We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ashokscm
scmgpl

Centre of Shanghai!!

Review of Charms Hotel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 15, 2012
Decent Hotel right in the centre of Shanghai with the Nanjing Road like a 2 Minutes Walk away.But english speaking receptionists are hard to find and sometimes do manage with the minimal english.The concierges are pretty helpful .Rooms are OK OK but clean toilets and ample supply of Toileteries and Towels and Free Water Bottles replenished daily.
Lots of Eating Place options nearby with KFC's and UBC Coffee House.There is a Haagen Dazs also nearby for your sweet tooth .
Also Nanjing Road is pretty busy in the night so there is no dearth of entertainment there with street dancing and Exercising going on but every 100 metres you will be accosted by Chinese Guys and Ladies selling everything from watches,scarves and what not.

But for the 500 RMB defintely worth a stay and also just a minimum taxi fare trip to Quipo Road or the Fake Market.
Date of stay: September 2012
Room Tip: When booking always book a City View Room otherwise the windowless or infacing rooms will leave...
Trip type: Traveled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$90
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $97
  • Agoda.com
    $67
  • Priceline
    $96
0.6 miles from Charms Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby view
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $109
  • Agoda.com
    $97
  • Vio.com
    $98
0.2 miles from Charms Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
$100
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $79
  • Expedia.com
    $87
  • Hotels.com
    $87
0.1 miles from Charms Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
公寓外观
$136
  • Expedia.com
    $156
  • Agoda.com
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $136
1.4 miles from Charms Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
$86
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $89
  • Vio.com
    $79
  • Hotels.com
    $89
11.1 miles from Charms Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$138
Fully refundable
  • Shangri-La.com
    $138
  • Agoda.com
    $125
  • travelup.com
    $149
1.2 miles from Charms Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$54
  • Expedia.com
    $65
  • Vio.com
    $50
  • Priceline
    $59
2.5 miles from Charms Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
The Classiq Double Room at the Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
$68
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $62
  • Agoda.com
    $62
  • Trip.com
    $72
0.5 miles from Charms Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
酒店大堂
$39
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $35
  • Agoda.com
    $33
  • Vio.com
    $39
8.0 miles from Charms Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$98
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $67
  • Agoda.com
    $65
  • Trip.com
    $71
20.2 miles from Charms Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Shanghai
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveler rating
38
257
207
56
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
257
207
56
49
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 607 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Located southern part of nanjing road. Pretty convenient for shopping. A lot of cafe and convenient store around the hotel.
For the room, small but clean enough. The mattress is quite hard, when I woke up my back hurts.

Date of stay: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trip_of_vienet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

well I thought 4 star hotels would not have rodents but this hotel certainly has. Besides this obvious problem the staff are not welcoming or friendly at reception or maybe this is a general shanghai trait. Other than that bathroom clean shower good, reasonable sized rooms, lifts very slow. No smoke free rooms. The rats thing though.. for a supposed 4 star hotel - try somewhere else!!!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

100% worth if you are looking for hotel less than US $ 75.00 even less than US100....

I was there for 4 days. I found rooms are big... clean and comfortable. Stuff's are wel behaved and very kind..... only problem i faced is, they are bit slow (@ reception).

I didn't try food there.

One of the problem really irritating me is, once you just get in the lobby, you will get very unusal smell around the lobby.

The hotel is very near to Bund and famous Nanjing Road.....

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shahed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was in Shanghai for short transit, wanted to stay in center, the taxi took me to this hotel, didn't mind trying it out, rooms were small, but then thats what you expect being in the center. Hotel was clean, was stone throw away from East Nanjing road, so there was no shortage for eating out or shopping. there was a 7/11 on the other side of the hotel and a nice fruit shop. If you want to stay in center, I think it is a good choice, I didn't had early booking so paid 570 RMB, I am sure booking on the net should be much cheaper.

Room tip: steps of East Nanjing Road, close to all the shopping
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khurram-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

located at the center of shanghai 's huanpu district. very good location for tourist just 2 minutes walk to the famous nanjing road, all you need are here to buy from signature items or made in china products of very good quality. you can even to participate in dancing and exercises in the evenings its fun even just walking along nanjing road . restaurant in the area are all very good and reasonable price hotel is clean. hospitable and respectable staff are always available to you needs. price of this hotel is very reasonable too i will surely recommend to all my friend to stay check this hotel when you plan to stay at charms hotel , special tours are also avaiilable . it was such a memorable experience in my 5 days stay in this hotel

Room tip: rooms facing jiujiang road and nanjing road are big but i guess other rooms are also good i guess as this hotel looks newly renovated
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aidspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews