We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel
Ranked #119 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed there 2.5 days in January 2013/

+ :
* location
* staff friendliness
* price (also it was worth to pay an extra to access the executive floor even though food diversity and quality could be improved).

- :
* Room a bit small but good shower.
* Breakfast was very varied but I would rather have fewer products with better quality.
* Supposed to be a 4 or 5 star hotel, however as a guest you have the impression you have to bargain anything that is not included in your price. The hotel offers for e.g. several facilities e.g. ping pong, game room, ... all for which you have to pay an extra for. They even wanted to make me pay 10 RMB per sheet printed - overall, you can really feel they count every penny they spend on you, which should not be visible by the customer normally ...
* Could not access the pool which was closed (however an outdoor pool is not appealing in January in SHA).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    210
    54
    8
    8
See reviews for
11
23
16
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was there from 6/21/12 - 6/24/12. I booked the hotel strictly for its outdoor pool as it is rare in China. Although it was June, there was hardly any one at the pool, and the nice bar with pool tables was dead (don't expect a party type of atmosphere unless there are some special summer events). The gym, which overlooks the pool, was very small but got the job done. I hardly ever complain when there are free water and towels in the gym, especially a gym in China.

The hotel is convenient located around Pudong Financial & Trade district. If you are craving for some crispy Peking Duck, there is a very popular restaurant inside the hotel, Quan Ju De, that is known for serving this dish the best. Overall I give this hotel 4 out of 5.

p1ay

Room Tip: The front desk guy, knowing there were 2 people (including me) in my room, gave me what was obviousl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p1aymakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 8 days for vacation and found the room clean and comfortable for our needs. It was convenient for getting around as taxis are cheap. Avoid the attached bars as they are overpriced and the drinks were lousy. Especially avoid the japanese bar and piano bar. We just wanted one drink to cap off the evening and got steered to the piano bar. Once there we were told there was a minimum. So we went next door to be overcharged for a single round. When we couldnt get our servers attention to get the check we left money on the table only to be chased outside claiming we hadnt paid. They then claimed we underpaid when we didnt. The concierge also wasnt great help in setting up a way to visit some tour sites that were more outside the downtown area. Ambivalent about staying there again but it seem the price was good compared to other hotels in the same category or general location.

Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Comfortable hotel, although the rooms are quite small. Great view from the top floors. Very good location - near the subway, in the area of the highest skyscrapers, close to the "Chinese market ;)" The breakfast - perfect! You can take a lot of time to enjoy it. The biggest drawback is the price, but Shanghai in general is very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appl459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed from 19 till today at this hotel.
If I say my stay was (is) a nightmare maybe you will not believe but it is true.
I had a drink in the very poor lobby bar the first evening.
I asked to be charged in my room account and they brought me a paper to sign.
i signed and but surprisingly the waitress said that this signature was not original. I lough at the beginning and asked her to go to check at the reception.
The reception, a young man, told me the same, that my signature was fake!
I became mad and I asked him to check my signature I put when I checked in.
He insisted say the same!
I started shouting to him and he said he will the police or his manager.
I told him to call everybody he liked.
His manager came and hopefully he was logical to see the original of my signature but as you understand my evening was broken and my mood too.
Apart of that,
the heat is not working and i had to call several times to fix it.
The truth is that technicians did come but they couldn't fix it.
I asked some cold beers and they brought me hot (ok, this is a general problem in China, they can't understand a beer should be cold to drink it).
the refrigerator is not working or the temperature can't be adjusted to less than 10 degrees C.

And on the top is the charge of 15% for what you order and you can't see in their lists but they say it is for service!!!!!!
So with this charge I had to pay 45 euros (abt 60$) for an unbelievable bad Chinese wine.

The room is so so but the general service is a (I hope you now understand why) a nightmare.
if you want just a sleep you maybe feel ok here (if of course you are lucky and the heating works at your room) but if you want a place to relax this hotel should be in every known black list.

Room Tip: check everything before enter your room if you really need to book in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terni, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel located close to the metro, very clean and nice staff, but be careful to the invoice: they charged 15% higher than the price stated on the reservation (I do not know why yet) by writing in pen "+15%" on a printed document signed by us during the check in (of course when we signed that document, was not written on it in pen "+15%"!). Tip: if you sign something, ask for a copy of the document you signed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cimpoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel . All times I have paid the extra and booked executive floor room , which gives access to lounge with free drinks /food ( 5.30 to 7.30 pm ) , free use of meeting room , etc .... the perks they offer are value for money to book executive instead of standard if business trip . Hotel is very close to metro , has a large shopping centre across road and a number of restaurants nearby . The staff are all very friendly and majority speak English .Buffet breakfast included in price , downstairs level 2 main breakfast rooms and the choice is massive , which I preferred to have breakfast here instead of upstairs in the executive lounge. The hotel has an excellent gym , clean and modern equipment .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel19671970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#48 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Soluxe Zhongyou Hotel Shanghai
0.4 mi away
Supreme Tower Hotel
Supreme Tower Hotel
#393 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#86 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel

Property: Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel
Address: No.778 Dongfang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200122, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#80 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#112 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Mountain Shanghai
Hotel Purple Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing