We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
Ranked #187 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My first trip to Shanghai and the Seagull Hotel was perfectly located right on the river and a short walk to the entertainment area on Nanjing Rd as well as the waterfront area of the Bund. A great view across the river to Pudong when it wasn't too smoggy although that wasn't too often. Room was very comfortable and well appointed although the pillows were not to my liking. Breakfast was extensive and had something for everyone although it was a touch pricey and it was tough to get a hot coffee... thank goodness a Starbucks is a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river and you can open your window and watch and listen to the boats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 306 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Seagull on the Bund is located in a good spot right ff the Bund, steps away from the exorbitantly priced Peninsula hotel, and across the street from the budget gem Astor House. Because I stayed in the Astor House before, I thought I would give the Seagull a try. Not money wasted, but money that could have been better spent.

The location is great. The front desk staff were capable, if nothing more. The hotel is a bit more modern than the Astor House across the street, but lacks charm. Some great views, especially if you go up to the 12th floor, where the restaurant and banquet facilities are found, as well as a worthless gym that looked like nobody had used it in years.

My room was clean, the common areas were well-kept, and the value for the money was just fine. Still, in saving $20 by staying at the Seagull just to try it out, I missed a chance to stay at the Astor, which has a much livelier atmosphere and tons of charm. Next time, I'll spend the extra 20 bucks...but still, this is one of the best areas in Shanghai for the budget traveler to settle in for a few days. Perhaps some of the other hotels in the area are also worth checking out for location and value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuttersFort2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My fiancé and i stayed at the Seagull during a weeklong trip to Shanghai. This trip was split into two parts, two days in a city view, a quick trip to Beijing and then three days n a River view. First off let me say that this hotel has a fantastic location that is really hard to beat for the price. The view and the proximity to the bund is amazing. It was an easy walk to the Riverwalk area, local bars and restaurants. Hailing a cab from the courtyard for distant travels is a breeze and the subway only a twelve minute walk. The location of this hotel is the main reason I haven’t given this hotel a terrible review though.

When it comes to room quality and customer service this hotel needs some improvement. When we arrived we were greeted with English speaking staff but they seemed bothered by our presence. Immediately we were told that our requested single queen bed room was not available all they had was a twin bed double room. I found this hard to believe as the hotel seemed like a ghost town. Since our trip was split and we would be returning later that week for a river view I didn’t mind. I was reassured by the staff that when we return a single bed room would be available. Sadly this was not the case. When we returned we were again told only twin beds were available. After about 30 minutes of “convincing” we were able to get two double beds. A tip for anyone requesting specific sleeping arrangements, get this in writing from the staff.
As for the rooms I consider them typical for this area. They are clean and neat and the bedding it nice. The typical is the construction. Anywhere you go in china you can tell when contractors are in a rush. Outlets are upside down, light switches backwards, shower doors inverted. One of the rooms had an outlet that was completely removed from the wall. Again, noting dirty just poorly constructed.
All in all when you think about what you’re paying and the location you can look past these things, or at least I can. I’ll be back to the bund in the future for sure now knowing a bit more of what to expect.
One last thing… Their wifi is terrible and can only be accessed from their Lounge. If you’re going for business either buy a sim card with wifi options or bring a wad of cash for the expensive drinks.

Room Tip: Get all your requests in writing, don't trust the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We got back to the hotel about 9 o'clock one evening and wanted a cup of coffee, the hotel has a bar with great views of Pudong so we thought we'd go in there and see the lights while we had our drink, the bar wasn't busy but the waitress seats us up the corner looking away from the view! Having been put off by that plus the rather grim atmosphere in the bar we decided to leave and try the 1st floor 24 hour coffee shop which also has great views, as we walked into the coffee shop the two 'greeters' were on their mobiles, both rolled their eyes at our approach and when one of them finished their call we said we wanted some coffee only to be told 'No no no, no coffee here!' we were then directed to the bar in the lobby area and on arrival there were told they were shutting so no coffee!
How can it be beyond a 4 star hotel to provide two cups of coffee at 9pm?!
It's a real shame as the hotel is very good, great location next to the Bund and less than a ten minute walk from a metro stop. our room was also lovely.
The staff though have no interest in the guests and just view them as an annoyance who disturb them from texting or chatting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We were enjoying The Bund at night and found this nice looking restaurant during our walk. We found it interesting when we viewed it from Oriental Pearl Tower. It has a nice view and good infrastructure.
However, personnel was more interested in going home than provide a good service. Besides, we order a beef hot pot that was disapointing to say the least. We enjoyed way better hot pots for a fraction of the price.
I will not recommend this place.

Thank Mutescream
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you're coming to Shanghai for touring of the city, shopping and nightlife of the city then this hotel would be suited for you. It is in a great location - with great views of the Bund and River. Be sure to get a room with a view if you plan on spending any time in it. Yes the hotel has smoke free rooms but the smell travels throughout the air conditioning system anyway. Nice size beds and comfortable sheets - amenities nice. Breakfast buffet had plenty to offer in terms of Asian food, western offerings were limited and not well done. We were a family of four and we had a great view of the New Years Eve fireworks on the barges that evening. It is the views and the price of the room compared to other hotels on the Bund that make this a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to get something on the Executive Floor facing the river. The Executive Suites are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKKEXPATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great location but offers nothing else in terms on facilities and choices.

Located next to the Russian Consulate and minutes walk to the Bund and Nanjing Road.

Choose rooms with a view of the Bund ... its worth to spend the extra money. The hotel has nothing else to offer.

Service is ok. Smoking not permitted in the lobby and other public areas - a plus point in China.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YongG537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#83 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,127 reviews
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#181 of 5,146 in Shanghai
547 reviews
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#53 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,078 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#160 of 5,146 in Shanghai
744 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagull on the Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagull on the Bund Hotel

Address: No.60 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#161 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $68 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seagull on the Bund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Seagull on the Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagull On Bund Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing