We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartments for 4 nights. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean.We found the staff very helpful and accomodating. The apartments are well located within walking distances to The Bund, Nanjing Road, Peoples Square and other places of interest. Great to come back to the clean pool, spa, steam room and sauna after a long day exploring the sites of Shanghai. . A choice of both western and chinese breakfast. Not a great variety but sufficient, otherwise there are plenty of local eateries near the Apartments. The train station is nearby, however taxis are so cheap and easy to come by. I recommend that you have places you want to visit written in chinese as the taxi drivers speak no english. Overall I would highly recommend the New Harbour Apartments, Very reasonably priced and good value for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank molly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 650 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for 7 days and in 2 check-ins after venturing into Hebei and Beijing and both times were good. Depending where you wanted to be. If you are keen on using subway this may be for you. It is a short walk to subway and McDonald, kfc, and lots of Chinese eateries. 15 mins walk to Nanjing road and about 20 to the Bund. No big supermarket close by but few small convenient stores within a short walk. A typical Asian shopping surrounding in commercial area. If you are looking for big supermarket conveniences this is not for you.
The residence is dated but clean and well managed. Staffs are helpful and always have one English speaking staff on duty during the day. Staff will assist you with train ticket purchases and foreign currency exchange.
The apartment is reasonably spacious with separate bedroom, sitting and bathroom. Not all kitchen utensils are provided. It is tucked in between small streets and can be difficult for unfamiliar drivers, so have the address (in Chinese characters) and the residence’s contact number handy (taxi driver can call for direction). If you are not familiar with the area, it is quite easy to get lost.

During the one month in Shanghai, Hebei and Beijing, we have mastered the subway system and it is an inexpensive way to travel across towns and shopping, we have thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Surprised to see neither GPS nor navigators are used in taxis.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were immediately impressed. Our apartment was much more spacious than we expected; very clean, modern and comfortable. The pool was also clean and larger than the photos indicate. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment (two adults, two children) for 4 nights. Nearly everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. People's Square, The Bund, Old Town, French Concession and the near end of Jing'An were literally any easy stroll away (even with two kids). The area has lots of local character and charm. Supermarkets and local restaurants surround the apartments so you will be spoilt for choice with food. The kitchen only contained 2 bowls, plates, mugs and chopsticks (tricky with four of us!) but more kitchen equipment can be hired if you really want to self-cater. With the price of local food I don't know why you would though. The staff spoke enough English for us to get by and were very friendly, although lengthy conversations might have been tricky... perhaps we just needed to improve our Chinese?! I would definitely recommend and wouldn't bother to consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We were on level 5 so didn't get much in the way of views (although the windows were large so pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzeA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. The property is in a local neighbourhood, therefore the supermarkets of which there are at least 5 cater for local chinese, very little western food, OK for basics, ie tea, coffee, yoghurt, bread. Although the apartment came with a kitchen this was not the reason we chose this property, the kitchen had a large fridge, microwave and jug. mugs and some plates provided, but no pots, pans knives and forks, but these can be hired at a nominal fee. WE chose this property for the space - lounge with TV and a seperate bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Apartment serviced daily. There is a laundry on the 2nd or 3rd floor, excellent swimming pool, and gym. We had breakfast in the restaurant, 88yuan, very resonable. Full buffet, western and asian. ATM in the foyer, which we used daily. Staff all spoke English and very helpful. Make sure you don't leave the hotel with out a good map and the name and address of the hotel written in chinese. Very easy to get lost as the streets around the hotel narrow and very similar. Easy walk to Bund, Peoples Square and Nanjing Rd, anywhere else suggest a taxi - very cheap or Metro. Travellers away from home for the first time need to be confident and independent to stay here, could be a bit too 'local' for some. A Great place to stay for people here on business for long term who don't want the worry of renting. Great value for money. Oh yes the beds are a little on the hard side!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polyesterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel/Apartments are located close to most of the main attractions and very close to the metro lines. The staff spoke English quite well and were very helpful. The apartments were clean and had lots of room. The apartments were also very close to lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: Using the metro system is easy and very cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for 8 nights and found it perfect. The apartment was spacious. The location allows you to walk to many tourist locations, such as the Bund, markets, parks, Dashijie metro station, the French concession and 'old Shanghai street'. Service was perfect, and friendly. As mentioned in other reviews, there is a supermarket close by. We took cutlery, as recommended in tripadvisor reviews, which was a good tip. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Take some cutlery. Take a portable DVD player, particularly if you have children - good for the flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was an amazing "find". Frequented by foreigners for its long-term accommodatiion aspect, this place is situated in the middle of downtown and so convenient. Only a very short walk from the Dashijie Subway station and surrounded by local restaurants and a supermarket, this is an ideal place for a "first stop" in Shanghai if you are thinking of settling down, although it maybe a little expensive for that if you are not on Western wages. The facilities were excellent as was the breakfast buffet - a little small in terms of selections but the quality could not be faulted. The rooms, being Serviced Apartments, were amazing. The separate kitchen to separate lounge area made it feel like home. I am a little confused as to why the kitchen did not supply the basics eg. glasses, cutlery etc, but I would hope that they could be supplied on demand. I would definitely stay here again which is recommendation enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 394 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: $87 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing