We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local hotel with international touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel
Ranked #140 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Shanghai and Pudong are full of hotels so for me it is location that set the first criteria when choosing one. Traffic can make a difference whether you are sitting extra hour in jam or alternatively with cold beer or massage. Well, all of you, if not familiar with the town, check from map where you need to be and get hotel as close as possible.

Purple Mountain hotel compete well in group of four start business hotels. Overall rooms are good size and I like the dark wood used in furnishing. Facilities for keeping your shirts and shock organized are provided, washroom is specious and some rooms share the light of the room all the way to the bathtub having glass wall separating them.. sure there is curtains for privacy when needed.

There is not much difference in rooms whether booked into a executive floor of a normal floor. Executive floor gives benefits like private check-in and out facility at 26th floor, lounge for evening drinks and snacks (included executive room package). Breakfast in lounge is good way to start a day without hassle of hundred other busy brekie biters.

Compared to next door hotel, in this hotel foreign traveler will be understood and served in English - sometimes with better, sometimes with less perfect, but good enough. Food in hotel is good standard but not gourmet.

Next door is new building full of restaurants. Just a walk across the street and you have selection from local Chinese cuisines to Japanese, Western... I haven't yet explored them all.

Hotel gym was rebuild two years ago and I was positively surprised of the good quality. Surely my favorite after office hour relaxation. At same floor you can find spa which is clean, but I haven't yet got a good sports massage. For relaxation ok, but they could get some better trained masseurs.

Prices of this hotel fluctuates seasonally and according to booking rate. Check you pricing every time before booking to be aware spikes on busy season.

Room Tip: My favorite floors are 25th to 27th. They are not too high that you would need to wait for a lift on...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakalio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 395 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel offers you all you require for a comfortable stay in a metropolis such as Shanghai. Great value for money. Clean, decent-sized rooms with enough storage space for a week's stay. Bathroom well-equiped, though typical asian size (read: small). Quiet rooms, so noise from the streets very limited.
If you don't require a lot of support during your stay from hotel staff, you are ok. Language skills are limited, but the will is there to help.
Breakfast is good, well-assorted.
My colleagues told me the gym was ok, but not all machines were working. Unfortunately the pool was being refurbished when I was there.
Definitely worth coming back here for future trips to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors to reduce and away from lift.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A great international hotel in Pudong. Close to all Pudong places of interest. Beautiful room, great view, excellent breakfast buffet with full array of western and Chinese foods. Room service prompt and accurate. Staff helpful, efficient and multilingual. Plan on staying there again soon.

Room Tip: Buy the breakfast package and get additional perks.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great Hotel in Shanghai's Pudong district, just opposite are good food options and also the Hotel has fantastic choices of Restaurants, to give you a Good flavour of Shanghai and China...Breakfast is a great spread and mix of various cultures...Overall, a great experience with Great Room, fast room service and adequately stocked Mini Bar in your room....All and all, very good experience....Value for Money !!

Room Tip: Suggest ask for higher floors, gives a Great View of the Shanghai Sky line...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantoshMohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed there 2.5 days in January 2013/

+ :
* location
* staff friendliness
* price (also it was worth to pay an extra to access the executive floor even though food diversity and quality could be improved).

- :
* Room a bit small but good shower.
* Breakfast was very varied but I would rather have fewer products with better quality.
* Supposed to be a 4 or 5 star hotel, however as a guest you have the impression you have to bargain anything that is not included in your price. The hotel offers for e.g. several facilities e.g. ping pong, game room, ... all for which you have to pay an extra for. They even wanted to make me pay 10 RMB per sheet printed - overall, you can really feel they count every penny they spend on you, which should not be visible by the customer normally ...
* Could not access the pool which was closed (however an outdoor pool is not appealing in January in SHA).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was there from 6/21/12 - 6/24/12. I booked the hotel strictly for its outdoor pool as it is rare in China. Although it was June, there was hardly any one at the pool, and the nice bar with pool tables was dead (don't expect a party type of atmosphere unless there are some special summer events). The gym, which overlooks the pool, was very small but got the job done. I hardly ever complain when there are free water and towels in the gym, especially a gym in China.

The hotel is convenient located around Pudong Financial & Trade district. If you are craving for some crispy Peking Duck, there is a very popular restaurant inside the hotel, Quan Ju De, that is known for serving this dish the best. Overall I give this hotel 4 out of 5.

p1ay

Room Tip: The front desk guy, knowing there were 2 people (including me) in my room, gave me what was obviousl...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p1aymakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 8 days for vacation and found the room clean and comfortable for our needs. It was convenient for getting around as taxis are cheap. Avoid the attached bars as they are overpriced and the drinks were lousy. Especially avoid the japanese bar and piano bar. We just wanted one drink to cap off the evening and got steered to the piano bar. Once there we were told there was a minimum. So we went next door to be overcharged for a single round. When we couldnt get our servers attention to get the check we left money on the table only to be chased outside claiming we hadnt paid. They then claimed we underpaid when we didnt. The concierge also wasnt great help in setting up a way to visit some tour sites that were more outside the downtown area. Ambivalent about staying there again but it seem the price was good compared to other hotels in the same category or general location.

Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#41 of 5,112 in Shanghai
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Soluxe Zhongyou Hotel Shanghai
0.4 mi away
Supreme Tower Hotel
Supreme Tower Hotel
#411 of 5,112 in Shanghai
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#118 of 5,112 in Shanghai
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel

Address: No.778 Dongfang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200122, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#80 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#128 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $100 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Mountain Shanghai
Hotel Purple Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing