We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here for a 3 night stop over on the way to Japan in a 2 bedroom apartment. We had 2 single beds in one room, and another single in the second bedroom. Heating was good. Breakfast was included in our room rate, certainly filled us up, but, not the best quality. Taxi from airport was $AU25. Taxi to the bund was $AU3. Check in and check out were slow, and there were some communication issues, but we managed. Electricity wasn't turned on in the room when we checked in, and we needed to get housekeeping to fix this for us, after accidently pushing the emergency button while feeling around in the dark. Room was very clean. Close to the metro, but walked to most places. Lots of supermarkets very close by. Large room provided much more space than a hotel room for a family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 644 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks as part of our relocation to Shanghai.
The area is nice and lively, with lots of local food, but a bit too busy and dirty at night.
The apartment itself was ok, except that in the kitchen we could not cook anything as the cooker was with induction and they do not stock the pots suitable for induction cookers. Also, the pots they stock are used - and not a good quality - which means we spent a lot of money on eating out.
Ask for the room with gas cooker if you intend to prepare your own food.
Apart from this, the rooms were okay, the kitchen and the dishes were washed daily, but we did not see them using any liquid detergent for that - just plain water! So make sure you stock some.
Hailing a cab in the morning is a nightmare on the main road, but hotel staff was very nice and they even send out 2 guys with walkie talkies to hail you a cab. That was super helpful.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
7  Thank jelenaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The 2 rooms apartment that supposedly catered for 3 persons (as only 1 bathroom) was excellent for 4 of us, my family with 2 young kids. Pool was good and the gym (always empty) was like a private gym. Easy access to Metro and even can walk to Yuyuan garden and the Bund.

Room Tip: They are not so particular about no. of person in the room, if travel in a family of 4, the 2 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vloong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

we 3 adults stayed here for 3 days in july. We'd arrived in Shanghai early morning and arrived at the apartments about 9:30 am and to our surprise we could move into our 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was very spacious but don't expect to cook ,as there is very little in the way of crockery. Just round the corner there are small supermarkets, bakeries ,fruit shops. There was no info about the facilities in our room and when we saw another guest get into the lift with a towel we discovered the fantastic pool, huge , clean and with an attendant. In the change rooms are hot and warm spa pools.
We bought 24hr sightseer bus tickets, stops are within easy walking distance from the hotel.
Not much English spoken, asking where we could get a cup of coffee was impossible at reception. We'd recommend staying here and especially Yunnan St. 2 blocks away for an evening meal and fun experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggieandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were in Shanghai for 3 days last week and chose this apartment (2 rooms apartment) as we were travelling with kids. We were so impressed to see how accurate the reviews were. Very spacious & clean rooms, very responsive staff, despite the language barrier, they some how deliver what we wanted. As is was very cold outside, the living hall was so cold, the heater was not able to heat it up that well, perhaps that can be improved. The heaters also took about 30 mins before we could feel the effect. Location wise is not bad, about 20 mins walking to The Bund and also Nanjing road. The restaurant in level 2 served dinner until 930pm, so we did not starve, not bad choice of food. Overall, very suitable if you are looking at a short stay in Shanghai especially with young kids.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suresm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stay for 4 days in a 3 bedrooms apartment. Clean, nice and spacious apartment for 4 people. The best part of this apartment is the great location. It is conveniently located near to most tourist destinations and of course the Bund. We travel by taxi mostly and all of the attractions are located within 10-20mins away. Definitely will stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our apartment had 2 bedrooms and a sitting area. There was a kitchen. All very clean and nice. And the hotel is in the heart of the city. Checkin took a lot of time. Otherwise if you are on holiday this is the place to stay with your family.

Room Tip: Choose a larger apartment, marginally more expensive but worth what you get in return.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank anildhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#64 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,773 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,785 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 353 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: $101 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing