We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super poor services” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Century Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Century Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #783 of 4,457 Hotels in Shanghai
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super poor services”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We call before book the hotel online, ask room reservation if the price include the breakfast, they told us yes, when we checking in, the front desk also confirmed its included, tell us just show the key before breakfast.
When we go for breakfast next day, they told us that breakfast is not included, we ask the front desk, they said our room do not included breakfast, we have to pay for that. they do not care what the customer say, money seems is the most important. they have plenty of reasons.
Very poor service. Liar hotel.
Is that the BEST WESTERN HOTEL management?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAN_VIC729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
14
11
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pocomoke City, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

The New Century Hotel was centrally located in the nothestern part of the city. Very easily reached from Metro Line #4 Hailun Rd. After getting off the subway use exit #7, hotel will be almost directly across the street on the left. Entrance to hotel is down Li Yang road. The hot buffet breakfast was great with eastern and western style food. There was an ATM in the lobby that exchanged virtually any type of currency into Chinese, with a fair exchange rate and no fee. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with everything a regular traveller would need. We had some difficulty paying with a Best Western Gift Card, but it all worked out. Some language barriers at front desk if you do not know Chinese, but they were most accommodating. Metro stop across the street made it easy to get anywhere in the city....cheaply, kiosks are in English.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lumbearjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Arrived at hotel in the evening and walked into the lobby through a cloud of smoke. The people at the counter could speak little to no English. I asked where breakfast was and was directed with a point of a figure. We went up to our room and two lightbulbs were out and the shower was super tiny. The bed was like a rock and the floors were dirty. The room has an overall mildwe smell. I attempted to log on to the internet, but had no success so I called downstairs and was told they could not help. Needless to say, I checked out within 30 minutes of check in. I have stayed in numerous 4 star hotels in China and this was by far not a 4 or 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This hotel is not as cheap and the service is not good. They charge you to use their internet wifi and then they tell you it is 1 yuen per minute and when you want to stop using it they don't know how to deactivate it so they charge you as if you had used it the whole day.

Their English sucks and they are not able to help you.

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in CHINA!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfonsogmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Positives: Location in the city, hardly 10 minutes drive to city center, and Nanjing Street, etc. Very friendly staff, Spotless clean room and toilets, Close proximity to the subway and public transport was speedily arranged by hotel staff, The best feature I liked was the most comfortable bed!
Negative: We were 2 colleagues travelling together but were given rooms in 2 different floors for which we had to change left from lobby level to go. Becomes inconvenient. Another point which was disappointing was the breakfast, though the hotel provided with quite a lot for choice but labeling wasnt done properly and with a vegetarian travelling with me, it became tough to understand. The breakfast staff was somewhat confused which made the matters worse.

Overall: Value for Money, close proximities to all local amenities, markets, public transport. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manuG2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We spent three nights in this hotel and we had a pleasant stay. The room was big and clean and was situated in one of the top floors of the hotel, so we had a great panoramic view. The breakfast in the morning was good and wide.
The location of the hotel is about 30-40 minutes walking from downtown, and not so far from the TV tower and the Bund.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband and 2 kids stayed in New Century for 7 nights, the word "New" is very misleading. The lobby smelled like smoke due to cigarettes, the carpet in the hallways were very dirty, and the bathroom had mold in the corners. The breakfast buffet was average and definitely was not something you would want to eat for 7 days straight. The bed was rock hard.

The location was o.k. if you are looking for something that's not city center, its a five minute walk to the subway or the bus stops which makes convenient if you are looking to save some $'s by staying a bit out of the city center.

One or Two nights in this hotel is bearable but anything over i wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichellePhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai New International Expo Center
New Century Manju Hotel (Luoshan)
New Century Manju Hotel (Luoshan...
#2,459 of 4,457 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#21 of 4,457 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Century Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Hotel Shanghai

Property: New Century Hotel Shanghai
Address: NO. 1111 Liyang Road, Shanghai 200081, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#258 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Century Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Century Shanghai
Best Western Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing