We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel
Ranked #103 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed there a few days for the first part of my two week trip through China. The lobby is grand and the staff was very helpful especially the concierge staff. The rooms were a little on the small side but loaded with amenities. The only issue I had was the very slow drains in the bathroom for the tub and sink. There was free wifi throughout the hotel. The breakfast buffet served a combination of asian and western dishes which was pretty tasty with a slight variation of dishes each day. The hotel is also located directly across the street from an outdoor mall with a good selection of shops and restaurants to choose from. Overall we had a pleasant stay and will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edges35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    195
    46
    4
    7
See reviews for
9
21
14
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The main reason to choose this hotel was the location. The hotel located in Pudong area, near (10 minutes by taxi) to Maglev station (connection to TPE international airport) and near (15 minutes by taxi) to the Shanghai International Exhibition center. For business (bicycle) this is perfect. If you would like to sightseeing maybe the other side of the river (Puchi) recommended.
The rooms (standard floor) not too big, compare to other Shanghai hotel are smaller, but well equipped. Some of standard rooms has two single bed, some of them king size bed – I prefer king size bed, but that time all of this kind of rooms were booked, so I had to use two-single-bed room.
The facilities of hotel are correct: wifi everywhere, nice SPA, restaurant, business room.
The staff was kind, and helpful, and almost all of them can speak English.

Room Tip: As high as possible - less noice, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterKulimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
429 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on business. I had booked a club room, and was given a room on the 42nd floor (top floor) I wonder if these rooms were added as an after thought. The lift only goes to 41st floor, then you can either take the stairs OS a small lift that goes from 41 to 42. When this hotel was built the view would have been uninterrupted, but now there a tall buildings near blocking the view. A big advantage was that I was able to turn off the air con and open a window, and was high enough to not hear the traffic chaos below. The breakfast in the club room was not great, the offering was to limited. The coffee is awful. I also tried the breakfast on the 2nd floor, which had a full buffet offering, the coffee was still awful. The gym is small but useful and looks over a nice pool. The staff here are very helpful, and most speak English. Over all it's nice enough hotel, but for the money there are better.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
242 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed there 2nd in 2 years. Expensive but hotel is good. Location is good, near to Century Avenue station from where its a 5 mins walk. Breakfast is superb. Wifi good and strong signal. Big rooms. Coffee maker in rooms. Was happy to be there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAB-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmunden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

If you have Business Meetings in Pudong, then this Hotel is good choice, taxis no problem, walking distance to subway, enough Restaurants nearby . value for Money. upper floors have good views to centre of Pudong, Focus Point on fire drill and escape routes.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank eu-citizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

good hotel moderately priced but below the 5* rated hotels in china.
rooms are spacious and comfortable.
breakfast selection could be better for european taste.
the obvious weakness is lack of wifi in hotel lobby.
good location - close to Pudong.
shopping mall just right in front of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magda0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I´ve been at this hotel on a business trip for four nights. The staff was really friendly, spoke a god english. They even made it possible for me that although my room was not prepared yet (I arrived at 9am) I received the keys to another room to take a shower and switched the rooms in the evening.
The breakfast is ok but more asian than western style.
You should really try the restaurants for Bejing duck or a good steak and pizza at the italian restaurant.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better is the view of the skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cab2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#45 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
0.3 mi away
Baoan Hotel
Baoan Hotel
#223 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#66 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#87 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel

Property: Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel
Address: NO. 778 Dongfang Road, Shanghai 200122, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#80 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#98 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Mountain Shanghai
Hotel Purple Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing