We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal views from the river side rooms - but facilities just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
Ranked #184 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We made sure we booked a river view room, which made a huge difference. The view across to the pudong district is truly amazing. Our room itself was quite traditional and elegant. Yes there was room for updating and some improvements but overall i was happy with it. The location is fine if you dont mind a few minutes walk to the bund region and main shopping areas. The only downside was the facilities in the hotel, as in the bar and restaurant weren't very welcoming. Staff were helpful when it came to directions but not so much when looking for food or drinks.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 309 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 15, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 2, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 8, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We have travelled the world , but this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. On arrival we tried to up grade to a river room,the staff were very unhelpful with this even as the hotel seemed to be empty, the room we were allocated felt dirty, as the carpet was filthy and very badly stained, the bathroom had mould around the bath the shower did not work properly the towels were very worn out, the mini bar was short of items, we called to complain, to be told the carpet was clean, re-stocked the mini bar.
The breakfeast would have been ok if it was hot, there was nobody to cook the eggs as at the other hotels we stayed at in china. the only good thing about this hotel was the view from the restaurant, on returning from the theatre at 9-45pm we found the bar closed, To be told if we wanted a drink to go out and find a bar, which we would have done had we known where they were!. as the hotel bar was very expensive, more than all the other hotels we stayed at, to check out you have to leave the room,so they can check if anything is missing, never had that before they charged for items from the mini bar, which we had not uesed, they also would not give us a canceled receipt for the 500yuan deposit on our credit card.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoiSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seagull09, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2009

Dear KoiSurrey,

It is unfortunate to know that your experience at The Seagull on the Bund, Shanghai, has not been a pleasant one.

With your feedback, we have conducted a thorough investigation on the points you have raised, however, we were unable to arrive at a case at this point of time. However, we will definitely continue to monitor our guests’ stays in our hotel.

Nevertheless, as each and every guest is very important to us, please be assured that we do pride ourselves at the level of service and facilities offered to our guests at The Seagull on the Bund. As such, should you be visiting Shanghai again in the future, please do allow me to personally welcome you again to our hotel in the very near future.

I will be contactable at our hotel’s contact number.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we most certainly hope to see you again very soon.

Warmest Personal Regards,

John Li
Director of Sales & Marketing
The Seagull on the Bund, Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

This hotel is horrible. It is actually disgusting. We thought this would be nice and close to everything and it is close but I would rather pay for the taxi and drive a few minutes then stay in this hotel.

It is so old. Cracks in the ceilings, Mold in the washrooms. The shower barely works, the water stinks. The beds are hard as a rock. The carpets are filthy. There are many chanels of which 3 are English and they are only news chanels CNN, Bloomsberg.

We always look forward to breakfast. NOT HERE. My husband and I went down for breakfast where they told us to sit at a table that was filthy and full of crumbs. We walked around to see what they offered and all the food was already eaten. They did not refill them. There was only a few fruit and some toast. Other than that they do not have anything worth looking at. Not made to order eggs or omlettes.

I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddie213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

The first view of the lobby is breathtaking! The staff was attentive and responsive - except for at breakfast where they seemed bored and a bit distracted. Our room was a bit small for the four of us, but otherwise quite comfortable and elegant - make sure to request a river view. The view of the waterfront was fantastic! We were able to walk to the Bund and Nanjing Lu with no problem. We were told that the hotel is applying to update their status to 4 stars in preparation for the 2010 Expo which would make them a great value right now.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4fromTIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#92 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,142 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#159 of 5,160 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#72 of 5,160 in Shanghai
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#51 of 5,160 in Shanghai
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagull on the Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagull on the Bund Hotel

Address: No.60 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#161 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $81 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seagull on the Bund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Seagull on the Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagull On Bund Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing