We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Harbour Service Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveler rating
173
369
79
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
369
79
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentpeople's squarenanjing roadsmall kitchenpots and pansthese apartmentswashing machinedining tabledashijie stationminute walkshanghai museumliving areafood streetwalking distancepeople's parkcentral locationnoodles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 658 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

With any serviced apartment, we weren't expecting much. We had booked this place on our first visit to China. My husband and I were travelling with my mum, so we booked the 2 bedroom apartment.

We stayed for 9 days, 8 nights.


Location:
We had a fantastic view of the Bund, and on clear days and nights, we could see the "I Love Shanghai" lights from across the harbour.
Hotel was found by taxi drivers easily. We caught a cab to the hotel from the main station from Airport.
We then used the Shanghai metro to go everywhere for the rest of the stay. The hotel is 2 mins walk from Da Shi Jie station. It is 5 mins walk from ShineSun plaza, which is where you go for all your electronic devices. It is also 10-15 mins walk to Bi Fen Tang restaurant, which was great value food.
From Da Shi Jie, you can catch the metro anywhere - People's Square, Airport, Bund (east Nanjing Road) or French Quarter (Xin Tian Di). Get the 3 day pass, download the Shanghai metro app on your smartphone and go.
We found the Serviced Apartments was in the non-touristy part....with older 1930s courtyard compound houses, and way from the Bund, so we got to see some local markets in the mornings and evenings. We wandered to explore the area, and were not disappointed in the location. Close enough to the Bund without having to pay silly prices and still get to see what's left of OLD Shanghai....I strongly suggest taking the time to explore this area. Don't know if it's all going to change in the next few years.


Service:
Staff weren't "professionally trained" - no forced smiles, but they were helpful, prompt and did do their best to help. Rooms were very very clean.

Amenities:
Better than I expected - the pool and gym are fantastically maintained, very clean, and felt more like a country club than a typical Western idea of serviced apartment. The ladies change rooms were more luxurious than I expected - with spa baths, steam room, separate showers, lockers. It was similar to a 5 star day spa I've visited in the Hunter Valley (Australian wine region) rather than a serviced apartment.

Food:
Had breakfast everyday - wasn't bored once. They don't have barista coffee, but filtered coffee. Still, quality of food was great. Didn't expect this of a serviced apartment - I had thought we'd only get milk, cereal and toast, but they offered cooked eggs, congee, fruit platter, salad, meat, cheese, cakes/ pastries, variety of noodle/ rice/ bacon/ sausages and rotated the menu - was a really nice surprise.

Book this place to get some hotel amenities, service, food, and still get to wander to take in local Shanghai.

Room Tip: The higher the better - you will get great views and less traffic noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sydneypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with family. I couldn’t fault the room, it was very comfortable and we could have stayed longer. 2 bedroom with lounge, small kitchen, HBO channel to watch some movies, very clean and a great view from the 26th (2603) floor looking towards the museum and Peoples Square. AC units were the best we found during our visits to China and the wi-fi was faultless. Laundry on the 3rd floor was most convenient. Serviced daily without a hassle and checkin and checkout were also hassle free as they did speak a little english. Close proximity to Shanghais attractions and if you ventured further afield Taxis were very cheap, just don’t get ripped off by rogue taxi drivers (they are a minority). We paid $150 AU per night through Wotif and I was more than happy with what we received.
The only negative was that if you wanted western utensils, you had to hire them and the breakfasts were ridiculously overpriced at 88RMB pp. We ate at the many places along the streets. Had 1 nights dinner in the restaurant which was ok, not the best chinese cuisine but very convenient. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again or recommend to others

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for some great views of Shanghai
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed there from 31st August till 4th September 2013. Very well located with lots of facilities around including the subway station. Staff manage with passable English and are helpful.
In the kitchen they have an induction cooker and must advise guests if cooking utensils can be hired in the hotel. Whils swimming is free for hotel residents but charge 60 Yuan for a bathing cap for ladies and it is compulsory.
Very easy walking distance to the Bund, Yuan Gardens, Nanjigf East Road and People"s Square.
While they asked for a 1000 Yuan deposit at check in but later found that they had charged my credit card for 4000 Yuan (why). It takes almost 20 days for the charge to be reversed . Perhaps an explanation is required.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snigamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here on arrival in Shanghai for five nights before traveling to other cities, and again 3 weeks later for two nights before flying home. The first time the apartment we were given had four separate rooms: bedroom, lounge/dining room, bathroom, and kitchen. The kitchen had excellent facilities. The second time our apartment was smaller (only 3 rooms: bedroom, lounge room and bathroom) and no cooking facilities.
As in all the Chinese hotels we stayed in, the beds were very hard.
The hotel is in a good position for most tourist sites and activities. About a twenty minute walk to the Bund. A short walk to People's square and Nanjing Street.
Close to a variety of cafes and two small supermarkets virtually next door.
It is much cheaper to take a taxi from the airport rather than book a car online to pick you up from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baz30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Mainly stayed in a two bed suite on the 20th floor looking out to the Huang Pu. I have stayed at this property many times over the years. It's definitely going downhill....This time I had to call back housekeeping to re-clean before moving into the room and even after this there was still a thick layer of dust on all of the skirting boards. I also stayed in two other rooms in this hotel during my stay in China- all three had weak showers and baths that did not drain correctly or flooded the floor when they did! There was badly peeling wallpaper in several of the rooms and the window seals have hardened and shrunk so they are no longer effective. Another annoyance was that the individual floor corridor aircon units were not turned on at any time, even though it was 32C outside. Definitely not a four star experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaldoraTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews