We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Convenient and great pricing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Seagull on the Bund Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
Ranked #168 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient and great pricing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Chose this hotel and location for the value and the views. Shanghai itself was a thrilling experience as I tried to keep everything on a Budget. Since I arrived early, I walked from Nanjing East to the Bund, and took that all the way to the Seagull. You can see it on your left and side approaching the Bund and notice the older style building compared to other buildings in the vicinity. The staff is plentiful in the day but they lack urgency to help or assist or to be friendly. Customer Service lacks here! The great part is that the room and views of Pudong and the Bund is fantastic. It makes up for the rudeness of the staff at the Bell Desk, the front desk, and concierge. Ive always felt safe here and having couple of convenience store across the street and down the road is needed to get water, snacks, and drinks. The views at night along the River is a must!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kianaplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing The Seagull on the Bund and your comment! We will strengthen the rectification of the quality of service, and strive to provide guests with quality service and experience. We look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    128
    60
    29
    16
See reviews for
28
55
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very happy with the location of the hotel as it was just around the corner from the wonderful sights of the Bund.
We did not have a river view which you should ask for when booking but did not care about the view as we could experience the Bund first hand. Of course the view would be preferable but not essential.
This hotel is,on face value, ok with good sized rooms. However our bathroom had large areas of rust around the bath which was very offensive for a so called good hotel. Toiletries selection very good. Breakfast is nothing exceptional but adequate.
Hotel is certainly in need of a complete refurbishment but is ok for the price considering the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view as this can make up for the Hotel looking tired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivets1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing The Seagull on the Bund and your comment! We will strengthen the rectification of the quality of service, and strive to provide guests with quality service and experience. We look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in June, when on a business trip.
Room was fine, good selection of toiletries in the bathroom. Comfortable beds. 2 English speaking channels on the flatscreen TV. The building itself shows signs of wear and tear here and there, but overall fine. Breakfast not very good. The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right on the Bund, with fantastic views of the Bund. Easy to get to the various places in town, taxis are right outisde. Staff very friendly and helpful. I am considering this for my next trip to Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was only interested in a river view room but after a mix-up it didn't seem to be what I had booked. Fortunately I had mentioned it in the booking comments and was upgraded to a suite with the perfect river view. Staff were very helpful and the suite was well above my expectations. My only complaint - the foyer - I'm no longer used to cigarette smoke and don't like it. I was worried that the room might be the same but it wasn't ( or I had got used to it). I will stay here again as it is very convenient. It isn't easy to get to by Taxi - I learned to walk the last 100 yards, much quicker than trying to negotiate the entrance/exit maze.as the hotel is just off the main drag.

Room Tip: I booked river view (I think) but my booking came back 'executive' with no mention of river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is a little old and more than a little odd. Certainly good value and staff are very helpful indeed. I was surprised by the water beds and the excellent view plus a brilliant location. The hotel is very near to the bund and the very popular streets for wedding photos. A bit of a walk to the nearest underground station but you can't have everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollywells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
408 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Like many who have written reviews here, this hotel worth specially for the view . The hotel is rated 4 stars, but it certainly does not have the staff and the services of a hotel of this ranking. Situated at the very end of the Bund the hotel has a great location and facing the Pudong . The entrance is beautiful and as soon as you enter is possible to see the stunning bar in belle epoque style. The rooms are very tidy with beautiful classic decor and amazing views both to the bund and pudong. The staff, formed by a group of women, working in the concierge, needs urgently lessons in friendliness and helpfulness. Anything that you ask it seems it is a nuisance and sometimes the behavior of some of them came to be rude! Also, if you arrive at the hotel after 10 pm, seems that you are getting in a haunted house, all dark and only one of those employees are working hidden behind the concierge. It seems like those hotels in western movies. If the hotel had better prices i would recommend, despite the issues.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The best about this hotel is it's location at the Bund and the nice atmosphere in the lobby and the hotel in general. Breakfast ist ok but nothing special and the staff speaks only very little English. However, the river view from the room was great and impressing!

Room Tip: River View is Top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ucg-han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#123 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#62 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
People’s Square
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#1,475 of 4,324 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#121 of 4,324 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagull on the Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagull on the Bund Hotel

Property: The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
Address: NO. 60 Huangpu Road, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#150 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seagull on the Bund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Seagull on the Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagull On Bund Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing