We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A descent hotel at a descent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanghai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanghai Hotel
Ranked #501 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Malibu
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A descent hotel at a descent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

The location of the hotel is not the best for a tourist on a tight schedule, though the taxi fares in Shanghai is fairly cheap, averaging RMB 17 one way within the city (RMB7.5= U.S.$1). Our friday stay was U.S.$80. Same type of hotel at tourist areas can cost at least $50 or more. The hotel is between end of 3 star to beginning of 4 star with clean beds & bathroom, descently decorated room and lobby, restaurants and gift shops. Their service is pretty well rounded, from laundry service, cell phone charging to currency exchange. Most of the check in/out staffs are friendly except some of the managers standing in the lobby having a very cold look. If you stay less than 2 days in Shanghai, I recommend pay a little more and stay at Nanjing Road which is more centrally located. Otherwise, you can see a lot of local cultures as soon as you walk out of this hotel. There are local small shops, bars & restaurants, convenient stores which are all of good qualities and services.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — some unfriendly managers
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheworldonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    137
    109
    31
    6
See reviews for
18
38
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

My wife and l spent four nights in this Hotel, prior to embarking on a organised tour of China. I approached the Hotel a little apprehensive after viewing many comments on Trip Advisor.
It was certainly not a four star Hotel as purported in the Travel Brochures, and would rate at the bottom end of three star.
Be that as it may, our accomodation was clean. The location of the hotel is near the subway, but more importantly it is in a location that allows you to wander the streets and see many of the real faces of China. There are plenty of small shops nearby and a large supermarket within one km..
Whilst l found the reception staff quite unpleasant, all other staff were approachable and where possible helpful. For a Hotel that has significant foreign tourism, there is indeed a lack of English language support available within the Hotel.
Breakfast was indeed satisfactory, although there are two locations and there seemed continual confusion into which dining room we should attend. My tip is just be polite and direct and they will agree with you.
The Laundry service here was indeed cheap and excellent.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Check in Staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnsonFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2007

We stayed six nights at the Shagnhai Hotel on Wulumugi Bei Lu as part of our 14 days group tour of China in May from Alberta, Canada. We had a room on the 14th floor. This hotel is located in a busy district of Shanghai across from the biggest hospital in Shanghai. From our room we could hear the traffic and car honks early in the morning. The hotel rooms were small, and yet the hotel had met our travel expectations: clean room, clean bathroom, hot shower, and working air conditioning. The quality of the Western and Chinese buffet breakfast was average. The hotel is within walking distance to many local shops, an upscale mall, a subway station, and restaurants including Pizza Hut. Taxi fare is cheap in China. We took the taxi to visit the new Pudong commercial district overlooking the Bund and the Shanghai Museum. The most we paid on taxi fare was 26 RMB, which was less than $4.00 Canadian. If you like Chinese arts, culture, and history, the Shanghai Museum is a must see. The entrance fee is 20 RMB, which is less than $3.00 Canadian, a great bargain. The museum also has a great gift shop. If you are looking good local restaurants in Shanghai, visit Canglefang on #333 Changle Road for Shanghai food, Dongbeiren on Shan Shee South Road for Northern Chinese food and the waitresses will sing Chinese folk songs at your table, and Paulaner Brauhaus Shanghai at Riverside Promenade overlooking the Bund, Binjiang Dadao in Pudong for very good German cuisines, burgers, fries, and clubhouse sandwiches.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — From our room, we could hear the traffic noise early in the morning
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 2CanadianTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

The hotel was booked as part of a package deal. We were in a twin room for 2 nights. We didn't use all the hotel's facilities as we were out visiting sites most of the time.

Buffet breakfasts were a great start to the days sight seeing.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliveocr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It is ok, but nothing special. We only paid 85$ a night, so it is a fair price for that hotel. You will enjoy Shanghai, a very nice town.
Two negative things: First, we had to wait very long to get checked in, second, the internet was definately not high speed.

Would come again

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JeffWhiteNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2007

We stayed at this hotel 4 times in the past 6 months, and each time had a great stay. It appears to cater to Asian and European tourists and business people, so you will see almost no North Americans. The hotel rooms - at least in our experience - meet US standards. The rooms are well decorated with all the amenities, the furniture is well-styled and well-maintained (except in one room where it was pretty scratched), Cable TV works well, the mini bar is well-stocked, etc. The lobby is a bit spartan, altho there are some gift shops. You won't get any phone calls asking if you want a "massage" as you would at some other Chinese hotels, but you will usually see some "ladies" standing discreetly in the shopping arcade entrance at night. The hotel has a business services office with Internet - use it if you must, but there is an internet gaming center about a block from the Jing An subway stop that offers 1 hour of internet access for the equivalent of US$1. This hotel is conveniently located from an Italian restaurant and coffee shop called Vero Moda, a traditional tea shop called Sophie's, and a very good restaurant called A Future Perfect. If you're making reservations while you're in China, use elong.net ( a partner of Expedia) to get the best rates.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Lachina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2006

The rooms themselves are pretty nice and the bed is very comfortable. I disagree with the previous reviewer though who said the location is good - it's about a 10mins walk and 5 stops on the subway to the Bund or over 30mins in a taxi due to the everpresent rush-hour. There are many more hotels much closer to the centre. The level of English at reception was very poor which you would not expect in a 4-star in Shanghai. The gym is a real disgrace - one treadmill, one bike and a few dumbells in the middle of a hallway outside the business centre - if queuing for everything with no A/C and a load of bored businessmen watching you is your idea of fun then this is the gym for you! Finally breakfast is pitched very much at the Asian traveller with soggy, warm toast adn undercooked eggs the choice for the westerner.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Facilities
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
#524 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Jing'an
Merry Hotel Shanghai
Merry Hotel Shanghai
#229 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#52 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#56 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
Former French Concession
Yan'an Hotel
Yan'an Hotel
#588 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#150 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Hotel

Property: Shanghai Hotel
Address: No.505 Wulumuqi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanghai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing