We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre hotel in a nothing to do area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shanghai Hotel
Ranked #394 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel in a nothing to do area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Very old and shabby hotel, especially the lobby. The staff and the concierge don't speak any english and are very timid with foreigners to say the least. Or perhaps the communist spirit is alive and well in this ancient hotel. The area has nothing of entertainment value.

Helpful?
1 Thank Erdene
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    137
    108
    30
    6
See reviews for
18
38
34
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,058 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed three days in 2005, my wife became addicted to the noodles for breakfast, personally I found the buffet amazing and put on weight.
Dine in the restraunt below for a great evening with the local Chinese who treated us as honoured guests.

Room Tip: Again ask to see the room prior to accepting, the first we saw had many mal functions in the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Nice entrance to the hotel, and you can walk to a small park only 5mins, turn left out of hotel. If you walk further, as we did then you can walk all the way down Nanjing street and onto the bund, you can always get the metro or a taxi back.

Room was nice, clean, although the smoke smell was still there, as with all hotels in china it would seem. The disappointment was the breakfast, the food was cold, the room was freezing the air con was like a gale force wind. The fruit, cereal and yogurt was good and that it about all I ate. If you don't like spiders and cobwebs do not check out the floor or corners of the room, not too big on cleaning here. Other then that it did the job for a couple of nights towards the end of the trip, if I was to return I would not stay here, but try to stay a litle closer to the bund. Although you can walk to the acrobats show, and there is a buddist temple within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatte
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel twice. Both times, my rooms were nonsmoking. The second room was quite shabby compared to the first with a frayed and dirty carpet. The beds were quite hard. My even number room was quiet, but my odd numbered room had a lot of traffic noise. The included breakfast was fairly diverse, and palatable if not great. The location was nice, adjacent to the French quarter, where there are lovely bakeries and good coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMMSeatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Our first hotel in China. The public areas are very comfortable as were these areas in all the hotels we stayed in. The rooms were comfortable but a bit tired, and the all-pervading smell of smoke added to that impression. Beds were comfortable if a little on the hard side, Only real complaint was that as we discovered in all parts of China, the 'tap' water is not potable. However it only takes a few minutes to use (the free) bottled water to brush teeth. In the rooms the carpets were especially dirty and I did not notice throughout my stay of a few days, any carpet vacuuming or anything but superficial cleaning taking place. The restaurant was pretty good, but for some reason fresh fruit, apart from melon, was not available for breakfast.
Overall - adequate but definitely not luxurious.

Room Tip: Avoid lower noisy floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
1,066 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

The smell of tobacco smoke permeates the lobby but this is not unusual in this country where non-smoking facilities are a myth. The same smell haunted our room but other members of our party denied detecting the odor in their rooms.

The rooms were competent and the sleeping was quiet on the higher floors, at least. Internet available at a price.

The food in the restaurant was novel and presented in a lovely fashion.

Mosquitoes present in the room and in the bathroom off the lobby. That seems to be true of many tropical and subtropical hotels wherever we go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I know this Hotel is very well-known in Shanghai but I think it has "had its day". It just seemed a little "tired". Location-wise, it is not the greatest although it is only one block south of Jingan Temple (and the subway). And around the area is a very nice mix of convenience stores, coffee shops (Costa Coffee too) and even a Subway. So, it is in a nice area, although diagonally opposite is a Hospital, but that won't be a bother to you unless you happen to be walking that way. The room is very comfortable and everything is operational - after staying in so many Hotels, this small issue becomes important. My only real gripe was the cost of the Internet at 100rmb per day - what? They can't afford to provide free internet? The breakfast was good in that it provided a large selection of Chinese and Western food, but most of it was only warm or even cold - at 6.45 in the morning! Everything is laid out for you but with no warmers - of course it is going to get cold. Nice, but I think there are better value choices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
#641 of 4,967 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Jing'an
Merry Hotel Shanghai
Merry Hotel Shanghai
#220 of 4,967 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#53 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#43 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Former French Concession
Yan'an Hotel
Yan'an Hotel
#708 of 4,967 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#150 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Hotel

Property: Shanghai Hotel
Address: No.505 Wulumuqi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanghai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shanghai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing