to pee into trash cans right in front of everyone! Yuck! The Yuyuan Gardens is very beautiful and bit of old China to appreciate but need to walk through the bazaar to reach it. The Nan Xiang Xiao Lin Baos are delicious! The line for the take out is very long but we had not problems getting seated in the restaurant which has 2 sides when you reach the top of the stairs. Be aware, the waitresses are very rude! If you don't speak Mandarin, they are very condescending and belittling. Very disturbing! Unfortunately, we could understand her but could not reply. Anyway, like I said, this place is more atmosphere than finding bargains. We had fun with it anyway knowing what to expect! Oh yes, keep belongings close to you...pick-pocketers are out and about!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank spunkymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This was Yuyuan Garden”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Exquisite scenery/garden in Old Shanghai. Loved every minute of it. Koi ponds, winding paths, beautiful stonework.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yuyuan Bazaar and Yuyuan Garden”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It is very peaceful in the gardens. You can't believe just outside of its doors the cacophony of car horns, traffic, the waves of humanitity, the peddlers shoutings and the pungent aromas of dumplings, smelly tofu and other delicacies.

There are peddlers selling cheap trinkets that will probably fall apart before you arrive at your hotel. There are many stores lining the streets but the prices are very shockingly expensive. The goods are cheaply made and the quality of the items is questionable. Also the storekeepers are very aggressive and make for an unpleasant shopping experience.

The bazaar is teeming with people and the gardens are tucked away. Had we not known to look for the gardens you have no idea it's there. The gardens are quiet and definitely worth visiting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuyuan Bazaar also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Yuyuan Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing