We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not a great experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Seagull on the Bund Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
Ranked #168 of 4,320 Hotels in Shanghai
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night during our business trip to Shanghai. The hotel is perfectly located near the Bund. To take advantage of its location,we booked rooms facing Huangpu River though it was bit costlier than city facing rooms. But, we were surprised to notice dirty carpet inside when we entered into the elevator.Carpet in the corridor and rooms was also stinky.Rooms and bathrooms were small and below average. Morning breakfast was OK as we got some good option to choose from available vegetarian dishes. We had some issues during check-out as attitude of hotel staffs was not at all guest friendly. Perhaps, the only good thing with the hotel was its location. So, I would suggest people to look for some other alternatives as there are very good hotels present nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capricon8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Seagull on the Bund and your comment! We are sincerely sorry for all the disadvantages that you might have experienced during your stay. We will be the rectification of the above problems. We look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    127
    60
    29
    16
See reviews for
27
55
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

It rwally is a shame to stay in this hotel when you are visiting a city with soooo many great hotels to choose from. I did not have much of a choice on this occasion, but I left and moved to Fraser Residence in the French Concession as soon as I could. Mouldy bathroom, smell of sewage, mosquitoes, below average staff and a general sense of being a couple of decades past it's prime. Mind you, the stained glass windows look nice and the view over the river is great, but hey, I was ready to up stocks and move on within a day.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your staying our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered unpleasant experience. We have reported this case to our hotel management. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our service, and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Olanta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed here with a group of Americans on a study trip at Thanksgiving, 2006. We felt very comfortable and safe at the Seagull. Our visit was to examine educational practices of Chinese schools and community centers. The entire stay was 4 nights. All was clean and comfortable in the spacious rooms. We didn't eat here except for breakfast which was reasonably Western in content. There are Tai Chi performers outside on the plaza that is just outside the breakfast room. The views are superb--the Bund and skyline are spectacular from this vantage point. All plumbing was working well and easy to decipher.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Euro-lust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Seagull on the Bund Shanghai. We are delighted that the hotel met with your expectations. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I just got to this hotel and it will be our one an only night. The hotel is old and the staff is rude and NOT helpful at all. The rooms are incredibly small, old, and ugly! They are in really poor state, the bed is hard, you get the feeling of being sleeping on the floor, makes you wonder why do they even bother to put something that I wouldn't call a bed. We booked this hotel by mistake, and seriously it was a HUGE mistake, the bathroom has a leek suuuupeer annoying, they DONT have WiFi! How can they call themselves a 4 star hotel! I try to get us an upgrade, and the ladies from the front desk just said that they were full, on a tuesday? They gave me the impression that they just didn't want to help us out... What kind of hotel refuses to give their guests an upgrade! We were willing to pay...
The TV doesn't work, our window view couldn't be worst. This hotel has made my first visit to Shanghai a living HELL. DONT STAY HERE. 4 stars??? The only thing I would give them is an ending point.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience during your stay with us. This should definitely not happy and I have addressed these issues to the department heads and associates. Please accept my sincere apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I never know that I can get a very nice view room with a very good price here!
We had a riverview room facing The Bund and Pearl Oriental Tower.

The Bund is just a walking distance and if you plan to have a cheap trip around Shanghai, you can opt for a CitySightseeing bus at The Bund area.

The receptionist here can speak English :)
Room is very clean and decorated in European style.

I will definitely come back here again!
Very good deal!

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clumsyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We appreciate your recommendation of the Seagull on the Bund as the choice hotel to stay, and we certainly look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nothing wrong with the hotel room at all. Clean, efficient and professionally-run place, at a reasonable price considering the proximity to The Bund (10-minute walk). If you're a photographer the views are pleasant enough, but windows that don't open fully mean you have to shoot through some dingy windows if you want to get a decent angle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeley_Tweedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and it is good to see that our hard work is paying off. Please do contact me whenever you plan to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Chose this hotel and location for the value and the views. Shanghai itself was a thrilling experience as I tried to keep everything on a Budget. Since I arrived early, I walked from Nanjing East to the Bund, and took that all the way to the Seagull. You can see it on your left and side approaching the Bund and notice the older style building compared to other buildings in the vicinity. The staff is plentiful in the day but they lack urgency to help or assist or to be friendly. Customer Service lacks here! The great part is that the room and views of Pudong and the Bund is fantastic. It makes up for the rudeness of the staff at the Bell Desk, the front desk, and concierge. Ive always felt safe here and having couple of convenience store across the street and down the road is needed to get water, snacks, and drinks. The views at night along the River is a must!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kianaplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing The Seagull on the Bund and your comment! We will strengthen the rectification of the quality of service, and strive to provide guests with quality service and experience. We look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#123 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#65 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
People’s Square
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#1,404 of 4,320 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
South Bund
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#138 of 4,320 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagull on the Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagull on the Bund Hotel

Property: The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
Address: No.60 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#148 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seagull on the Bund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Seagull on the Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagull On Bund Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing