We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice Apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

A very nice apartment hotel very clean nice dining room good food and full of excellent staff.who helped get the taxis for us including back to the airport very cheap to where ever you wanted to go. This apphotel is idealy situated in the middle of everything, a ten minuet walk to the famouse Bund where you can stroll along or go on a river cruise as we did but at night with all the buildings lit up it was brilliant, then not two far away was the old town full of lots of suprises and bargans if yoiu want to haggle. Will i go again yes in fact i plan to go in may 2013. ps free wifi just get the code from reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    342
    72
    22
    13
See reviews for
260
72
37
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel several times using a variety of rooms from a one bedroom suite to a three bedroom unit. It has plenty of room, a swimming pool, gym and is close to the subway, restaurants, parks, grocery shops. It is a quick walk to the bund or Yu Gardens. With a small child this is the only place we stay when we visit shanghai. The breakfast in the restaurant isn't much (but we are not a fan of most Chinese hotel breakfasts anyway). Some of the rooms can be a bit smokey and the furniture can be a bit run down. But we love all the space and the free cale Internet in the room. If you have a family and are visiting shanghai this is the place to stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drachten
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We rented a 3 bedroom appartment on the 17th floor. It was nice, clean and cosy. We stayed for 3 nights with a group of 3 adults and 2 children (5&2years). The master bedroom with a queensize bed and en suite bathroom and on the other site of the living room 2 bedrooms, a small room with 1 small bed and another room with a double bed. These 2 rooms shares a common bathroom. A small kitchen with equipment ( microwave, refrigerator) but without kitchen ware which you can hire per day. Chinese table ware for 4 persons provided and if you wish you can rent western table ware for the whole stay.
The location is convenient to explore the city, Nanjing road, the Bund, people's square are within walking distance. Supermarkets and a lot of restaurants round the corner so we didn't feel the urge of using the kitchen.
It is a nice place to stay and we will surely recommend it and will consider to come back if we'll visit Shanghai again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royDrachten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Booked to stay in their "Executive Bedroom Suite" with Expedia. The booking stated: A room on the 16-25th floor, with free DVD Player, luxury interior, slippers, free WiFi and lots of other things.

The room they gave me:
Standard Room, grim boring interior. Nothing like the photograph.
10th Floor. Well below the Executive Rooms on the 16th floor upwards.
No DVD Player. 1 channel in English.
Old "big" television from the 1980s, not a flat screen tv.
Wired internet 15RMB per minute, through the hotel room's phone. Not free. No WiFi.
No slippers. Not much else either.
A bare kitchen with just two plates and two mugs, and two chopsticks.
No glassware. No pots. No pans. No cutlery.
Four tea bags, and two sachets of sugar!!! Brilliant.
A broken fridge, which kept heating up.
Windows single glazed and loose, with wind blowing in all day. Freezing cold hotel room.
Room was measured by us at 68sq/m, not the 97sq/m one we'd paid for.

Getting the deposit back on check-out was a nightmare, it took them 25 minutes to find the booking. They claimed it was our fault for destroying the deposit reciept (which stupidly has the full card number printed on it!).

Gave the hotel the chance to correct their mistake - Went to the reception desk an hour later and asked if my room was an Executive Room - they insisted it was. They stated the WiFi was "not free" and the "DVD players could be 'rented' for a fee", but they'd ran out.

Later, on returning home, I emailed the General Manager to ask for the difference in money paid back. Their response was excuse after excuse. They failed to refund the extra money they stole for an Executive Room. Although they did apologise "for my confusion" (!!!!) they have still not apologised for "taking my money".

--- To this day, they still deny giving us their cheaper, standard room ---

They are crooks who don't care about guests, especially Westerners. How Expedia gave them an Insider's Award in 2010 is completely beyond me. Stay somewhere else ...I've also stayed at the lovely Bund Riverside Hotel for much less money.

I've worked in hotels for some time, and this place is one to avoid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobWedekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 3 nights with 2 teenagers. The kids had their own room with a double bed while we had a larger bedroom with a queen bed. The apartment was very clean. It is conveniently located within walking distance to Nanjing Road andi peoples square. You have to walk through some side streets which was interesting. There is plenty of supermarkets around as well as starbucks and mcdonalds. There is a kitchen with microwave and fridge. Housekeeping did an impeccable job of cleaning. There is also a pool and hot tubs. The only issue we had was that taxi drivers seemed not to know about this place. Also the front desk staff at night did not speak good english.

Helpful?
1 Thank twosons08
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
202 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed for three nights as a family of four. Really central. Clean and reasonably equipped. Supermarkets right on the block. Great place to explore the city from. Will definitely use this again. Small kitchen was adequate for getting simple meals together. There's a washing machine if you are there for longer - we didn't use it. Kids' room was fine and adults get to have some alone time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here last week.Great location.We had a 2 bedroom apartment and would defiantly
stay here again.Staff were terrific and friendly.
Maybe the breakfast could have had more Western food.
Make sure you carry the address with you as, not all taxi drivers knew where this place is.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretS257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Property: New Harbour Service Apartments
Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 293 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing