We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
StayForLong
$64
Booking.com
$63
Fully refundable before 06/09/23
Expedia.com
$63
Fully refundable before 06/09/23
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
33
55
16
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
33
55
16
6
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 116 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2007

I stayed at the Golden Tulip Shanghai Riverside for four days in November 2007. The hotel looked good on Expedia.ca, was near a metro station, and was acquired at a decent rate ($70 CDN/night). Having never been to China before, I didn't know what to expect. It is above-average in terms of hotel standards there, but would be no more than 2 star accomodation in North America. The rate, while low for Western standards, was quite high for China and didn't really come with any added perks (like a breakfast for instance, which seemed standard at every other hotel I stayed at during my trip).

Location: outside of the touristy spots, but the metro stop is directly behind the hotel. I actually preferred to stay out of the way, as there was no hassle with "art students"/tea ceremony people or Rolex salespeople. You can walk the streets freely with no distraction or bother. There is some Western-influence as well, as evidenced by the Tesco Supermarket, McDonalds and Papa Johns pizza a block away. However, if it's a truly Eastern experience you are after, you will get it near this hotel as well. Just walk and explore.

Room: Clean and comfortable. The beds are hard, but they are like that everywhere here. Unless you have a large budget, don't mistake the water in the fridge for the complimentary bottled water found in the bathroom...it turned into a costly mistake for us ($8 CDN per 250mL bottle). Ouch! Elevators are REALLY slow.

Staff: There are English-speaking staff. Could have been friendlier though. Comparing it to other hotels I stayed at during my month-long excursion, I'd have to say it was one of the worst. A smile goes a long way. There aren't many to be had here.

Date of stay: November 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ladyoblada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

In May, I stayed at the Golden Tulip Shanghai Riverside, a hotel situated in Putuo district in Shanghai.

Before going there, I was a bit afraid of the location of the hotel as I didn’t knew where was Putuo area, but it turn out to be a very good experience as this hotel is in a walking distance from the tube station, only few stops from people square and taxi to go down town in very cheep.

This was a very good value for money stay compare to the other hotels
situated down town shanghai that were much more expensive. Rooms are nice and comfortable.

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank parabsence
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

Nice hotel that has changed a lot since the new management took over. Friendly people and you can see that international management is doing them well.
A little far from the centre, but metro is 50 mtrs from the hotel and you can reach down town in 10-15 mins paying only RMB 4 (about € .040!). If you look at this, than staying here is far better value for money than staying down town.
Good and clean rooms, strongly improved breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HoofddorpBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A Tripadvisor China Member
Reviewed May 8, 2022
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angel Ji, 业主 at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhenping, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2022
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Tripadvisor China Member
Reviewed January 8, 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
reservationSHGZP, 客户关系经理 at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhenping, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews