We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice English speaking hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
Ranked #118 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have been to China numerous times for business and pleasure and it is always nice to stay in a hotel where you don't feel like a foreigner. Most of the staff is Chinese but they can speak english when needed, even house keeping.
The rooms are not huge, but they are clean and well appointed with a flat screen TV, fridge, desk, wireless internet, and a nice bathroom.
The breakfast buffet is very good with a mix of western and asian items.
Coffee is brewed, no instant.
They have a nice bar with many western brands (even knew to put lime in Corona)
If you are doing work in the Caohejing Ni Tech park area this is a great hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors and building B seem to be quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenisSunDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 152 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great value business hotel if you are going to be on business around the area. The room is small but cosy and sufficient for most people on business.

The breakfast spread is predominantly Chinese, with some western breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lous80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great hotel in a good lcoation with access to local transportation via the bus outside the door. The hotel is well appointed with an excellent restaurant with a variety of foods to suit every taste. Big comfortable clean rooms with comfortable beds and pillows. You will not be disappointed to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room to get two views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomoADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here 4 nights on a business trip. For that purpose, the hotel was okay. Rooms are pretty much standard, and complete. Beds are okay, not too hard as you sometimes experience in Chinese hotels. I had a room at the back, which was nicely protected against the street noise at the front. Breakfast offering is okay with plenty of choice of Chinese food items, but also sufficient Western ones. I also had dinner in the Chinese Chinese hotel restaurant, which was really very good and quite affordable. Staff is friendly. If you want to visit downtown, then it will take you about 20 min in the usual dense traffic in Shanghai to reach e.g. the Riverside or Yu Garden.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated near a busy road, so when you check in, ask a room at the back.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LePecheurEnLigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was assigned by my company to have a business trip in Shanghai. Due to the close distance of this hotel with my office, it was chosen for my stay for a duration of about 3 months. (This hotel is near to the Caohejing hi-tech park, within walking distance)

I have booked a specialist apartment which is located at the 13th floor. The check in process is smooth and i was able to enter my room just within 10-15 minutes of processing. Overall impression is that the hotel looks clean and lobby staff are friendly. Nearby the hotel there is a florist shop and a convenient shop. Across the road, there are some local chinese restaurants.

The specialist apartment is spacious, consisting of a living, a kitchen, bathroom with bathtub, a store room and the bed room. It has 2 TVs one in the living and another one in the bedroom. I the living room, there is a big table allowing you to put yr laptop, books or documents on it. If you think the table still not enough for you to use, there is a big cupboard behind the table where there are multiple compartments for you to put your document. The TV has about 40-45 channels, mostly chinese in language.

The kitchen has the filter water machine, a fridge and a electric cooker. Although they provide you with these basic equipments, but you still lack of other utensils like cooking pot or pan, knife, plate, spoon, fork and so on for you to do the real cooking stuff. I have requested for all these utensils but it takes them about 2-3 weeks to really provide me the equipments. (it is quite unsual for a service apartment which does not provide this in the first place)

The bathroom is big, with all the amenities, consist of a bathtub and separated toilet bowl. Overall is clean. The bedroom is nice as there is TV with DVD player. There are about 6 pillows in the room for you to choose. My room is facing the main road, although it has better view but during the morning you will hear the car hone coming from the street.

The breakfast has wide range of selection but during my stay for 3 months, the breakfast menu does not change much. The seat could be insufficient sometimes during the peak hour in the morning. The service of the staff during the breakfast is not that efficient.

During the weekend where i will be in the hotel for the whole day, I will meet the hotel cleaning stuff where they will insist of getting in to your room for cleaning daily even you have put the DND tag on the door. However, I do feel the service provided by the cleaning stuff is excellent where they are so friendly and polite, they will greet you when they come in, finish all the cleaning stuff in less than 20 minutes although the specialist apartment is big. Thumb up for the cleaning stuff of the hotel!

During the check out, based on my observation, the processing of checkout at the counter is extremely slow. So if you have plane to catch, please make sure you do you checkout earlier as everyday I can see people queueing up at the lobby just for the checkout. Only 2 counters are available for the checkout and the staff lack of the skill of multitasking when processing the checkout as they only do one by one for each customer. Sometimes you can see the disappointment of the hotel guests from their face. I think this is one of the improvement the hotel have to make.

Room Tip: The specialist apartment which is located at 12th and 13th floor would be a good choice as the room...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfm9513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hi, usual Chinese check in that takes 30 mins , but that is not the fault of the hotel,reception handled us effeciently , rooms are clean , internet is good , what more could a business traveller request.

Room Tip: Close to Airport < Hongqiio that is
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've mixed reviews about the hotel, overall the hotel is clean, friendly staff, nice in room accessories. I specially liked the lighting arrangement and bathroom accessories...... I got a good deal through hotel.com as I booked in advance. However at the hotel, they first denied the complementary breakfast while I had it printed on the booking confirmation. It took couple of iterations and before they finally agreed to it. Breakfast has decent choices (mostly oriental and continental) but the other meals didn't have as much choices (note that I'm a veggie, chicken and eggetarian) plus I felt the entries are overpriced. The rooms are nice but a bit smaller, the TV had about 45 channels, 3-4 English (a DVD player in room would have been great).

My main concern was with the wifi, which had a problem throughout the hotel, i complaint and they provided me a portable AccessPoint, however that didn't work great either. Another problem I had to change the room 3 times in my 10 days stay, once as I had water leaking in the room during the heavy room (acceptable), second time because the AC in the room wasn't effective and noisy, which they did not fix even after I made a complaint at the front desk (wrote it) and I had to change the room in the mid-night (no acceptable). Luckily they had another room on the same floor. Checkin was smooth however I had to wait for about 25min at the counter to check-out.

The location of the hotel may be good or not so good depending on how you look at it. For example, my office and nearest metro station (about 1.8km) was too close to hire a cab and too far to walk always… Other than the restaurant in the botel, there are no other restaurant/market in the walking distance, however there are plenty in the nearby locations if you want to hier a taxi.

Overall, my stay was ok and worked this time, however I would consider other options before returning to this hotel again.

Room Tip: I was in building B, but I guess they have newer/better rooms in tower A. So consider asking for a r...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank gauravmaheshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
San Want Hotel
San Want Hotel
#194 of 5,111 in Shanghai
171 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
#9 of 5,111 in Shanghai
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Shanghai South
#34 of 5,111 in Shanghai
290 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Huana Hotel (Style)
Huana Hotel (Style)
#217 of 5,111 in Shanghai
75 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#56 of 5,111 in Shanghai
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing

Address: No.509 Caobao Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200233, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Caohejing Development Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $75 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing