We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth it. Best circus we saw in China.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Circus World

Shanghai Circus World
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.90*
and up
Shanghai Circus World: ERA Intersection of Time Acrobatics Show
Ranked #4 of 1,310 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Multimedia Theatrical Spectacular 'ERA Intersection of Time' has been performed since its debut at Shanghai Circus World in September 2005. It is unique and comparable to the tradition of the Broadway Musical.It is in fact a stunning acrobatic show combining traditional Chinese arts and modern technologies. The performers present Chinese acrobatics, martial arts and dance perfectly in harmony with the music, sound, lighting, and other special effects, which include a water screen.While you marvel at the highly proficient skills of the performers, the story of China's evolution from its ancient past to the future is told. Hence, the title 'Intersection of Time', as the viewpoint of the audience is set in the present between the past and the future.The performance provides a wonderful insight into China's ancient culture and civilization, with sections about Sinan, an ancient Chinese invention for telling directions, soothsaying and conjuring. There is a fantastic section showing an acrobatic program which has elements performed since the far off days of the Han Dynasty (206BC–220AD). With porcelain jars and vats as their stage properties the performers give an overview of Chinese porcelain culture and greater understand of the country's name of 'China'.Modern achievements that are also showcased include Shanghai Donghai Cross-Sea Bridge, Maglev Train, and Shenzhou 5, China's first manned space mission. From these, you can see the amazing development and bright future of Shanghai and the whole country.The 100-minute performance shows not only artistic skills, but also creativity. Aided by multimedia including vision, original live music, sound effects, smell effect, air conditioning and lighting,
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Well worth it. Best circus we saw in China.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Quite expensive and not a long show. That said, a great performance by a professional troupe. We saw a few sad, amateurish performances in China but this was a stand-out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Indiman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,059
    413
    98
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband enjoyed the show very much. Very skilled acrobats. For me, I have seen so many Cirque shows but the small size felt very comfortable. Nice for the evening.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liyapilly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great show....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

how these guys and girls do this every night i do not know, one of the best attractions tok is a while to find tickets best bet is to ring the box office direct and collect the tickets before the show

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sherryandbobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

A fast-paced show of a couple of hours with intermission. Lots of acrobatics and "derring-do". Have dinner ahead of time in the large (very, very large) Chinese restaurant next door.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thrilling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Era show was amazing. Daredevil and thrilling. We couldn't take our eyes away. The acrobatics was stunning and the live music was very good. It was easy to book tickets via the website and collect them from the box office on the day. We paid for them at the box office. We recommend booking tickets in advance. You don't need to go for the expensive seats the second price range seats give s wonderful view. You would be craning your neck in the expensive ringside seats.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Circus World also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Circus World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing