We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Bad facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
Ranked #148 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Well this was my first stay at this hotel.This place has the best convenient location for the 'very-first-time traveler to Shanghai' like me. Walking distance to Waitan and East-Nanjin metro station was so so convenient. Famous travelling spots, such as Xintiandi or Taikanlu, all close by Line#10. And, though this hotel located near by the main street, it was quiet and you might can hear a pear of a bell from the bund. I'm not sure it always rang out, but i heard at 7a.m.
I stayed in a single room. Television didn't work and hair-dryer wasn't equipped (available on request at the reception!), the temperature control didn't seem to work well for both the room and the shower. It has a bath tub, seems not clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minuit803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 178 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

I booked a deluxe room from the 18th to 22nd October. The photos on the websites paint a far better picture of this hotel than will be experienced. My room (and the whole hotel) had the air-conditioning dissabled even thouth the temprature was 25 deg. Celcius , when I asked reception why they said it was hotel policy for that time of year and not to worry " just open the windows", yes there are plenty of windows, however there are also plenty of moscuitoes which kept me awake at night. The traffic noise never ends as the taxi drivers passing the hotel are very fond of using the car horn all times of day and night. The big clock on the bund chimes on the hour and every 15 and 30 minutes all day and all night, making a good nights sleep impossible unless you are a very heavy sleeper.Expedia did not indicate on their website that there was no air-con during certain times of the year, otherwise I would not have booked there.

The reception staff are not at all friendly, the carpet in my room was forming waves and very dirty looking, shower water pressure was not good either, however the room was otherwise acceptable.

On the positive side the location near the bund is good. There are a few good restaurants nearby (Grandma's) and a great bar (Captain Bar) with excellent view of the bund skyline and river located on the rooftop of the Captain Hostel, which is just a block from the Metropole towards the bund on the right.

I enjoyed Shanghai and will go back again but I will not be staying at the Metropole next time !

p.s. Its a huge city so make sure you get your destinations written in Chinese for the taxi drivers as they don't speak english.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I recently traveled to Shanghai with a friend and my husband. We chose to stay at this hotel because of the location, prices and photos we found from our research online. We decide to take a taxi from the airport to our hotel, I recommend printing out the address of your destination in chinese as the taxi driver had no idea what we were saying, despite the fact that we had a map with the location. The driving in Shanghai is pretty much a free for all and not many people (if any) follow any road rules. We were on edge during our entire taxi ride to our hotel. Once we arrived the door man was not too keen on helping us take our luggage out of the taxi and up to the lobby. There are only stairs and no ramp to the entrance. Once we were inside it looked like a nice hotel with a bar and dining hall on the same level as the lobby. The front desk person was not too friendly and quite annoyed to even be helping us to check in. We had to fill out quite a bit of paperwork by hand as it looks like they have not updated their software to allow quick and easy online check in. When we got up to our rooms the hall way smelled of toxic chemicals and our rooms smelled as though a smoker had lived there for quite sometime. Just about everyone smokes cigarettes in Shanghai and they allow them to do so indoors ( this explains the stale smoke smell in our rooms). They at least gave us rooms that faced inside which helps with the noise of the traffic outside. The drivers are not shy to use their horn, everyone honks all the time and always here. On our first night at this hotel after finding a place to eat we decided to grab a drink at the bar before heading over the Bund. Upon entering the bar we heard sobbing from behind one of the pillars. Once we took our seats we could see a girl who was obviously distraught about something that had hapened to her earlier in the day. Different staff members kept coming over to her to try and console her. After about 5 minutes of this she finally stood up, still crying and mumbling in chinese. What happend next was unexpected! She quietly opened the side door for the entrance to the bar area, walked over to a drawer and took out a giant knife and proceeded to wave it around at the staff members. Luckily, they were able to fetch the knife from her before she hurt herself or anyone else, to only put it back in the same drawer!! We quickly paid our bill and left for the Bund. When it came to breakfast the choices were slim and some items looked questionable. They also gave my husband an I a room with two twin beds, which we had to move together and have the european hotel sleeping experience of the dreaded crack ! The staff was not too eager to help their guests when they needed certain items such as toilet paper. I called housekeeping 3 times and they could barely understand me, they would say the someone was on their way and on one ever came. I finally walked over to their office to find a random staff member ( non-housekeeping) lounging while smoking his cigarette. I literally had to show him what I needed as he could not understand a word I was saying. He looked through all the cabinets for toilet paper to no avail. I finally ended up calling the front desk and asking them to send someone over with toilet paper. About fifteen minutes later a very annoyed looking woman came to our door with a roll of toilet paper. She did nto say a word to me and just stuck the toiler paper roll in my hand and walked away. Towards the end of our stay we had been out and about all day and returned to freshen up for dinner. When we went to open our doors the keys would work. When we came down to the front desk they told us we were locked out because we only paid for 4 night and not 5. Although our confirmation said otherwise as well as the dates shown on the key card envelope upon check-in. Unfortunately we could not get to those items to prove it to them because they were in our rooms. We ended up being charged 1000 RMB in order to have access to our rooms again. We had to dispute this charge when we checked out and were were credited back the charge, but still had to pay additional funds for 2 minutes of internet usage ( which did not work) and breakfast. I wold not recommend staying here if you plan to travel to Shanghai. Stay in the French Consessions are of Shanghai. There are more young people there, more restaurants and bars and it was a little bit cleaner in this area as well.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you can afford to stay elsewhere. The Peninsula Hotel, The Peace Hotel are much...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InessaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I recently had a week in fascinating Shanghai. The Metropole is in a great location for exploring the city, located between the Bund & People's Square - a great base for walking around the city, or close to the metro for when your legs wear out. Also close to a couple of good restaurants & a small supermarket. My room was quiet and a good size if a little dated, but everything worked & it was very clean - for the price I wasn't expecting the Ritz. The room had a minibar and kettle. The staff were helpful, particularly the staff in the foyer bar who were glad to have a customer to practice their English on - the locals don't appear to enjoy a drink at the end of a busy day's sightseeing. All in all, a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Perfect location, nice hotel but hot water (6th floor) took about 10 minutes to reach a temperature that was suited to take a bath. Clean room.
Printing boarding tickets was very costly (1 page 10 RMB and no discount if you have to print 6!), In many other hotels we stayed in China it was free a just or just few rmb's.
Breakfast average.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Metropole hotel as part of a tour trip around China. The hotel is situated at a very strategic point in Shanghai; walking distance to the Bund and to the People's square. It looks really good when in the lobby, however the room are not as well maintained as the lobby: carpet and wallpaper need to be changed as they look very old. The room size is decent for a hotel in China. But the service is very poor: we had to ring room service 4 times to get some pillows brought to our room, and every time they didnt understand what we were asking for as their English is very bad. They sent someone to our room each time to see what we wanted. Also they offer currency exchange service but when my husband wanted to change some money they told him they didnt have any, then another guest right after us ask to change some money after us and they were fine! I don't think I would recommend this hotel or go back there myself.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A stunning looking 1930's Art Deco hotel in a fantastic location 5 minutes walk from the Bund and Nanjing Road. If booking through hotels.com as we did don't pay attention to their map, it's completely wrong, type the street name into google maps instead. The hotel was very grand with massive rooms, although there wasn't anything like complementary water or coffee, everything was on the mini bar tab, and when I called down for a bottle of water after we checked in at 10.30pm I received a very rude reception. Very comfortable beds and pillows, try to get a room at the front as it's the biggest room and overlooks the intersection of the streets below. Breakfast was massively overpriced, turn left when leaving the hotel and walk 2 minutes to Cova Coffee instead, which has a much more reasonably priced western breakfast. On the same street as Cova is also a wonderful restaurant called Shanghai Grandmother. Overall good value for money and would stay here again for the location alone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethdeBroise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
Bund Garden Hotel
Bund Garden Hotel
#431 of 5,112 in Shanghai
46 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#50 of 5,112 in Shanghai
835 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#51 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle

Address: No.180 Jiangxi Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (Formerly 新城饭店)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#133 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $110 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN again! This beautiful art deco hotel opened in 1934 designed by the famous Palmer & Turner and developed by Victor Sassoon as sister to the Cathay (Peace): we are so excited to announce its rebirth, reborn and reopen again after the massive renovation by Hirsch Bedner Associates. This iconic & historic Metropole hotel opens as the flag ship of the new Jinjiang MetroPolo mid-scale Hotel brand (already 40+ in China). This hotel is in our "Classiq" series meaning both boutique & historic along with 7 others open in the Shanghai chain. Location: almost perfect for shopping, culture, site seeing and entertainment. 14 floors, 126 chic modern art deco rooms: 8 elegant suites: 2 terrace suites with Pudong skyline views. Do I hear you say party? The brands signature plush bedding features fresh white duvets & crisp linens. Sleep deep-work smart. Shanghai Garden Restaurant serving local cuisine. EVES lobby bar with international nibbles and a full bar of adult beverages to relax. A couple of small meeting rooms; a fitness center inside the iconic & infamous American Bar of old to recharge. Eats-meats-west-buffet-breakfast to revive; FREE Evening Social at the back of ground floor restaurant daily to rekindle Afternoon Tea, lunch & dinner to refresh. Attentive staff-distinctive decor-delight your senses-inspire your imagination. Artists for life-your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing