We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel
Ranked #141 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel offers you all you require for a comfortable stay in a metropolis such as Shanghai. Great value for money. Clean, decent-sized rooms with enough storage space for a week's stay. Bathroom well-equiped, though typical asian size (read: small). Quiet rooms, so noise from the streets very limited.
If you don't require a lot of support during your stay from hotel staff, you are ok. Language skills are limited, but the will is there to help.
Breakfast is good, well-assorted.
My colleagues told me the gym was ok, but not all machines were working. Unfortunately the pool was being refurbished when I was there.
Definitely worth coming back here for future trips to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors to reduce and away from lift.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 395 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

A great international hotel in Pudong. Close to all Pudong places of interest. Beautiful room, great view, excellent breakfast buffet with full array of western and Chinese foods. Room service prompt and accurate. Staff helpful, efficient and multilingual. Plan on staying there again soon.

Room Tip: Buy the breakfast package and get additional perks.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great Hotel in Shanghai's Pudong district, just opposite are good food options and also the Hotel has fantastic choices of Restaurants, to give you a Good flavour of Shanghai and China...Breakfast is a great spread and mix of various cultures...Overall, a great experience with Great Room, fast room service and adequately stocked Mini Bar in your room....All and all, very good experience....Value for Money !!

Room Tip: Suggest ask for higher floors, gives a Great View of the Shanghai Sky line...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantoshMohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed there 2.5 days in January 2013/

+ :
* location
* staff friendliness
* price (also it was worth to pay an extra to access the executive floor even though food diversity and quality could be improved).

- :
* Room a bit small but good shower.
* Breakfast was very varied but I would rather have fewer products with better quality.
* Supposed to be a 4 or 5 star hotel, however as a guest you have the impression you have to bargain anything that is not included in your price. The hotel offers for e.g. several facilities e.g. ping pong, game room, ... all for which you have to pay an extra for. They even wanted to make me pay 10 RMB per sheet printed - overall, you can really feel they count every penny they spend on you, which should not be visible by the customer normally ...
* Could not access the pool which was closed (however an outdoor pool is not appealing in January in SHA).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was there from 6/21/12 - 6/24/12. I booked the hotel strictly for its outdoor pool as it is rare in China. Although it was June, there was hardly any one at the pool, and the nice bar with pool tables was dead (don't expect a party type of atmosphere unless there are some special summer events). The gym, which overlooks the pool, was very small but got the job done. I hardly ever complain when there are free water and towels in the gym, especially a gym in China.

The hotel is convenient located around Pudong Financial & Trade district. If you are craving for some crispy Peking Duck, there is a very popular restaurant inside the hotel, Quan Ju De, that is known for serving this dish the best. Overall I give this hotel 4 out of 5.

p1ay

Room Tip: The front desk guy, knowing there were 2 people (including me) in my room, gave me what was obviousl...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p1aymakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 8 days for vacation and found the room clean and comfortable for our needs. It was convenient for getting around as taxis are cheap. Avoid the attached bars as they are overpriced and the drinks were lousy. Especially avoid the japanese bar and piano bar. We just wanted one drink to cap off the evening and got steered to the piano bar. Once there we were told there was a minimum. So we went next door to be overcharged for a single round. When we couldnt get our servers attention to get the check we left money on the table only to be chased outside claiming we hadnt paid. They then claimed we underpaid when we didnt. The concierge also wasnt great help in setting up a way to visit some tour sites that were more outside the downtown area. Ambivalent about staying there again but it seem the price was good compared to other hotels in the same category or general location.

Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Comfortable hotel, although the rooms are quite small. Great view from the top floors. Very good location - near the subway, in the area of the highest skyscrapers, close to the "Chinese market ;)" The breakfast - perfect! You can take a lot of time to enjoy it. The biggest drawback is the price, but Shanghai in general is very expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appl459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#42 of 5,112 in Shanghai
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
0.4 mi away
The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Soluxe Zhongyou Hotel Shanghai
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#118 of 5,112 in Shanghai
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Supreme Tower Hotel
Supreme Tower Hotel
#412 of 5,112 in Shanghai
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel

Address: No.778 Dongfang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200122, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#80 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#129 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $102 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Mountain Shanghai
Hotel Purple Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing